Skip to content

You’re Hot Then You’re Cold

March 26, 2011

Ahhh Springtime in St. Louis…

Can you believe less than a week ago I was doing this?

Mother Nature’s got a funky sense of humor.

Needless to say, my last double-digit run before the marathon was moved inside. I completed 12 miles on the treadmill in 107 minutes, warming up for a mile at 6.6mph and bumping it up to 6.7 mph (8:57 pace) for the rest. I know that during winter I was doing all of my long runs on a treadmill, even getting up to a 17-miler, but now that I’m used to running outside again this one wasn’t very fun! As usual I didn’t get into a good flow until 6 or 7 miles in, but after that the miles flew by. Felt great the whole time!

Pre-run breakfast was a sandwich thin topped with almond butter and half of a banana.

When I got home I decided to finally take a stab at making my own hummus. It’s so easy and I even have a jar of tahini in the fridge, I just think the store-bought kinds taste pretty good. I looked up a really basic recipe and got to work. Here’s what I used:

All the ingredients went into the food processor…

Whirled for about a minute…

The results? A simple, smooth hummus. It was actually much more liquid that I prefer so I don’t know that the juice from the chickpea can was necessary. It also wasn’t extremely flavorful – likely because I chose such a basic recipe. But it could be easily dressed up with some roasted red peppers, cayenne, cumin, or roasted garlic. And you really can’t beat the ease of it. I’ll have to experiment with making my own flavors more often!

My lunch included a spread of hummus on a toasted WW English muffin topped with shredded carrot. The other half got a dippy egg. To drink I made a Green Monster that contained:

  • blender of raw spinach
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • Frozen berry mix
  • 1 TBSP vanilla protein powder
  • teeny bit of xantham gum

I dug the crunch of the carrots in the sandwich, but didn’t dig the color of my smoothie! The combo of berries and spinach turned it a yucky gray color, but it tasted delicious!

I just had half a grapefruit after my shower and now Alex is on his way home from his interviews. I reeeallly want to go to The Magic House, a sweet children’s museum here in St. Louis, but I don’t know if he’ll be up for it. My mom told me I had to find a 5-year-old to take with us, but I am not remotely embarrassed about making big bubbles or wandering through mirror mazes at age 23. We shall see.

Hope you’re having a fabulous weekend!

  • Do you make your own hummus?
  • Any really delicious recipes for me to try?

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 4:05 pm

    I had a hummus sandwich for lunch, too! AND I also made my own hummus. So funny!

  2. March 26, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love making hummus. My sister made a “dessert” hummus with almond butter, cinnamon, brown sugar…it tasted like a cookie and we were basically eating with a spoon.

  3. March 26, 2011 5:12 pm

    i LOVE making my own hummus! altho i never use tahini- ! WHA ahha when u are just warming up at 6 or 7 miles.. im DONE with my run!

  4. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:34 pm

    That snow is INSANE! I just posted a hummus recipe yesterday. It was delish, but simple, too. Though I love homemade hummus, I have a hard time replicating my favorite store-bought hummuses…Not sure what their secret is!!

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:53 pm

    Aww congrats on your run girl! It’s was super rainy the entire time during my spring break, but next week it’s supposed to be in the upper 70s. Wtheck hahaha. Oh boy. Have a wonderful rest of the wknd with Alex 🙂

  6. March 26, 2011 7:10 pm

    I’ve never made hummus, but I’ve always wanted to. The BEST hummus I’ve ever had is pumpkin hummus from this little cafe inside the Memphis School of Optometry. I mean seriously, seriously delicious.

  7. March 26, 2011 8:07 pm

    ughhh…where did this snow come from?!? i was shocked when it started snowing while we were eating lunch. such gross weather!

    i really want to try making my own hummus – i’ve never tried it though.

  8. March 26, 2011 8:42 pm

    i bet you’d love evan’s dessert hummus…..you should try that!!

  9. March 26, 2011 9:37 pm

    My “green” smoothies are never a pretty green if I add berries. But I love them just the same!!!

  10. March 27, 2011 12:17 am

    I’ve tried making my own miso-hummus before, and then just had to admit to myself that I just DON’T like hummus!

    The weather here is annoying too. It was 90 degrees, and then a few days later dipped to the 50s with rain and wind.

  11. Emily permalink
    March 27, 2011 7:13 am

    I’m sure you have posted this before, but what marathon training plan are you following? I’m about to start training for my 3rd marathon and I’ve never committed to a full training plan before but I know it would make me run so much faster. Thanks!

  12. March 27, 2011 11:27 am

    I make hummus all the time! Yours looks great!
    I definitely add Cayenne pepper and TONS of garlic. I’ve never added oil though- just water…
    Have a great day!

  13. March 27, 2011 2:14 pm

    I always try to make my own hummus! I haven’t gotten crazy creative with it, but I think I might have to make the dessert hummus that I always see everyone talking about!

Trackbacks

  1. My Magical Weekend « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

