Skip to content

Sage Urban American Grill

March 28, 2011

I had a special dinner date tonight with my brother and dad since my mom is in Seattle.

my dates

We went to Sage Urban American Grill, a restaurant in Soulard right across from the Anheuser-Busch brewery. Sage’s creates “cuisine with fresh ingredients inspired my local harvests”.  I had read a good review in a local magazine and was excited to try it out.

The menu wasn’t quite as vegetarian-friendly as I had hoped. The only entree option was a four cheese ravioli in a cream sauce, and even though I have been craving a strange amount of cheese lately, this dish seemed a bit heavy for me.

Not to worry though, the butternut squash soup was what I really wanted.

To start, my brother and I split the hummus appetizer: Spiced Organic Hummuswith cucumber, red bell pepper, tomatoes and warm flatbread

It was a beaut. and we managed to polish that baby off over the course of the evening. I wish I knew what flavor the hummus was because it was delicious. It had black flecks in it but no singular flavor was prominent. I should have asked!

For my meal I choose a cup of the butternut squash soup and a side salad. The salad was dressed in an incredible strawberry vinaigrette and I loved every bite. The soup, as I had been warned, was very sweet. It was a perfect creaminess and the flavors reminded me of a sweet potato casserole on Thanksgiving. It was actually quite wonderful!

There was a drink special tonight that the three of us took advantage of as well. If you ordered two entrees, a bottle of wine was the price of a single glass! Even though a whole bottle of wine was a bit aggressive for the three of us on a Monday, we couldn’t beat the price and so ordered a shiraz. I enjoyed a glass with my meal, but we ended up bringing the rest of the bottle home.

And for dessert, we watched the Notre Dame women beat Tennessee in the Elite Eight! GO IRISH!

****

My brother and dad both enjoyed their meal (a steak and shrimp pasta, and a pork chops special respectively) and we all agreed the restaurant was very good, but not spectacular. I’d definitely go back, but the menu is limited so there weren’t many other things I am dying to try.

All in all it was a nice way to start the week!

  • Do you go out to eat much during the week?

I never do unless there is a special occassion. Really the only day I eat out is Friday!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    March 28, 2011 9:21 pm

    I don’t eat out much during the week either. On occasion I grab lunch at this little organic cafe downtown. They have great homemade soups!

  2. March 28, 2011 10:47 pm

    That hummus looks so amazing! Haven’t had hummus in a while! I go out to eat during the week once with my co-workers. That’s it for me! 🙂

  3. momentsofmmm permalink
    March 29, 2011 12:16 am

    I don’t eat out much either.. Being a college student, it’s definitely more financially sound to eat in.

    But if the boyfriend and I do venture it out it’s usually on a Sunday or Monday. Weird I know, but it’s less busy and there is always a happy hour…score!

    Look forward to reading more!

  4. March 29, 2011 4:38 am

    I don’t really go out in the week, it’s fun sometimes though. I used to drink Jacob’s Creek at Uni – ah the memories 🙂

  5. Kate permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:38 am

    Wow, that hummus looks incredible! I rarely go out during the week anymore. With my clinical rotations and studying for boards, there is just too much to do and too little time. I hate to just work for the weekends, but you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do!

    Side note…your brother is pretty cute 🙂

  6. March 29, 2011 7:02 am

    I don’t go out to eat on the weekdays…I’m pretty busy with tutoring, and my husband works late…so we save our trips to restaurants for Friday and Saturday nights! Date nights!
    That soup sounds delicious! 🙂

  7. March 29, 2011 7:10 am

    How fun-looks like a beautiful dinner!

  8. March 29, 2011 7:36 am

    Ooh that is my kind of drink special 🙂

  9. March 29, 2011 9:03 am

    That hummus…wow. I go out to eat occasionally during the week, but usually it’s to pretty casual restaurants. I save the good ones for the weekend/special occasions!

  10. March 29, 2011 9:09 am

    Ooh I love going out on week nights! Nate and I often make a point of having nice dinners out during the week, since it takes a dull Tuesday and gives you something to look forward to. Plus, you beat the crowds and tons of restaurants have great dinner specials Monday – Thursday. Granted, we go a lot on weekends too…

  11. March 29, 2011 9:51 am

    Yum, it all looks delicious.
    I never go out to eat, sometimes I prefer it that way, you know? I like to know exactly how my food is prepared and exactly what goes into it. But eating out is always fun, no clean up!

  12. March 29, 2011 10:28 am

    Jealous! That was waaaay better than my Monday night meal.

    As for your question, I go back and forth on the idea of eating out during the week. Sometimes I really feel like it to make the work week a little more fun. Other times I like to save going out for Friday or Saturday to make the weekend extra special!

  13. March 29, 2011 8:55 pm

    oh man you can totally tell you and your brother are siblings! At least I think so 🙂 people tell me all the time i look like my sister but i dont see it AT ALL>

    Hummus is my favorite to get at restaurants, I love dipping the warm fresh pita in it!
    Butternut Squash Soup is also AMAZING I hae yet to make a version that compares to restaurants.

    I occasionally go out to eat during the week but its only if its a rare night my fiance and I actually have off together or a special occasion!

Leave a Reply

