Skip to content

Big Plans for Chocolate

March 31, 2011

You guys may recall that I gave up chocolate for Lent. It was the perfect sacrifice – something that I truly enjoy and crave, but that I can go without as a big thank you to God. It hasn’t been easy. I’ve found myself replacing chocolate with anything sweet. The massive amounts of Starbursts and Twizzlers I’ve consumed are ridiculous, but I only have a few weeks left!

To say I’m looking forward to Easter is an understatement. I actually have been brainstorming how many different ways I can eat chocolate on Easter. The problem is that we’ll be vacationing in Hilton Head and actually flying home on Easter. This severely limits my chocolate eating options. But I’ll work around it, trust me.

source

So what about breakfast? I won’t have tons of ingredients to work with. Cocoa powder probably wont be on our vacation shopping list so adding it to oats or yogurt isn’t a possibility. I could always have a chocolate granola bar with some fruit. Or make a plain bowl of oats and find some chocolate chips to put in it. Or maybe just get a big old chocolate muffin.

source

But then we’ll head to the airport. You would think this could complicate things, but really the airport is like my chocolate heaven. I could get chocolate frozen yogurt at TCBY, but that won’t be necessary because I’ll have plenty of access to my absolute favorite chocolate pleasure: M&Ms. Remember when my boyfriend got me every variety he could find for Valentine’s Day?

Now at some point during the day I’m going to have to have a classic chocolate chip cookie. My family loves their chocolate chip cookies, remember? I could probably find the Mrs. Fields or Grandma’s brand, but I’m hoping the airport will sell Alternative Baking Company cookies because I’ve always wanted to try theirs.

source

And after a full day of meals, I’m going to need dessert right? I could to go my favorite build your own fro-yo place and just load on the chocolate toppings. Or I could dig into the leftover girlscout cookies we have left, perhaps with a big bowl of Thin Mint ice cream. But don’t you think a proper chocolate ending would be a the biggest piece of triple chocolate cake I can find?

source

And a bite of quality dark chocolate before bed, of course. Because it’s good for you.

  • What would your first bite of chocolate be?
21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 3:14 pm

    It would totally be TGI Friday’s brownie obsession…which incidentally I could realllllly go for right about now

  2. March 31, 2011 3:15 pm

    Mmmm a chocolate muffin would be my pick! Carby and sweet!!!

  3. March 31, 2011 3:19 pm

    Alternative Baking Company Cookies are my favorite!!!! Especially lemon poppy seed, pumpkin, and SNICKERDOODLE (no surprise there). Golden Grocer has tons of variety

  4. Natalie permalink
    March 31, 2011 3:51 pm

    Oh my goodness you’re giving me the munchies. My first bite is a toss up. It would either be a big, soft chunky chocolate chip cookie, or a Chocolate Extreme Blizzard from Dairy Queen.. mm.

  5. March 31, 2011 3:53 pm

    I love all your ideas for what to eat when you can eat chocolate again! It’s certainly something fun to think about…I think my first bite would have to be either of a frosted brownie or a piece of chocolate cake. Yum!

  6. March 31, 2011 4:04 pm

    Some kind of chocolate cheesecake!!! Yummmmmm

  7. Tiffany permalink
    March 31, 2011 4:05 pm

    I love Alternative Baking Company cookies! I usually pick them up at Whole Foods..but they are a bit on the pricier side 😦 They make me feel less guilty for indulging though and they are SO darn good.

    you should go w/ the Double Chocolate Decadence flavor!

  8. March 31, 2011 4:10 pm

    Oh good heavens I better have chocolate in the house because now you have me CRAVING it! Hmm my first bite of chocolate would probably be either a really decadent piece of cake, reeses peanut butter cups, or m&ms. I am a sucker for m&ms, but I also LOVE good delicious piece of cake. I am pretty sure I will have to go out and buy myself a piece of cake tonight 🙂

  9. March 31, 2011 4:17 pm

    MMM looks so good! My first bite of chocolate would be a Tollhouse cookie!!

  10. March 31, 2011 5:20 pm

    Okay now you have my craving chocolate MASSIVELY. Also, I’m SO with you on M&Ms. They’re pure chocolatey perfection, ALL of their forms.

    I’m thinking my first chocolate bite would be some kind of double chocolate muffin. Or a really fudgy chocolate ice cream!

    Oh chocolate. ❤

  11. March 31, 2011 5:25 pm

    i’m digging the sounds of the fro-yo choice 😉

  12. March 31, 2011 5:50 pm

    Ahh I love this post and hate it..now I want chocolate more then ever!! I should write my own of how to I will be indulging from my chocolate hiatus

  13. March 31, 2011 6:25 pm

    Hahahaha I love this. But- you can actually have chocolate again on Good Friday, haha. That’s the end of the 40 days of Lent 🙂 I’d go straight for the good dark chocolate!

  14. March 31, 2011 6:32 pm

    Hahahaha, how awesome!
    I’m loving your Easter plans 😉
    It’s been YEARS since I last ate chocolate – so maybe Easter would be a good way to start..?
    😀

  15. March 31, 2011 7:52 pm

    hahahaha i LOVE your chocolate plans. you should buy the huge ass pound of tjs chocolate and just travel with it 😉

  16. Abby permalink
    March 31, 2011 7:57 pm

    My top three would be: a piece of my grandma’s chocolate cake, the frozen yogurt with every possible chocolate topping that I enjoy, or a missisippi mud brownie (brownie on the bottom, marshmallow layer, chocolate frosting on top of that). 🙂
    My step mom and grandma both told me that Sundays are considered a “break” from Lent. My step mom said that she even confirmed that with our Priest…Makes me very curious! Do you know anything about this?

  17. March 31, 2011 9:53 pm

    I gave up chocolate too and it is so hard! This is actually the third year (not consecutively thank goodness) that i’ve given it up. My first bite on Easter will most likely be a ferraro rocher. They are just so decadent!

  18. April 1, 2011 12:35 am

    lol, this post made me happy. 🙂 i love chocolate. i’ve given it up for lent before too and it is SO hard! i think my first bite would be….nutella. i love the hazelnut + chocolate combo!

  19. April 2, 2011 8:00 am

    Honestly? I dont like dark chocolate at all!!! I dont know what it is? But I’m a milk chocolate lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

