Skip to content

One Lovely Blog Award

March 22, 2011

I was lucky enough to receive the One Lovely Blog award from the beautiful Gillian of Confessions of a Young Woman. Gillian’s posts are so insightful and moving – getting this recognition from her is truly an honor!

Here’s what you do with the award:

  • You link and thank the blogger who awarded you
  • Copy-and-paste (or download and upload) the award into your own blog post–a teacup of roses!
  • Share Seven Things about yourself
  • Nominate up to fifteen other great bloggers
  • Comment on their blogs to let them know to come pick up their prize

Seven Things About Myself:

1. I hate the feel of velvet. It makes me shiver and get goosebumps! It was terrible when my mom tried to put me in pretty Christmas dresses, and even worse now that my co-workers know. Anytime they find a velvet fabric swatch it gets sent my way!

2. I played racquetball on my high school’s team. During my freshman year, my friend Maggie and I were kind of taken under the wing of a “cool” senior. She was on the team and encouraged us to tryout. We figured out it was a ton of fun and almost all of my best girlfriends ended up playing with us! Racquetball is actually kind of popular in St. Louis (the two biggest places for it are St. Louis and Oregon) so each year our team went to State and even Nationals!

Goofing off at practice

3. I have a scar above my right eyebrow from when I was three-years-old and slipped at McDonald’s. Bodily harm from the fast food joint…a bit ironic now?

4. I was Student Council President of my grade school. I got a palate expander put in right before the election and so had a massive gap in between my teeth during my speech. A boy even broke up with me over it. I was so embarrassed! I think what helped me win was my idea to have email suggestions from students. Email – how revolutionary!

source

6. I couldn’t say the world “yellow” when I was little. Instead I said “Lellow”. It’s an inside joke for my family now!

7. My entire family still has our original email addresses made in 1995. Irishtim, Marebrad, JPBfrog, Stoonball, and KTBtrain. No numbers needed! They are like antiques.

8. I was a clown for Halloween when I was three. I legitimately wanted to be a clown. As in “Clare what do you want to be when you grow up?” ” A clown”.

 

  • What did you want to be when you were little?

I’m going to pass this award onto:

And all you other lovely bloggers I adore. Choosing these things is so hard and ends up completely random!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    March 22, 2011 2:12 pm

    thank you so much for including me in your list! i loved learning more about you! i had a hard time saying yellow, too! my parents also said i used to say “pink” like “payink.” 🙂

  2. March 22, 2011 2:29 pm

    awwww you’re so sweet!! hahahaha seriously old school 90s email addresses are classic. don’t EVER get rid of them! someday we’ll be able to sell them on ebay haha. i still have mine: JewelE513 which was ALSO my screenname hahaha those were the days

    thanks for the award girl ❤ you!

  3. March 22, 2011 3:16 pm

    Oh, thanks, Clare!! That’s so sweet of you! You’re one of my favorite bloggers, so this definitely put a smile on my face 😀 I’m working on the post tonight!

  4. March 22, 2011 3:34 pm

    I love reading random blogger facts 😛 And congratulations on the award!!
    Oh my gosh, you’re bringing back flashbacks of racquetball, too. We didn’t have a school team, but I used to love playing racquetball! (and pickleball in HS. Did anybody else have gym class that involved learning how to play pickelball?!)

  5. Abby permalink
    March 22, 2011 3:37 pm

    I wanted to be a pediatrician when I was growing up. I found a letter I wrote in 6th grade last time I went home and it was an I have a dream speech talking about how I wanted to cure cancer so people didn’t have to suffer like my grandma. Lol pretty high aspirations for a young age! :p

  6. March 22, 2011 4:21 pm

    Cutest clown ever. Haha thank you for the award!!!
    P.S. I reallyreally love your outfit/shoes from your last post 🙂

  7. March 22, 2011 4:27 pm

    YAY thanks for the tag!! cant wait to do this next week!!! bhahaha i love how you wanted to be a clown and the fact taht you dont liek velvet!!! NO WAY… i guess i understand since I CANNOT stand cashmere.. it gives me the mega shivers!

  8. March 22, 2011 4:38 pm

    That’s so funny that you hate the touch of velvet! I’m like that with sandpaper!

  9. March 22, 2011 11:11 pm

    thanks for the award pretty lady! i’ll def being doing my post on it soon!

    and when i was a kid i wanted to be a horse vet. then a dolphin expert. or whales. or otters. ok, oceanic mammals basically 🙂

  10. alex permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:44 pm

    i, too, said “lellow.” my family still thinks it’s extremely funny. now i am in school for speech pathology and learned this is very common!

  11. March 25, 2011 5:51 am

    lellow!?!? that is too cute LOL
    this was entertaining to read 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Smiling is Overrated « Moves 'N Munchies

Leave a Reply

