Skip to content

Taper Oddities

April 6, 2011

Good morning! I took it pretty easy at today’s Bikram class to make sure I didn’t overstretch my hamstrings. I do that sometimes and it leaves them sore, which is the last thing I want before the big day. Today is my last real day of exercise except for maybe a mile or two on Saturday to loosen up my legs. I’m getting excited!!

OUTFIT:

I’m not usually a big vest person, but I thought this drapey one from Old Navy would be good for the boho / peasant styles this spring.

 

BREAKFAST:

A lighter yogurt bowl since I have an earlier lunch date.

In the mix:

  • 1 container Oikos 0% plain mixed with 1t chia seeds, 1T peanut flour, 1/2 packet stevia and a bit of water
  • 1/4 cup Kashi Go Lean
  • 1/2 Banana
  • Strawbs

 

Taper Oddities:

 

I was talking to LB (my best friend that’s also running the marathon with me) about how the taper is going this morning. We both found that even though we’re exercising less, we’re extra hungry. We also are both very tired even though we’re not waring ourselves out with vigorous exercise. Seems like everything is happening the opposite of how it’s supposed to! It’s definitely a strange time physically and psychologically, and we’re just going with it.

If any of you feel the strange desire to track me on Sunday, you can sign up to get text message updates sent to your phone. Just go to gostlouis.org and click on the “Track a Runner” tab on the right. Enter YOUR info first, then click next and enter my info. And then you can check your phone to see how much butt I’m kicking:)

Name: Clare Brady
Race Number: 1486

 

Question of the day:

  • If you could choose any US city to live in for one year only, what would it be?

My job moves me for one year only, and while I don’t get much of a choice in where I will be I have been thinking about where I would like to be. I’m thinking somewhere warmer than here! Atlanta? Austin? Tuscon? Savannah?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 10:51 am

    I’m so excited for your marathon/recap, can’t wait to see the end of the journey! I only tapered for a week for the half (and that’s a total different ball game that what you’re doing), but I was hungry allll the time, it was like my body knew I needed extra calories. If I could live anywhere for a year, I’d probably pick California. My dream job would be the work for E! but my desire to leave the east coast is somewhere around .2%, but I would love to try it out.

  2. April 6, 2011 10:58 am

    definitely somewhere in Cali!!

  3. April 6, 2011 11:01 am

    NYC! I loved it the one day I was there, but I have a feeling one year would be quite enough for me!

  4. April 6, 2011 11:07 am

    San Francisco or Chicago! Love your drapey top–good for you for trying something that isn’t “you”!

  5. April 6, 2011 11:08 am

    San Diego, except if I lived there for a year I am not sure I would want to leave! It is beautiful, sunny and always in the mid 70s 🙂

  6. April 6, 2011 11:21 am

    If I didn’t mind being away from my family, I’d LOVE to move to Arizona!

  7. April 6, 2011 11:26 am

    This is when it gets extra exciting.. the training is complete, and the race is almost over! Amazing photo!!!!!

    Cheers

  8. April 6, 2011 11:51 am

    I’d have to pick Chicago:)

  9. April 6, 2011 12:18 pm

    Good luck on Sunday! Hope the weather works out well!

  10. April 6, 2011 12:38 pm

    So exciting about your first marathon!! I just signed up for my first one!

    Good luck this weekend!

  11. April 6, 2011 12:47 pm

    ahhhh GOOD LUCK! im so excited for you- cute outfit yet again!!!!
    ooo i would live in Nashville!!!!

  12. April 6, 2011 12:49 pm

    Those are some serious oddities! Working out less, more hungry? Crazy! But I love that you are just going with it…I can’t wait to hear about your first marathon!

    I would love if you told us the specs of your outfits, like where each piece is from, or what the brand is! I really like those black pants!

  13. April 6, 2011 1:37 pm

    So excited for your race recap! I would
    Love to move somewhere south for awhile..florida or the carolinas would be nice

  14. April 6, 2011 1:41 pm

    Toss up between Charleston, SC and Santa Fe, NM. Both Amazing!

  15. Abby permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:50 pm

    I would pick somewhere warmer or on the coast. I think somewhere in North Carolina would be beautiful!

  16. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:53 pm

    good luck in the marathon!! I’m sure adrenaline and your solid training will take over and you will do wonderfully! 🙂

    I went to Austin for the first time last year with some college friends and loved it. Laid back, lots of live music, sunny/hot. What’s not to love?

  17. April 6, 2011 2:36 pm

    South Bend Indiana

  18. April 6, 2011 4:53 pm

    Happened to catch the subhead “Taper Oddities” as I was going through the tag surfer in WordPress. I’m going through the same thing right now as I get ready for my first marathon. Two bowls of cereal. Seconds for dinner. So unusual…yet fewer miles on the road to burn it off.

    Best of luck with the marathon this weekend. I’ll be lurching along the same path too–but hopefully not in the rain as the scary St. Louis forecast is predicting. Happy miles.

  19. Paulie D. permalink
    April 6, 2011 5:07 pm

    You and LB are first-time marathon runners, so just taper your workouts, monitor how you feel and rest your body for your 26.2-mile run Sunday. The key is that you are not complaining about any pain or injuries. It sounds like you’re just about ready for the race and an accomplishment that will last you a lifetime!

    As for moving for a year, I’d request Washington, D.C. There are so many monuments and free Smithsonian museums to check out, you will have lots of fun exploring. Plus, it is a quick bus trip of $20-$30 each way to New York and you could enjoy Internet connectivity to write your blog on those journeys. I almost forgot to mention the cherry blossoms each spring, which are blooming gloriously right now. If you want a warm weather escape, you can get fairly reasonably priced flights from one of three major airports (BWI, DCA and IAD). Let me know if you want to hear more about it.

  20. April 6, 2011 5:50 pm

    I will never live anywhere other than Northern California…but I’ve always wondered what living in Portland would be like!

  21. April 6, 2011 11:31 pm

    SAN DIEGO!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. Meg permalink
    April 7, 2011 2:50 am

    California, baby!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

