Skip to content

Yemanja Brazil

April 3, 2011

This morning I woke up with one thing on my mind: CEREAL. Despite getting to bed at 3am, my body wouldn’t let me sleep past nine so I woke up and made myself breakfast. I had a big bowl of melon and pineapple along with a bowl of Kashi Go Lean, slivered almonds, strawberries and soy milk.

After Church I blogged and then spent some time reading Born To Run on my patio in my swimsuit! It got up to nearly 90 degrees today!! Eventually I made myself a light and refreshing lunchΒ  – another salad! I roasted a sweet potato and put it on a bed of spinach with steamed edamame, Annie’s raspberry vinaigrette, and a blob of hummus. Two whole wheat tortillas on the side.

The activity for the day was attending my friends’ soccer game. I watched them fight the huge winds in a fun recreational league. I definitely need to be team manager and bring them orange slices from now on. And I want a whistle.

Post-game we all went to Red Mango (where I went last Sunday also!) but somehow I wasn’t in the mood for frozen yogurt. Who am I? Instead I just enjoyed the company and had a PB&J Lara bar when I got home.

And soon it was time for a family dinner out! My brother bought a groupon to Yemaja Brasil restaurant in Benton Park and tonight was honestly the first time in months that all four of us were able to eat together.

The restaurant isn’t a Brazilian steakhouse, but instead has tons of meat, fish, and vegetarian dishes with curry and coconut flavors. It is in a house and so the rooms are all separated and decorated with cool Brazilian paintings and trinkets. We were able to sit outside to enjoy the weather.

I started with a Brazilian pilsner that tasted a fair amount like Bud Light. I really liked it.

And for my entree I got the Portabella Racheedo: Jumbo Portabella mushroom with cashew stuffing topped with balsamic reduction; served with refogado vegetable sautee and finished with a side of brown rice and parmesan cheese.

My dinner came with a house salad, which had a sweet dressing and really yummy spiced croutons.

My dish was huge! The cashew filling of the portabella was a really strange gelatinous consistency which threw me off, but the flavor was sweet and delicious. The vegetable sautee wasn’t anything particularly special, but the rice was incredible!!

I ate half of my meal and boxed up the rest to take for lunch tomorrow. I really enjoyed Yemanja Brazil and would definitely go back to try some of the other great vegetarian options! The rest of my family agreed that it was very good food with interesting flavors.

Once home I had some tortilla chips and a Luna bar for dessert. I’m watching the Notre Dame women in the final four, but don’t think I’ll make it much longer! I need to make sure I get plenty of rest this week since my marathon is now LESS THAN A WEEK AWAY!! Hope you had a great weekend!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. McKena permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:29 pm

    Still loving the blog Clare! Gave me the good idea to make some sweet potato fries the other day.
    ‘Born To Run’ is an amazing book. If you want more info on barefoot running after reading it I’d go to birthdayshoes.com, they have a lot of good blogs/forums.

  2. Abby permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:51 pm

    I made sweet potato fries for dinner tonight too! lol. I’ve never tried Brazilian food. How exciting that you are less than a week away! πŸ™‚ I was wondering…do you know if there is a limit on the number of times a person can vote for your granola?

  3. April 3, 2011 9:53 pm

    i am brazilian πŸ™‚ that is so cute and i’m so jealous!!! :))

  4. April 3, 2011 10:00 pm

    I love Yemanja Brasil–I have gone there several times, in fact was there last night for caipirinhas (which I highly recommend).

  5. April 3, 2011 10:04 pm

    not in the mood for red mango?! No way!! And 90 degrees in St. Louis? Not fair..it was nice in Chicago..70!

  6. April 3, 2011 10:52 pm

    Oooh! I’ve never heard of a brazilian resturaunt! The rice looks really good! SO does the salad! I love sweet dressings! πŸ™‚

    That’s so good you got to go out to eat with your family! Your a beautiful family!

    You look so happy and gorgeous in the pic Clare! πŸ™‚

  7. April 4, 2011 2:18 am

    90 degree weather is making me a bit jealous! I live on a tropical island and it is cold here! They say this is the coldest winter ever in Okinawa….I guess it is preparing me for my move to Germany! That food is looking tasty! I am a huge cereal girl and I love Go Lean with Almond Milk, berries and stevia…sometimes, I throw in a little cocoa just for fun πŸ˜‰

  8. April 4, 2011 6:03 am

    That place sounds awesome!! I’ve never had Brazilian food but it sounds delicious.

  9. April 4, 2011 6:31 am

    I just discovered your blog! I cant wait to read more πŸ™‚

    My first thing on my mind when I woke up was cereal as well…. and of course I had some fruit with it πŸ™‚

  10. April 4, 2011 7:02 am

    You said Bud Light, my ears perked up – I’ve never been a beer girl but I’ve been liking BL a LOT lately! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for that pilsner!

  11. April 4, 2011 7:24 am

    I’ve never had Brazilian food, and I don’t think I’ve ever even seen a Brazilian restaurant around here! Yelp is going to help me find one though πŸ˜‰

  12. April 4, 2011 7:33 am

    oo tht sounds lovely!! ive never had brazillian before!! ewie for the gelled cashew filling though!

  13. April 4, 2011 7:42 am

    Sounds like a great weekend! Strawberries and cereal make for such a perfect summer bkfst!

  14. April 4, 2011 8:28 am

    This looks so yummy, I’ve never had Brazilian food! You look beautiful too- as always!

  15. April 4, 2011 9:54 am

    Being the meativore that I am, I love those Brazilian steakhouses. It’s a bit of a waste of money for me, though, since I can’t eat nearly enough to justify the $50. But it’s so delicious. (yay for Groupon!!!)

  16. April 4, 2011 12:50 pm

    ha I tried that same dish when I was there—I really liked the filling in the mushroom, definitely a creative dish!

  17. April 4, 2011 4:10 pm

    dude, i am so excited your marathon is finally here!!! i can’t wait to see how you do!!!

    and i’ve had brazillian food as ironically my small town has a restaurant with that kind of fair! everything is grilled and tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Four Things Monday « Fitting It All In
  2. Bridging The Seasons Salad « Fitting It All In
  3. 2011 Goals: April Review « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

