Skip to content

Is This What It Feels Like?

April 5, 2011

Last night I SLEPT. I mean I was out like a light and did not even move. I had been so exhausted from a night out on Saturday and then being awakened by thunderstorms on Sunday that I was extremely exhausted when the clock hit 11pm. I was freezing so I put on big socks, sweat pants, and a hoodie and climbed in bed. When my body clock naturally got me up at 6am, my hood was still up around my head and I hadn’t woken up once.

This is unheard of for me! I’m up at least twice a night to go to the bathroom (often times more) and I always end up taking off my sweatshirt or stirring around. It has seriously been years since I last slept through the night. It felt amazing!

It made me wonder though, is that what sleep is like for normal people? People that dont’ have to use eye masks and noise machines and have overactive bladders like me?

***********************

Last night my family went to our first Cardinal’s game of the season! It felt so great to be back in our seats at Busch, I only wish it hadn’t been so cold.

I was pretty excited to check out the new “healthy” dining options at the stadium, and bee-lined to the “Fresh Market” area to grab dinner. Turns out the veggie wrap they promoted was actually spinach artichoke dip and alfredo sauce in a white tortilla. #Fail.

Instead I went over to Dizzy’s Diner where I heard they had a new veggie burger. I’d asked in the past and knew their veggie chicken was fried, but was extremely disappointed to find their veggie burger was fried also. That’s just not necessary! But I had already purchased it and so had it for dinner.

 

When I got up to our seats I found that a new area near us actually serves fresh salads now. They had spinach or romaine, veggies, dried fruit, and a variety of dressings. Combined with the sweet potato fries I was eyeing, this could make an awesome dinner option in the future. I will be writing a suggestion, however, to include some chickpeas at the salad bar for vegetarian protein. They are much cheaper than the meat options they already provide, and cans of chickpeas don’t go bad! Maybe they’ll listen to me:)

After my veggie burger I stole a few bites of my mom’s pretzel and had a Luna Bar for dessert.

The Cardinals lost, the basketball game was the most boring one I’ve ever seen, and all in all it was a pretty lame night for sports. Don’t worry though, Notre Dame women will make up for it when they play in the championship game tonight!!

***********************

This morning I hit my gym for a quick and speedy two mile run. I cooled down with some walking and then did some arm weights. Taper mode in full effect. I felt like I was in and out!

OUTFIT:

I am a fan of mixing colors and actually really like the army green and coraly orange together.

 

BREAKFAST:

I only used half a banana whipped into my oats today because I have an early lunch again. I could totally tell the difference. Not nearly as much staying power.

Please continue to vote for my Mexican Hot Chocolate granola! You can vote more than once and the contest is open until April 16th. THANKS!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 2:31 pm

    a serious night of sleep is like SERIOUS. i had one this past weekend where i didn’t even pee once! i think it was because i didn’t drink a lot at night but still it was so worth every moment of shuteye!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the coral & green together 🙂

  2. April 5, 2011 2:36 pm

    Yay the Pirates won! That doesn’t happen very often. I’m excited for our home opener on Thursday – it’s supposed to be about 60 degrees. Don’t worry, the Cards ALWAYS have our number in the long run. =)

  3. applesnoats permalink
    April 5, 2011 2:51 pm

    i LOVE your boots!!!where did you get them?

  4. April 5, 2011 3:20 pm

    i LOVE some deep sleep!!! i got some last night too!! your outfit is so cute yet again!

  5. April 5, 2011 3:23 pm

    Ha ha… B lined it to the fresh market for dinner… You were probably chilled from that fresh air… Baseball, veggie burgers! I bet it hit the spot!
    Looking ravishing as always

    cheers

  6. April 5, 2011 3:27 pm

    I LOVE sleeping really well like that. It doesn’t happen to me often, but when it does I feel SO refreshed. I’m a total middle-of-the-night pee-er too.

  7. lauren permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:47 pm

    I usually crawl in to bed with sweats on but have to take them off after reading cause i know i’ll wake up at 2am feeling like im suffocating and throwing them off! I also can’t have anything to drink about an hour before bed otherwise i have CBS (crazy bladder syndrome 🙂 at some point in the middle of the night and then i’m grumpy haha. I haven’t checked yet but i’m pretty sure my MN twins lost last night too to those damn yanks! ps what brand of oatmeal do you use for your oats? I have the same quaker low sugar maple and brown sugar kind EVERY morning and I’m scared to switch it up but yours looks yummy and filling 🙂

  8. April 5, 2011 4:02 pm

    Hahaha at that “healthy” wrap. Not gonna lie, it sounds slightly delicious but definitely not at all healthy.
    Love the orange and green together. You always put together the nicest outfits!

    I usually wake up at least once or twice to throw off a sweater or to use the washroom. I LOVE getting in a full, uninterrupted night of sleep though. It’s so refreshing. It doesn’t seem to happen that often these days though. I think it really takes some complete exhaustion for a good solid night of sleep.

  9. April 5, 2011 4:02 pm

    I’m the same! I feel like such an old woman going to the bathroom multiple times a night. I never realized how much it messes with your sleep! I LOVE Busch stadium, when my grandma saw a Cards game there last summer, she cried, it was so cute!

  10. April 5, 2011 4:21 pm

    Ive never been a good sleeper. In fact last night I got out of bed at 2am and slept on the couch so I wouldnt wake my hubby up with all my tossing and turning. Owell. That just means I get to take naps during the day 🙂

  11. April 5, 2011 4:38 pm

    Target Field (the new(er) Twins Stadium) offers quite a few vegetarian options. Though I haven’t tried any and can’t speak to how good they are. I’m not sure there is any protein in the kabobs or stir fry, but I imagine the burrito and tacos have beans in them.

    The list includes things like: veggie dogs, veggie tacos, veggie stir fry, veggie kabobs, veggie burrito, cheese pizza and a veggie burger.

    That’s completely strange that the veggie burgers at your stadium are deep fried! I’ve never heard of that before. Around here they usually stick them on the flat top grill.

  12. April 5, 2011 5:04 pm

    Hahaha wow you literally just described a typical night sleep for me! I always wake up at least once to go pee, have to sleep with a really soft eye mask, ear plugs and a fan, just in case the the ear plugs don’t block out all the noise! Sleeping through the whole night must have been quite amazing 🙂
    Cute skirt too! Where is it from?

  13. April 5, 2011 5:17 pm

    Hello pretty lady! Love your outfit. I slept like a log last night too! Like you, I’m up and down all darn night usually. Yay for good sleep! 🙂

  14. April 5, 2011 5:30 pm

    oh , i cant wait to go to a MLB game!^.^ gotta drive down to seattle n watch the Mariners! hehe..LOVE,LOVE your army green n orange combo! ^.^ btw, you are gorgeous!!

    o0o0 i also wanted to let you know that I’m hosting a RAD giveaway! I’m giving away a HYPSTER BIKINI…they are one of a kind, and you def. wont find anyone rocking one of’em because they are brand new!! check out my blog 4 pictures & deets! it’ll be love at first sight, i promise!hehehe<3

  15. Abby permalink
    April 5, 2011 5:49 pm

    I love nights when I sleep like that! They are SO PRECIOUS! lol. I hope they listen to your chickpea suggestions! It would only be beneficial to their pocketbook as well! 🙂

  16. April 5, 2011 6:05 pm

    I rarely (RARELY) sleep through the night as well, but when I do it is an AMAZING feeling. Almost one of shock and surprise! =P
    Also… why does everyone feel the need to fry veggie burgers?! Rude. haha

  17. April 5, 2011 6:17 pm

    The veggie burger looks really good! And I love your outfit 🙂 You have some great style!

  18. April 5, 2011 6:39 pm

    Congrats on the awesome sleep. I am SO jealous!

    I ended up getting melatonin after your blog post and the convo we had about it, but don’t know how I feel about it! The nights I used it, I fell asleep quicker, but I woke up feeling so groggy and heavy those mornings. Did you have those side effects? How many mg are your pills?

  19. April 6, 2011 2:17 am

    OWW OWWW! This is definitly a favorite outfit of mine! I’m jealous of how incredibly sheek you always look!! Where do you shop? and where in the world do you get all your cute boots? shoes too!

    I love deep sleep!! I try not to drink a lot of water for bed and tha helps me make it through the night! 🙂

  20. Paulie D. permalink
    April 6, 2011 5:17 pm

    I’m sure you meant to write baseball game, not basketball game. At least the Cardinals won last night. I think the Cardinals were clobbered the last time I watched them at Busch Stadium, too. Congratulations to the Notre Dame women for reaching the NCAA Finals in basketball.

Leave a Reply

