Skip to content

A New Opening

March 31, 2011

Happy Opening Day!

In honor of opening day I thought I’d open my day with a new breakfast.

Okay that’s a total lie. I had a different breakfast because I have a lunch meeting on the earlier side and my oats would keep me too full.

I combined one container of Oikos 0% plain with 1/3 packet of stevia, 1 teaspoon chia seeds, 1 tablespoon peanut flour, and a few drips of water. On top went half a banana and some juicy raspberries.

Fresh and light, and hopefully the perfect amount of satiety until my Chipotle lunch date.

*****

Backing up, I woke up for my usual gym session this morning. I’ve been making sure to get to bed a little earlier with this sickness coming on and thankfully my sleep hasn’t been too interrupted. I’m loving the orange Zicam I’m taking. I’d never tried Zicam before now, but if little candy-tasting tablets of zinc will help fend off my cold I’m down.

At the gym I completed a 4-mile run, just aiming for negative splits by increasing my speed each mile. I then hopped on the elliptical for 10 minutes with my new Self magazine (where Emily is featured!!). The workout ended with stretching, abs on a stability ball, and some arm machines.

Question: Am I completely defeating the purpose of a marathon taper if I add some time on the elliptical and continue to do strength training? Or is the taper only for the amount of running time? I know that the elliptical doesn’t put nearly as much stress on your legs as running does so I figured it was okay, but I’m thinking maybe I should start to rest my legs completely.

OUTFIT:

I’ve gotten tons of use out of this navy dress from Forever 21. It’s a bit baggy (and looks like curtains according to one friend 🙂 ) but I love it belted!

Well I’ve got work to do! I’m excited to watch the end of the Cardinals game after work and then hopefully go see “My Run”, a marathon documentary showing ONLY tonight across the country! Anyone else going to see it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 10:25 am

    Happy opening day! I’m a Pittsburgh Pirates fan, so it’s also slightly depressing… but still, the return of baseball is always a good thing!

  2. March 31, 2011 10:39 am

    You should keep up the intensity of your training, just make sure to cut back your miles!!… Some people do both, cut back intensity and miles, but its best to stay sharp!
    Stunning outfit as always

    cheers

  3. March 31, 2011 10:41 am

    YES. Taper is for rest of your body, not just “miles running.” Definitely don’t up the time or intensity on anything now!!!!

    Taper is a great time to really focus on showing yourself that you can take care of yourself all the way through the race, and not just have used it as a reason to get in lots of exercise. Hard on the mind? Definitely is for me, but I know plenty of people that L-O-V-E love taper time. I personally hate taper and the change of pace in training. It throws me off!

    Keys to taper: Rest and continuing to eat! 🙂 Remember your body is repairing and replenishing itself now and really getting ready to be put through the whole marathon without crashing!

  4. March 31, 2011 10:42 am

    You always have GREAT outfits, by the way. 🙂

  5. mel permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:56 pm

    Hey Clare! I love your blog and just read the marathon post. Don’t take this the wrong way, but I bet the reason you lost some weight is b/c you don’t eat enough during training. I bet if you added your cals up(and I know you don’t post it all) it would be less than 1600 ish. I’m not training for anything but I work out most days for 30 mins to an hour and eat at least 1800-2000 cals to maintain my 125 pound frams (I’m 5’7) Now I know everyone has different needs but from what you post, your daily eats seem like you are not eating enough. Just my two cents though!!

  6. March 31, 2011 2:31 pm

    wait whats opening day!?!?.. great outfit and yummy breakki!

  7. March 31, 2011 2:44 pm

    In my house we listen to the Braves on the radio while we watch on TV, and if it’s not on TV we just listen. My huband is obsessed! When I trained for my half I mixed it up instead of only running. I did kickboxing and yoga to get all my muscles in gear and it worked out great! I didn’t have any injuries and wasn’t as tired.

  8. March 31, 2011 3:14 pm

    Love that dress! SO pretty! I’m going to the Cubs game on Saturday woot woot! Not Opening Day for them…but still the second game! 🙂

  9. Sarah @ healthygirlrunning permalink
    April 1, 2011 12:20 am

    I seriously LOVE your fashion sense! You’re outfits are always so cute! 🙂

  10. April 1, 2011 2:27 pm

    it’s the philadelphia phillies opening day today!!! i am so excited! I loveee your outfit pictures you post. you have such a cute style!

Leave a Reply

