Skip to content

Eggs & Cheese

March 29, 2011

I’m so so glad you guys enjoyed the “ugly faces” post! So many of you expressed that you’d like to submit pictures now, so feel free to send them my way and I’ll put together another round sometime soon. SO FUN!

*****

My salad from California Pizza Kitchen today was just as good as I had expected. I never knew that CPK had such good soups and salads until my co-workers brought me there on my first day. I always assumed it was just pizza!

I got the Moroccan Chicken Salad with no chicken: Moroccan-spiced chicken breast with crisp Romaine lettuce, roasted butternut squash, Medjool dates, fresh avocado, fresh beets, chopped egg, carrots, dried cranberries and red bell peppers. Tossed with our homemade champagne vinaigrette.

A restaurant salad that has dates, beets, butternut squash and avocado? So impressive!

I loved it.

******

I mentioned yesterday that I have been craving a weird amount of cheese and eggs lately. I’m usually not a big cheese person at all, but lately these simple ingredients have been making my taste buds happy. For dinner tonight I combined the two (sort of) by making a veggie and cheese omelette.

I used two eggs and 1/4 cup egg whites and filled it with sauteed mushroom, spinach and onion. Soy cheese also got melted inside and the whole thing was topped with salsa and fresh basil.

On the side I had two small BUTTS of bread and some steamed asparagus. A deliciously basic dinner.

*****

After dinner I had half a ripe grapefruit, an oatmeal raisin Luna Bar and some handfuls of pita chips, twizzlers, and starbursts. I can’t tame my sweet tooth lately! I blame the lack of chocolate.

My cold is coming on a little stronger so I’m going to try to make sure to drink plenty of water and get enough sleep. On that note…!

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 8:02 pm

    Hope you don’t get too sick! And I LOVE CPK.. it is a staple when I go to St. Louis. I made oatmeal raisin cookies to help satisfy the no chocolate cravings..its working so far!

  2. Abby permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:13 pm

    Hope you kick the sickness quick! That salad looks amazing! Too bad they couldn’t sub tofu for the chicken or something! That’d be tasty! 🙂

  3. March 29, 2011 8:28 pm

    l love salads from CPK! I’ve never tried that one, but it looks amazing! I hope you feel better tomorrow!

  4. March 29, 2011 8:39 pm

    That salad does look good. I’ve never been there, so I didn’t realize they had those ingredients! It is impressive… By the way, your omlet came out pretty perfect looking. I think I’d be embarassed to show how mine look sometimes. Woops.

  5. March 29, 2011 9:09 pm

    That’s totally been one of my favorite combos lately too – egg & cheese sandwiches are one of the only reasons I could never go vegan!

  6. March 29, 2011 9:11 pm

    I hope your cold gets better! I like to have Emergen-C when I’m feeling sick!

  7. March 29, 2011 9:31 pm

    Don’t let your cold make you too nervous. Take care of yourself. You’ll bounce back quickly!

  8. March 29, 2011 10:26 pm

    ohhh no!!! it will be fine- just take care of yourself and rest sugar pie! ❤

  9. March 29, 2011 10:45 pm

    I hope you feel better! I’ve been getting sick so often recently. It sucks!

  10. March 30, 2011 1:39 am

    That’s what I always get at CPK too! Sooo good. Hope your cold is over before it starts!

  11. March 30, 2011 5:00 am

    That salad looks/sounds killer!! I love Moroccan-type dishes. The spices they use are awesome.
    I hope you can kick that cold to the curb before it gets to you! Rest up :]

  12. March 30, 2011 9:55 am

    It sucks getting sick. But if you look at it on the bright side, at least you will get the dreaded cold over with before the weather gets really nice! Make sure to drink lots of fluids to flush that sick right out of you!

  13. March 31, 2011 1:23 pm

    I am totally going to send you some ugly face pics 😀

  14. April 2, 2011 11:10 am

    I’m sending you an ugly picture.ASAP.

Leave a Reply

