Skip to content

Expo Night

April 8, 2011

After work today I went over to LB’s place so we could go to the Go! St. Louis Expo together. On the way there we picked up some friends that are also running. The expo wasn’t quite as great as I had hoped –there were a lot of shoe and clothing vendors but only a few granola bars to sample. We still had fun checking out all the running gear and hilarious shirts. Our favorites:

  • “I thought they said RUM”
  • “26.2 miles…what could go wrong?”

We were all psyched to see that the race shirts are NEON green too!

And after the expo it was dinner time! We went to a place that LB suggested called Three Monkey’s.

There was a veggie pasta on the menu that would have made perfect carbo-loading sense, but I had pizza on my mind after having a bite of John’s earlier today. Everyone said their pizza was amazing so LB and I decided to split a veggie. We both started with side salads.

And then went to town on this baby.

Our pizza had hand tossed crust and whole milk mozzerella with tomato, green pepper, zuchinni, and mushrooms. And LB said she found a single piece of broccoli. I had three slices.

I don’t eat pizza often, but when I do I like it to be the good kind.

my dinner dates: Andy, Kevin, LB

***********

I was pretty full from dinner, but frozen yogurt sounded SO good to me. I popped into YoMyGoodness on the way home and got a mix of mint, tart, and cake batter. I didn’t realize it before-hand, but the cake batter totally squashed the cupcake craving I’ve had all week!

I was a bit lost on what to do with toppings since I can’t have chocolate, so I went with waffle cone, mochi, and strawberries. I’d never had mochi before and I’m not sure I love it. It had a sort of gummy bear texture but the flavor weirded me out. I don’t even know what it is really!

*************

Now I’m settled into bed and going to watch Spirit Of The Marathon on Hulu until I fall asleep. I want to get to bed early so I can get up early tomorrow so that I can fall asleep early tomorrow and not be too exhausted when I have to get up early Sunday. Read that again. It makes sense I swear.

Happy Weekend!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 10:37 pm

    Love the race shirts they are so cute! Frozen yogurt self serve places are the best I always get the tart and mix it with other ones… cake batter is delish !

  2. April 8, 2011 10:47 pm

    That last paragraph sounds like something I’d say to my boyfriend and he’d look at me like I had 10 heads, but yes it made perfect sense. Those race shirts are a great color, remind me of Gabriela’s shorts she blogged about earlier this week.

    • Abby permalink
      April 9, 2011 11:39 am

      I totally agree abou the boyfriend part of your comment! lol. I think it makes perfect sense as well. I follow that kind of sleep schedule quite often! 🙂

  3. April 8, 2011 11:24 pm

    My brother, one of my friends and I were just discussing mochi before I read your post! My brother (who has lived in Japan) says it’s originally Japanese and it’s made out of rice. I thought it tasted like gummy bears too when I tried it at Pink Berry one time. Your pizza looks just like my carbo-loading dinner from my half-marathon in March! I hope it’ll bring you success!

  4. April 9, 2011 1:44 am

    I love expos….possibly my favorite part of the race(except for the post run meal if course)

  5. April 9, 2011 3:49 am

    I watched Spirit of the Marathon before mine too!
    Love the shirts. Have an awesome run!!

  6. April 9, 2011 5:51 am

    Oh my gosh, Clare, that pizza has me drooling! YUM!!

    So excited for your MARATHON!!!!!!

  7. April 9, 2011 7:04 am

    The last sentence makes perfect sense to me 🙂 You must be SO pumped for tomorrow!!

  8. April 9, 2011 7:08 am

    I’m so excited for you, Clare! I know you’re going to rock the marathon!

  9. April 9, 2011 8:03 am

    Neon green is a neat colour for race shirts! That pizza looked delicious, did you two go to town and polish that puppy off? Pizza is also great Carbs so it’s win, win!
    I don’t find race expo have a lot to offer most.

    Cheers!

  10. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 9, 2011 10:35 am

    Totally agree about the pizza… I don’t eat it often but when I do it’s ‘go big or go home.’ And as much as I love flatbread/wrap/english muffin “pizzas” they’re definitely no substitute for the real deal.

    About mochi: I swear I’ve seen chocolate mochi ice cream or something like that at Trader Joe’s. I’m going to investigate exactly what the heck it is… Will report back! 😉

  11. April 9, 2011 11:27 am

    Great shirts!

  12. Abby permalink
    April 9, 2011 11:40 am

    Ahh! So excited for your race to finally be here! I love those shirts! Lime green is my favorite! 🙂

  13. April 9, 2011 12:06 pm

    I am so jealous of your self-serve frozen yogurt, we don’t have anything like that around here (northeast MA) but when I visit my grandparents in the south, it’s one of the activities that is required we do 🙂

  14. April 9, 2011 10:33 pm

    so excited for your race!!! you’re going to do great!

  15. April 10, 2011 7:44 am

    love the shirts.. im so excited for you, in fact you are running it RIGHT NOW! i cant wait to hear all about it. so inspiring, i have a feeling your going to make me want to run one myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

