Skip to content

We Got Punked

April 1, 2011

I may not have pulled any April Fool’s jokes on anyone, but Alex & I certainly got one pulled on us!

Alex’s brother sent a message to ALL of his friends telling them to write on his Facebook wall as if he has proposed to me. Even his siblings and neighbors got in on it. When he got onto Facebook today he had no idea what was going on!! It was definitely a funny joke. I was just cracking up reading all the comments people were leaving. A pig roast reception is being planned:)

*****

Lunch with my brother today left me FULL. OR Juice & Smoothie is the only place I know of that makes vegetable juices, so I always have to get one when I go. I ordered a “CCR” made of carrots, celery, and red beet and downed that baby before our meals were even ready. I let John try a sip and he was not a fan. I guess we don’t all like to drink our veggies.

We both ordered their award-winning veggie burger which seemed to be grain-based. It had a slight curry flavor and I really enjoyed it. John liked it too, but said it tasted “beany”.

We were also eyeing their spring roll menu and decided to order some to split. I wanted to try the raw nori roll, and the man at the register  (who did not speak very good English) led me to believe it would just be four little sushi type rounds. Nope! We wound up with four big wraps and were a bit overwhelmed. They weren’t all that great as were basically just lettuce, carrot and avocado wrapped in nori, but I ended up eating two. And then I was full for over 6 hours.

And it’s Friday so we know that means it’s Crazy Bowls and Wraps night! This time I not only ordered a tofu veggie bowl for myself, but a pad thai bowl with salmon for my Dad. He really liked it which makes me so happy. I love when people like the foods I eat and restaurants I go to. It means I will have meal friends more often!

Oh, and I found a piece of chicken in my bowl. Wahhhh no good! I just picked it out and threw it straight across the kitchen into the garbage disposal. Good thing I’m not a super picky vegetarian.

 

*****

The beginning of a new month means it’s time to see how I am doing with my 2011 goals. April is a big month for accomplishing these actually, so next month’s review should be fantastic! Here’s how I did during March:

  1. Eat dinner with my family more: Not doing as well on this. I have gone out to each with my parents a few times, but I haven’t been sitting at the table with them on a daily basis. I’m trying to think of why and I can’t really figure it out, except that we are eating at different times. I’ll try to be better about this in April!
  2. Tell my dad I love him more: Still not doing too hot on this. I definitely like the suggestion I got to start by saying “love you” in emails to him, but haven’t done it yet. I have been doing more things with him like going out to eat, etc, so hopefully my actions are speaking louder than my words.
  3. Visit at least one out-of-town friend this year: Heading to Savannah at the end of the month to see Mary Cecilia!
  4. Successfully complete my first marathon: 10 days away! AHHH!!
  5. Focus more on strength training: Still making sure to get in some strength training throughout the week, but nothing near as close to the intensity I’d like it to be. Hoping to find a good routine (taking suggestions!!) or classes to take once I’m off my training plan.
  6. Pray every day: My Lenten resolution to read the daily reflections has meant I aced this test. I’ve been starting every morning with this reading and am really enjoying it. Do they make reflection books for the whole year?
  7. Be the best where I am RIGHT NOW at work: I got pretty frustrated with not feeling fulfilled at work this month, but have also taken the initiative with my blogger outreach project and a fledgling healthy living initiative. I have 3 more months to stick out this role before getting a new challenge so I need to make the best of it!
  8. Own who I am: Despite having some doubts about what I’m doing with my life this month, I’m still doing my best to be unapologetically me.

 

Long Post! Early morning tomorrow! Goodnight!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 8:14 pm

    That’s the nastiest piece of chicken I have ever seen.

    I love seeing peoples’ goals recaps. Gives me ideas for new goals!

    Too funny about the Facebook prank. Glad you had a sense of humor about it!

  2. April 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    That is an awesome prank. Though I’d probably smack my BF if he did that haha…I’m far too excited about marriage for him to joke around about it!!

  3. Kristin permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:35 pm

    Hi Clare!! They do make daily reflection books! I would STRONGLY recommend “Jesus Calling.” It’s a little book with a short prayer/reflection for every day of the year and it is always so insightful and inspiring! I love it!

  4. Abby permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:38 pm

    Oh my gosh! That prank is too funny! I like your list of goals! I made one new goal for April and that is to do some sort of abdominal exercise every day. I am not a fan of doing ab work but I know that having a strong core is important! 🙂

  5. April 1, 2011 9:53 pm

    That prank is funny! But, a little bit hard to undo, aseverything people read on Facebook they believe it to be true! I’m a new reader to your blog, but I love that you have set goals for yourself and are following up on them. This is really something I should be doing. I’m sure there are things that I can do better on!

  6. April 1, 2011 10:10 pm

    gah, i hate april fools pranks! it seems like you guys have a pretty good attitude about your facebook prank today, though!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:43 pm

    Wish you had a video clip of you chugging that chicken across the room, hahaha.
    Great goals — reminds me that I need to set my own for this month as well. I can’t believe it’s April — 2 months until I graduate / am unemployed!
    How long was it after you graduated that you found a job?

  8. April 2, 2011 1:33 am

    AHAHAH. Thats a funny prank! You should show more pics of you and your bf in real life! NOT just fashion page! We want more CLARE!

  9. April 2, 2011 2:22 am

    i like #8! I am going to make that my April goal 🙂

  10. April 2, 2011 6:34 am

    AHAHAH ALOVE THAT PRANK!!! oh ew chicken in the tofu bowl!. YUCK!! have you made april goals!?

  11. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 2, 2011 11:20 am

    That juice look amazing! Definitely going to have to give that one a shot. Carrots were MADE to be juiced. 🙂

  12. April 2, 2011 2:02 pm

    thats such a funny april fools!!

  13. April 2, 2011 2:21 pm

    those are great goals! I got in the habit of always saying “love you” at the end of phone conversations with my dad when we do get a chance to chat. It’s helped the past few years since i officially left home and lived on my own!

  14. April 2, 2011 5:41 pm

    ahaha….that is an AWESOME Facebook prank. maybe not to you both at the time, but…that’s a good one 😛
    i love all of your goals!! for some reason i always think of goals to be more…i don’t know…tangible/noticeable? not as much of an internal thoughts/feelings sort of thing – but that is definitely something for me to strive for. namely, “owning who you are,” and that sort of thing. i’ll have to remember that!

  15. April 2, 2011 9:26 pm

    Wow, I wouldn’t have taken that prank as well as you did!! I’m overly sensitive though 🙂

  16. Lamar permalink
    April 3, 2011 12:51 pm

    clare, they gave us a daily reflection book at kairos…duhh..obviously you don’t hoard things the way i do, i will be happy to lend you my copy.

Leave a Reply

