Skip to content

Green Monster Tutorial

March 30, 2011

Thank you all for such wonderful feedback on my Marathon Weight post. I’m always amazed at how kind you all are to me and how much I have in common with my readers. It just warms my heart:)

*****

Today’s lunch was simple and I actually wasn’t even very hungry for it due to my congestion. But finally a little after 2pm I got it out and dug in. I made a hummus, spinach, tomato and avocado sandwich on TJ’s sprouted grain bread. On the side I had leftover steamed asparagus from last night and an apple.

All day I’d been planning a big green monster for dinner. What better way to get in tons of nutrients from fruits and veggies? I even included half a packet of Amazing Grass superfood (plain flavor) for an extra boost. I don’t have a magical vitamix that blends my smoothies perfectly, but I do have access to my mom’s nice blender. Here’s my process:

1. Fill blender with raw spinach and add any powders. In my case it was 1 TBSP Jay Robb Vanilla Whey protein powder and 1/2 packet of Amazing Grass.


2. Add 1 cup of soy milk (or milk/yogurt of choice) and blend it all up

3. Add frozen ingredients. Today I used 1/2 frozen banana and a bunch of a frozen berry mix. At this point I also add in a pinch of xantham gum if I’m using it. (Xantham gum is a thickener often used in ice creams, etc, to achieve a smooth creamy texture).

4. Blend it all up using your ice crusher setting and stopping to stir with a spoon if it’s being difficult. Then pour into your glass or bowl and enjoy!

I spoon-fed myself mine as a smoothie in a bowl. It was thick and almost gelatinous, but I did find some bits of frozen berries and bananas that my blender neglected. Still tasted delicious and hopefully is attacking all my germs!

On the side I had a Whole Food’s whole wheat English muffin. I topped one half with Earth Balance and nutritional yeast for protein, and the other half with almond butter for deliciousness.

Eaten at the table while reading about the most important names in the St. Louis food industry in Sauce Magazine. I’m such a foodie nerd. Time for some relaxation before an early bed time!

  • How do you like your smoothies – glass or bowl? straw or spoon?

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 8:00 pm

    I can ONLY drink them out of a glass. For some reason, the SIAB gets me so out of whack. I feel like anything pureed from a bowl should be hot soup.

  2. March 30, 2011 8:04 pm

    I’m all about the SIAB, topped with cereal, eating with the biggest spoon I can find. That’s how a smoothie should be done!

  3. March 30, 2011 8:07 pm

    I have to go with smoothies in a glass, though I haven’t tried the SIAB yet. I think I would do the SIAB if I had something crumbled on top? I’ll have to try it 🙂

  4. Abby permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:27 pm

    Well, so far I have been having no luck in the protein powder department so I haven’t been having too many successful smoothies! If I’m at home I prefer a bowl but if I am taking it on the go I will put it in a cup with a straw. How do you like the Jay Robb protein powder? What is the ingredient panel like?

  5. March 30, 2011 10:12 pm

    i’m 100% a smoothie in a bowl person. it seems more filling if i EAT it, than if i DRINK it, ya know?

  6. March 30, 2011 10:26 pm

    Yummy! Yours looks so rich! I usually have mine in a glass with a straw, but I think I’m going to try a bowl next time!

  7. March 30, 2011 10:26 pm

    I LOVE smoothies in bowl. I usually top them with more fruit, some nuts and more cinnamon. They are so delicious, and I feel like I am getting a meal when I get some crunch in there as well 🙂

  8. March 31, 2011 12:16 am

    I like smoothies in its previous whole form…as in, I prefer to munch on the raw ingredients than drink it down in a slurry. It’s funny because my friend’s mom used to make her these kind of smoothies all the time, and everyone kind of made fun of it…and now it’s a blog phenomenon! Lol.

  9. March 31, 2011 6:57 am

    Your smoothie looks amazing! I love smoothies for dinner.

  10. March 31, 2011 7:24 am

    Just came across your blog and I’m definitely adding you to my must-read list. Just wanted to say hello, from one Cla(i)re to another!

  11. March 31, 2011 7:30 am

    I only drink smoothies! I don’t think I’d enjoy it as much if I ate it out of a bowl with a spoon. I’m just weird like that 😉 But smoothie in a bowl LOOKS amazing!

  12. March 31, 2011 8:15 am

    I have been loving mine in “parfait” form….I’ll layer it with my GF granola in the mornings. Great way to start the day!

  13. March 31, 2011 8:49 am

    I usually have mine in a glass and eat it with a spoon. I think I’m going to try SIAB next time.

  14. March 31, 2011 10:01 am

    wait.. i love the SIAB idea!! i always use a glass but spooning would be much more fun!

  15. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:02 am

    Smoothie for dinner! Great idea. I’ve done both, bowl and glass. Depends on how thick it turns out…

    p.s. loved your post on weight/the marathon. can sooo relate.

  16. March 31, 2011 1:53 pm

    I still need to try mine in a bowl!!

    Eeek! How is Nooch on toast? Thats sounds awful!But let me know how it is bc if you like it then I’m up to try anything!

  17. April 1, 2011 11:52 am

    I think its funny that we use the exact same ingredients but i put mine in, in a totally different order!!
    I put in the almond milk, then the spinach and blend and then the frozen fruit and blend and then the powder!
    mmmm so delicious. Its back to freezing over here but i will be enjoying these DAILY as soon as the warmth is back!
    I like to mix it up and have them out of a bowl or a glass, spoon or straw 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I Promise To Stop Talking About… « Fitting It All In
  2. The Aftermath « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

