Skip to content

Forgotten Salads & My Run

March 31, 2011

Do I have the best boyfriend in the world? Or do I have the best boyfriend in the world?

I was taken totally off guard when I received these at work. There was absolutely no occassion I could think of! Turns out it was just to thank me for letting him use my car while he was here last weekend and to brighten my day.

Day sufficiently brightened. They’re gorgeous!

*****

This afternoon I started tweeting about needing a sweet potato recipe for dinner. I had some in the pantry and was craving one for dinner, but had no idea what to make with it. It needed to be quick and simple because I was in a bit of a rush after work.

And then as I was driving home I sawΒ  a billboard with a salad on it.

Salad! Duh!

I always forget that I can make salads at home, probably because I don’t think of salad as something that will fill me up. I’m also not very good at making them because I don’t know what flavors go together. But I knew we had some veggies I could roast and a bunch of mixed greens to use up, so my wheels started turning.

I started with a base of mixed greens and spinach:

Then I pulled roasted sweet potatoes, broccoli, and mushrooms out of a 400 degree oven and placed them on top.

My salad was finished with a drizzle of Annie’s Raspberry Vinaigrette and an over easy egg.

To round out my meal I had two whole wheat tortillas. I am obsessed with the kind I buy at Whole Foods. They taste so buttery!

Awesome dinner. Hopefully I remember to get creative with salads more often!

*****

Dinner had to be quick because I was off to a special event at 7pm. My Run is a documentary that was playing only tonight in select theatres across the country. It follows Terry Hitchcock, a man who lost his wife to breast cancer and was lost as to how to go on with his life. He got the crazy idea to run from his home in Minneapolis to the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta to raise awareness for the thousands of kids that live in single-parent homes. Terry was 58, had never run, and had heart problems. His journey would mean running a marathon a day for 75 days.

source

The movie was not so much about running as it was about personal triumph, overcoming obstacles, and beating the odds. While inspiring in that way, it also made me excited for my marathon. If this man can run 75 of them, I sure as heck can run one! I’ll definitely be thinking of Terry during my race.

*****

I had an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna Bar during the movie and just now snacked on bowl of cereal, mixed nuts, and dried cranberries before bed. Hope you all had a great Thursday (and that some of you enjoyed some chocolate for me!)

  • Do you make your own salads often?
  • Have a favorite filling combo?

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    March 31, 2011 9:15 pm

    Aww! What a sweetheart! πŸ™‚

    Tonight I made a salad for dinner. I’ve been doing it a little bit more often. Now that spring is in the air I have actually been craving salad instead of warm foods! It had mixed greens, spinach, peas, some TJ’s ABC Trek mix, mushrooms, carrots, and celery. I usually put a hard boiled egg on my salads but I didn’t feel like making one tonight. lol!

  2. March 31, 2011 9:30 pm

    That story and that picture made me tear up! It’s so happy and sad at the same time. Very inspiring!

  3. March 31, 2011 9:49 pm

    Wow what an inspiring story. I hope they play “My Run” in my city. I would definitely watch it.
    PS: Nice salad. I’ve never had a salad with an egg over easy but looks good!!!

  4. March 31, 2011 10:23 pm

    Yes! I make a huge salad for lunch or dinner every single day. I like adding “chunky” veggies like carrots, cucumber or tomatoes for bulk and nuts, avocados, olives or cheese ( like feta or crumbled blue ) for some richness. Beans are good too….esp. chick peas. We LOVE our salads and I feel weird if I don’t eat one at least once a day πŸ™‚
    ( Oh I make a simple dressing of balsamic, agave syrup, dijon mustard, salt, dried thyme and sunflower oil. I take an old almond butter jar and shake it up until it’s blended. This will last me most of the week πŸ™‚

  5. Sarah @ healthygirlrunning permalink
    April 1, 2011 12:16 am

    Oh my gosh! That’s sooo sweet! He’s a keeper! πŸ™‚

    You know what’s funny, I make the SAME salad for lunch every day! It probably has something to do with the fact that I tend to stick to what I like. Going outside my comfort zone makes me nervous!

  6. April 1, 2011 3:36 am

    Aww Alex is too sweet! Love the flowers! And your salad looks so tasty πŸ™‚

  7. Kate permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:05 am

    Gorgeous flowers! Don’t let that boy get away πŸ™‚

    I make my own salads every day. The staff at the doctor’s office I rotating through this month think it’s hilarious that I eat so much spinach & lettuce. I usually have a HUGE container or spinach/spring mix, cucumbers, chicken marinated in hot sauce, and hot sauce/greek yogurt “dressing”…it’s AMAZING! I’m going to have to try roasted sweet potato on one though, because that looks incredible!

  8. April 1, 2011 6:39 am

    I LOVE sweet potatoes on salad!! I don’t make my own often enough, either, though. I never have enough salad-y produce. Which doesn’t sound like it makes much sense…but I don’t know how better to explain myself, haha. I guess I just feel like a real salad bar can do it better because I can have a little bit of everything, whereas when I make them at home I tend to throw some lettuce and dressing in a bowl and call it done πŸ˜›

  9. April 1, 2011 6:58 am

    That’s so sweet that he bought you flowers! They’re beautiful!! I love making my own salads! They’re usually spinach, lots of veggies, feta and a vinaigrette.

  10. April 1, 2011 7:48 am

    All your meals looks scrumptious!

    cheers

  11. April 1, 2011 8:09 am

    Aww, yay for boys and just because flowers πŸ˜‰ Ours must have been in cahoots this week!

    If I want a super-filling salad, I throw a boiled red potato on top – it’s great texture plus just the right amount of heft to give the salad some staying power without being a full-on heavy meal!

  12. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:00 am

    Love that story about Terry. Such an inspiration. Stories like his really put things in perspective.

    Your salad looks delish! To bulk up salads, I add either tofu (TJ’s savory tofu is my fave), beans, and/or hummus. And I always top with toasted sunflower seeds–for protein and a yummy crunch.

  13. April 1, 2011 9:36 am

    so thoughtful!

  14. April 1, 2011 9:39 am

    AHH I LOVE finding ads, billboards that sinspire me on wha ti wnt to eat!! WOW that documentary is SO INSPIRING!

  15. Natalie permalink
    April 1, 2011 4:35 pm

    The documentary looks so inspiring. I love hearing about people who have completed such amazing feats. My neighbor is well into his 70s and runs everyday no matter what. There could be a hailstorm and the man is running. It gives me so much motivation!

    My favorite salad combo is field greens with a sprinkling of craisins, walnuts, and either feta or bleu cheese. If I have it with some protein it makes it more filling (tilapia or a crumbled turkey burger.)

  16. April 22, 2011 9:28 pm

    I like article Forgotten Salads & My Run Fitting It All In. Keep up the good work. I hope to read soon similar blog posts. I really liked your blog post.

Leave a Reply

