Skip to content

My Tofu Scramble Is In The Trash

March 22, 2011

I made a tofu scramble tonight.

First I sauteed 1/3 cup onion with 1 cup mushrooms and an entire green pepper. Then I crumbled in half a block of tofu.

Next I added 2 T tumeric, 1 T nutritional yeast, 1 t garlic powder, 1 t cumin, and some black pepper. The tumeric gives it that yellow “eggy” color.

Everything was going as planned as I plated half of this mixture with two pieces of toast and some chopped grapefruit.

And then I took a bite. It didn’t taste quite as good as I had expected. Definitely not like eggs.

And then I took another bite. Whoever told me that turmeric doesn’t taste like anything was wrong. It tastes like a lot. A lot of disgusting-ness. It took me a whole piece of toast topped with tofu to realize this was quite possible the worst thing I’d ever eaten.

Into the trash it went, along with the portion I pack for lunch tomorrow.

Instead I topped my second piece of toast with a slice of cheese, black beans, and salsa. Tomorrow’s lunch turned into a veggie burger from the freezer. Much better.

You can’t win ’em all, I guess. It’s going to take a lot of convincing and a really good looking recipe to get me to try a tofu scramble again. Feel free to send those my way, but in the mean time I’m going to keep eating Luna bars and pretzels to get the turmeric taste out of my mouth.

Tomorrow will be a better [cooking] day!

  • Have you ever had tofu scramble?
16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 8:23 pm

    I made a sort-if scramble last night- tofu and zuchini with soyaki! It was delicious…but there was no tumeric involved. Sorry about your dinner disaster!

  2. March 22, 2011 8:38 pm

    Yes and I have to agree….not so appetizing. Tofu is so tasteless and it is very hard to get it to take to the flavors you add to it. I’m still trying to perfect it but not completley sold on it either.

  3. March 22, 2011 8:44 pm

    I haven’t had much success making tofu scrambles on my own, but the Amy’s brand tofu scramble and tofu scramble pockets are delicious!

  4. Abby permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:18 pm

    I have never had success cooking tofu! lol. I guess I have only tried it once though so it is something that I am definitely interested in finding yummy ways to do so!

  5. March 22, 2011 9:39 pm

    ugh that’s the worst! I hate trying new recipes and then hating them, especially with new ingredients!

  6. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 22, 2011 10:04 pm

    I’ve never made a tofu scramble but I did try to make an “egg” salad with tofu (from the Kind Diet) and the same thing happened to me!!! I had to trash it because I couldn’t take another bite! I love tofu, but something about that salad did not work. Now I wonder if the same thing would happen to me with tofu scrambles…

  7. March 22, 2011 10:49 pm

    Hahaha aw I’m sorry that it didn’t work out, but I also love that you won’t eat something just to eat it because it’s “healthy”. I love that you enjoy what you eat 🙂

    On the egg note, I love eggs and now I could really go for a hard boiled egg 😉

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:20 am

    Oh girl, at least you tried! You would’ve never known. Valiant effort. My mom made chicken with tumeric the other day and it tasted a lot like curry to me. It wasn’t bad though– quite good. I don’t think she put a lot of it though, it wasn’t over-powering.
    Ahhh I’m going crazy over spring break. I’m not able to relax because I’ve been having to do papers 😦 Wahhh.
    Okay, I’ll stop complaining. 🙂 happy Wednesday to you!

  9. March 23, 2011 5:06 am

    Welll, this reassures me that I’m doing just fine without turmeric 😉 i always thought it was for color, too, so just never saw it necessary! now I really don’t 😛 Bummer your dinner wasn’t as good as you’d hoped. I hate when that happens! I’ve had a tofu scramble of sorts with barbecue sauce that was really good. Well, if you like BBQ sauce, at least 😉

  10. March 23, 2011 5:24 am

    Love the new header! It’s clean and bold and looks great 🙂

  11. March 23, 2011 9:16 am

    oh man, sorry about the tumeric! i like to use curry powder, cumin, garlic and onions in mine to make it tasty! and you can do the asian way too with soy sauce, garlic, onion, and ginger!

  12. March 23, 2011 9:18 am

    Ah! That’s too bad about the scramble miss… it kind of stinks when you’re really looking forwrd to something and then it just doesn’t turn out.

  13. March 23, 2011 12:21 pm

    Eeek! Tofu scramble scares me! You are so brave!!!

    I hate when that happens… when things look better than they taste. 😦

  14. March 23, 2011 12:50 pm

    Your description of how much you hated it had me cracking up. I love tofu scrambles! But it is all about what you put in the scramble, since that’s the taste/flavor the tofu takes on.

  15. March 23, 2011 7:59 pm

    girlll you gotta consult the tofu scramble queen herself at the broccoli hut! she knows hot to scramble fu like the best of em!

  16. March 23, 2011 8:33 pm

    I’ve never had a tofu scramble but i sure have had meals end up in the trash!

    When I first became a vegetarian i tried an fake beef crumble that i mixed in with a meal and apparently i got the wrong one because it was absolutely the most disgusting thing i had ever eaten. I took 2 times and it was in the trash. Im pretty sure i just had bread for dinner that night

Leave a Reply

