Skip to content

Cookies n Kale

April 7, 2011

Super interesting to hear all of your thoughts about vegetarianism and eating disorder recovery. I think the general consensus is that each situation is different. Ya’ll are smart cookies.

****************

My marathon taper hunger was in full force today and I ended up eating three cookies and a bag of sun chips after my normal lunch! When dinner time rolled around, all I wanted was NUTRIENTS. I had a big bin of kale to use and decided kale chips and a Green Monster sounded perfect. (BTW wouldn’t “cookies ‘n kale” be a cute blog name?)

I put about 1/2 a bin of chopped kale onto a sheet pan and then drizzled on ~ 2 T olive oil, sea salt, and come cheese seasoning. (The kind we have is called “Brady Street Sprinkle”!! It’s Penzies brand). I tossed this all around with my hands till each leaf was coated and then put it in a 375 degree oven.

15 minutes later they were all crisped up.

The kale shrinks in size a bunch so I actually had the whole pan with dinner. But the main course was a Berry Green Monster made with spinach, soy milk, kid’s berry Amazing Meal, vanilla protein powder, 1/2 banana, and frozen berries. It was almost overflowing! I placed some granola crumbles on top which provided an awesome crunch. I wanted more.

MMM! Smoothies are amazing. But then I ruined my healthy night with a bunch of Starbursts. My mom picked all the pink ones out of the bag already! 😦

****************

Current debates:

  • Marathon weather forecast is low of around 50, high of 80, possible thunderstorms. What do I wear?? I want to write my name on my shirt but don’t know if I’ll want short sleeves or long sleeves with the rain.
  • My marathon playlist! I went through my itunes and added TONS of songs to a playlist last night thinking I’d go back and edit it down. But then I only had 3.4 hours of music. It made me realize how freaking long I’m going to be running for. What songs should I add?

 

Keep entering that Crofter’s giveaway!!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 8:36 pm

    I am planning to wear a tank top for the half that morning. Last Saturday morning it was about 58 degrees at 9 am and I was fine outside in a tank. Maybe wear short sleeves with a throwaway top? I’m just worried about storms now!

  2. April 7, 2011 8:37 pm

    i LOVEEEE KALE!!! it is my favorite veggie! I just bought the chocolate amazing meal today, have you had it?– hoping it will be my chocolate fix for the day! 🙂

  3. April 7, 2011 8:38 pm

    I always think Peanut Butter ‘n’ Planks is a cute blog name. Tina did something right with the ” ‘n’ “. Maybe wear a long sleeve throw a way? I tossed mine to my mom when I lapped around the course because I heated up quickly.

  4. Abby permalink
    April 7, 2011 9:00 pm

    I think cookies and kale would be an adorable blog name! 🙂 I was starving today too it was so weird–I’m always really hungry on the days I lift weights it seems like! Does that happen to you?

  5. April 7, 2011 9:11 pm

    mmmm, i NEED to get some kale! i’ve been seeing other bloggers making kale chips a lot again recently and now i’m craving them.

  6. April 7, 2011 10:04 pm

    The kid’s amazing meal tastes SO much better than the adult version. I always take a few sips of Carter’s when I make it for him 🙂 And then I make one for me with the grown-up version and it just isn’t the same.

  7. Fat Cakes Pessler permalink
    April 7, 2011 10:08 pm

    Hey,

    You’re are obviously going to want to keep warm but if it does rain, its prob better to just get wet than to have wet clothes which will make you colder than you would be without the wet clothes. I suggest you wear the long sleeves maybe even a sweatshirt too and just toss ’em as you go. Its going to be cold early but after a good bit of running and a few hours to let the morning warm up, you wont need any of that. Also to keep cool once the temp starts to rise, throw lots of cold water at the water stations on your face, ears, and especially your HANDS. Lots of dialated blood vessels in these spots. just helping your body do what its already trying to do. Best of luck!

    Cakes

  8. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 7, 2011 10:17 pm

    my current fave running song: Dog Days Are Over, Florence and the Machine

    • lauren permalink
      April 7, 2011 11:44 pm

      agreed- i love running to this song! and katy perry and kanye’s ET song lol

  9. April 7, 2011 10:38 pm

    This is perfect timing! I have a challenge to make different snacks that I have always wanted to try and kale was on my list. Everything else I have found is in a dehydrator, this is great! I would wear short sleeves because you are going to be more hot than cool running. Song wise I would think back to what songs growing up make you jump out of your seat and you just had to dance. That is how I picked out my running list. Mine has lots of Cake, Birdhouse by they might be giants, and Tessie by Dropkick Murphys.

  10. April 8, 2011 12:00 am

    Isn’t it crazy how much kale shrinks in the oven? Sometimes I can’t believe my belly can hold so much kale (in chip form).

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    April 8, 2011 12:51 am

    Is it too weird to say I’ve never tried kale! Haha. I really have no intention to either. If I’ve tried it before then I probably didn’t know I was having it. 😛

  12. April 8, 2011 4:40 am

    If it’s going to be 80, wear short sleeves, 50 is quite nice! The Green monster looks pretty delicious, like chocolate pudding! Mmmm

    cheers

  13. April 8, 2011 5:14 am

    I foresee a “Cookies n’ Kale” blog surfacing in the not-so-distant future now 😛 That really would be a cute blog name! The kale chips look sooo good. I haven’t had kale in too long!

  14. April 8, 2011 6:33 am

    ahahah omg thats so funny.. already 3-4 hours and yet you need more! marathons are LONG!! get songs by tinie tempeh!!.. ooi lov kale! im eating some in my lunch salad right now!

  15. April 8, 2011 8:29 am

    I’m sad thinking about a bag of starbursts without the pink ones! For a while there they made a special pack of pink and red flavors that totally rocked my world!

  16. April 8, 2011 8:48 am

    I had kale chips last night too! And pink Starbursts are the ONLY ones I like, I’m with your Mom.

  17. April 8, 2011 9:46 am

    I would just layer accordingly and take off whatever you need (which easier if you aren’t wearing a pack like i do). if you don’t want to carry things, wear things you’d be willing to part with because i think they usually donate all clothes that are discarded during most races!

  18. Kait permalink
    April 8, 2011 9:50 am

    ya Brady Street Sprinkle! named after one of the coolest streets in my hometown Milwaukee!!

  19. April 8, 2011 10:06 am

    i frequently eat large batches of kale along with my dinner 🙂 my hubby and i fight over it, thats how much we both love it!

    i think you will want to go with shortsleeves for sure..maybe start with longsleeves but you’ll seriously get really hot…if its 50 deg or above i always wear shorts and a tshirt and sometimes find even then i’m too hot!

Leave a Reply

