Skip to content

My Magical Weekend

March 27, 2011

Well we didn’t end up going to the Magic House yesterday because Alex was pretty worn out from a day of interviews, but we did make it there today! Instead yesterday we just watched some basketball and then met up with friends to go out. We started at Broadway Oyster Bar – a neat hippie place downtown with live music – and then finished at Humphrey’s near SLU (where I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day.)

I tried a cool strawberry beer at the Oyster Bar. It kind of reminded me of a lightly flavored water, but with a beer taste in taste in the background. It was good, but not fantastic.

We both slept in this morning since we were out late, and then I started my day with hot lemon water and an apple. A little later I made myself the same smoothie as yesterday. I love the berry flecks in it:)

Alex had a big bowl of Captain Crunch, his favorite cereal, followed by a grapefruit with the new grapefruit spoon I bought him for our anniversary! We both eat a ton of grapefruit and now we have matching spoons for it.

****

We took a little joy ride after Church and stumbled upon an estate sale, which is right up our alley. We looked around but it was pretty cleared out. Except for a massive collection of old school Playboys that is. So funny to see what used to be “hot” back then!

 

From the 90s!

 

After that we decided to finally head to The Magic House! But we got sidetracked when I saw a new Red Mango. Alex said a smoothie sounded good, and once I got inside I couldn’t resist getting some fro-yo. I got tart and pomegranate topped with a bunch of fruit and a few cinnamon toast crunch. Totally hit the spot!

And now the moment I’d been waiting for – The Magic House!! This place is like a little kid heaven full of tons of cool exhibits and toys to play with. We were definitely the oldest people there without children but still had a blast.

So fun.

Then when we got home I was ready for lunch. I’d been meaning to try a sandwich combo that Kath loves and finally had all the ingredients. I melted a slice of swiss cheese on an English muffin and spread raspberry jam on the other half. Raw tempeh slices (really good flax variety!)  rounded it out and it made for a strangely delicious combination of savory and sweet. I’m a fan!

Roasted brussel sprouts and a bunch of pita chip handfuls rounded out my meal. I told Alex not to open the bag of pita chips because I knew I wouldn’t be able to stop…I was right!!

We’re just hanging out now until Alex has to leave around 4:30. I’m so glad we got to have such a randomly fun-filled weekend. I hope you did as well!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    March 27, 2011 4:03 pm

    What a coincidence–we just got home from an awesome fro yo date as well! This new little joint called Topperz opened up in town. It was my first experience getting to build your own bowl and then weigh it at the end to get the cost! It was too cool! Glad you’re having a great weekend! 🙂

  2. March 27, 2011 4:16 pm

    Awww, this weekend does sound magically. So glad you got to spend some time with your man. 🙂

  3. March 27, 2011 4:32 pm

    Cute house! Strawberry Abita is so good! Sometimes the batch isn’t the best, and so the strawberry taste is off… but it’s soooo good!

    • March 28, 2011 6:11 pm

      You definitely need to try it again! It’s soooo good! Well ANY of the Abita beers are 🙂

  4. March 27, 2011 4:33 pm

    That magic house looks like so much fun! And those Playboy magazines are funny..I don’t think the neon rollerskate would exactly pass as sexy nowadays

  5. March 27, 2011 5:13 pm

    What a nice weekend, i’m glad you didnt have to work Saturday!
    What does the tart fro-yo taste like? Ive seen that at my local fro-yo shop, but havent tried it yet.

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    March 27, 2011 5:15 pm

    You should wear your hair like the 2nd to last picture tomorrow! 🙂

  7. March 27, 2011 5:53 pm

    Love all the pictures, girl! I’m so glad you guys had a fun weekend together!! 😀

  8. March 27, 2011 7:58 pm

    Hahaha I love the old Playboys! It’s funny looking at how things change, isn’t it? By the way, that smoothie looks DELICIOUS! Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

  9. March 27, 2011 8:00 pm

    I would die if I saw a bunch of Playboys at an estate sale!!!!!

  10. March 27, 2011 8:41 pm

    Aw it looks like you had a great weekend 🙂

  11. March 27, 2011 9:04 pm

    What a fun weekend! I love random weekend days with no real set plans. We always try to get creative. You mentioned two things in this post that I need to add to my grocery list: grapefruit and Brussels sprouts!

  12. March 28, 2011 9:37 am

    I used to love going to the magic house when I was little!!

  13. March 28, 2011 2:12 pm

    hA HA love the pics… who’s playboys???

    cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Yemanja Brazil « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

