Skip to content

Bridging The Seasons Salad

April 5, 2011

This salad may look familiar to you.

I had it this past Sunday for lunch and have been craving it ever since, so I had it for dinner tonight as well. I rarely make salads at home so I was trying to figure out why this one was so appealing to me.

I think it’s that this salad is the perfect bridge between winter and spring. With the warmer spring weather I automatically crave lighter fare, but the cool evenings and random spouts of wintery backlash mean I’m not quite ready to give up my comfort foods. With this salad I get both: crisp fresh spinach leaves and sweet raspberry vinaigrette combined with roasted sweet potatoes and warm edamame.

I like to pair my salad with a Whole Wheat tortilla to sop up any extra hummus or dressing, and tonight I threw in half of a juicy grapefruit for dessert. With the complex carbs from the sweet potato, protein from the edamame, and healthy fats from the dressing and hummus, this salad is a filling and complete meal. And it’s just perfect for that period of weather indecisiveness that we’re currently experiencing.

Bridging The Seasons Salad

serves one

  • 2 large handfuls of raw spinach
  • 1/3 cup of edamame (I buy frozen)
  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 2 TBSP Annie’s Raspberry Vinaigrette (or other fruity dressing)
  • 1-2 TBSP hummus

Peal and dice sweet potato. Roast in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes. While sweet potato is roasting, place edamame in a bowl and microwave for one minute or until cooked through. Place spinach in a bowl and top with edamame and sweet potato. Drizzle on vinaigrette and place a dollop of hummus on top.

ENJOY!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 9:05 pm

    mm this actually looks like a salad I would enjoy. And I don’t really like salads, EVER!

  2. April 5, 2011 9:43 pm

    I love the idea of this!….especially since it was 70 degrees here yesterday and then snowed all day today! 🙂

  3. April 6, 2011 3:39 am

    Sweet potatoes and edamame make SUCH a good pair. This salad looks perfect!

  4. April 6, 2011 5:48 am

    delicious!! im eating a salad right now actualy! i got veggies, homemade vegan caesar dressing.. witha sammie thin and pistachios on the side!

  5. April 6, 2011 7:31 am

    So pretty! I think the sweet potato reminds me most of fall =)

  6. April 6, 2011 7:51 am

    I love roasted veggies on salads! Here’s a similar bnut squash one we love: http://www.thesweetslife.com/2011/02/roasted-butternut-squash-salad-with.html

  7. April 6, 2011 9:05 am

    Sweet potato and hummus make any plate of veggie absolutely delicious. This salad is a winner for sure!

  8. April 6, 2011 10:09 am

    I tried roasting a sweet potato for the first time yesterday. I put some honey and cinnamon on it then put it in a 375 oven. It took way too long and finally I gave up and ate it before it was as soft as I prefer. Next time I’ll try a 400 oven!

    Do you put anything on the potato before roasting?

Leave a Reply

