Skip to content

I Promise To Stop Talking About…

April 9, 2011

Another day, another Fitnessista breakfast recipe.

After a quick 2 mile run to loosen up my legs this morning I decided Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal was what my belly wanted. Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal uses the same ingredients as a breakfast cookie, except with more milk so it can be eaten as cereal instead of just a little milk to form it into a dough. Same as with the cookie, I started but combining 1/3 cup oats, 1T vanilla protein powder, and 1 spoonful of almond butter. You just mix and mush with a spoon until there aren’t anymore clumps of almond butter. Then I sliced 1/2 a banana on top.

Then I just poured 1 cup of soy milk on top and dug in. This is absolutely delicious and even though the portion size is much smaller than I would normally eat for cereal, the almond butter and oats are extra filling.

I ate my cereal while finishing Spirit Of The Marathon since I feel asleep less than 20 minutes in last night. Such a great movie to watch before a race! I definitely teared up as the runners crossed the finish line. I was thinking how great it would be to have my parents watch this movie so that they understood more about why I love to run, except then I realized that would kind of be like asking me to watch a documentary on wrestling. Just totally uninterested.

{sidenote: my mom told me this morning that if my dad seems crabby about me running this marathon, it’s actually because he’s worried about me, not because he doesn’t “get” running or doesn’t want to get up early. Last night he asked her what they would do if I got hurt or passed out somewhere along the course and they didn’t know how to find me. My heart kind of melted. }

Anyhoo, next project was getting my marathon shirt ready. The forecast doesn’t have rain anymore (woohoo!!) but it is supposed to be in the 70s with 20 mph winds. A short sleeved shirt is definitely necessary, so I pinned my race bib onto a green one and ironed on my name for optimal cheering potential. To any local readers: please say hi if you see me!!

Lunch time rolled around and the only thing that sounded good on this 80 degree day was a smoothie. I made my normal berry Green Monster and drank it outside. For some chewing effect I had a tortilla with hummus and then an entire bag of dried mango. Addictive! At least it’s fruit, right?

Time to finalize that playlist. I’m getting so nervous! Thanks for all of your awesomely supportive comments thus far:)

source Saw this on Evan’s blog. Appropriate, right?

 

  • Do your friends and family “get” your hobbies? Whether it’s a physical activity, cooking, or something else?

Most of my family and friends, with the exception of a few fellow runners like LB, don’t necessarily “get” why I love distance running. I think it’s something you can only truly understand if you’ve done it. But I think they admire it, which is nice!

As for the vegetarian thing, very few get that either. They just accept and respect it, which is all I can ask for.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 2:41 pm

    LOVE cookie dough cereal! I make it at least 5 times a week and switch between chocolate chip cookie dough and oatmeal raisin cookie dough. Yum. I eat it for dinner sometimes, too 🙂 I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to hear about your experience!! You’ve worked so unbelievably hard for this marathon – you’ll do great!! Make sure you take a pic of you in your marathon outfit before you leave – it will probably be one of your favorite and most appreciated ensembles 🙂 Good luck!

  2. April 9, 2011 2:52 pm

    Yaaaaay it’s finally time!!good luck your gonna do awesome an it sounds like perfect weather too!

  3. April 9, 2011 2:53 pm

    My family and even my friends don’t really get my hobbies. People think it’s weird that I’m vegan and get excited over vegetables but that’s why I have a blog! 🙂

  4. April 9, 2011 3:25 pm

    i can’t believe your marathon is already here! good luck tomorrow – you’ll do great! i can’t wait to read about it!

  5. April 9, 2011 3:35 pm

    You have trained hard, and will do great!
    The breakfast cookie cereal, what a brilliant idea!! Mmmmm
    70’s are almost optimal running conditions…

    Great idea ironing your name on your shirt!

    cheers

  6. April 9, 2011 3:44 pm

    You are going to be AMAZING tomorrow!!! Try to relax and rest and tomorrow. Just think of it this way….you are so busy every single day that you hardly have a moment to think. Tomorrow, you’ll be able to enjoy a few hours of nothing with your music, your thoughts, and the beautiful earth. It’s going to be glorious!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    April 9, 2011 3:46 pm

    I’d like to consider journalism/writing my hobby of sorts. My dad doesn’t get it too much since he’s an Engineering and everything is Physics to him, haha. But when I was a swimmer– my whole family got that because I was younger and they’d take me / attend my swim meets, etc. Also, my brother was a swimmer too so it’s kinda a family thing.
    Best of luck tomorrow girl!!!

  8. April 9, 2011 3:49 pm

    Thankfully my dad and brother also love running – so I don’t have to worry about them not getting it.
    Good luck tomorrow!!

  9. Uncle John and Aunt Jo permalink
    April 9, 2011 4:04 pm

    Good luck tomorrow, Clare. We know you will do great. We have your link so will keep track of you. The Twin Cities crew is proud of you.

    Aunt Jo and Uncle John

  10. April 9, 2011 5:17 pm

    I really like this post. I was into equestrian sports all through middle school and high school. My parents were supportive (in an economic sense, I suppose), but they never “got” it. They were thrilled when I finally quit my senior year of high school. They’re more supportive of running now, but whenever I mention riding again, they don’t listen. And they are supportive of my pescetarian food habits, which kind of surprises me, since they are pretty big meat eaters!

  11. April 9, 2011 5:27 pm

    Aww of course your dad is worried about you! Very sweet. Can’t believe your marathon is so soon! You will ROCK IT!

  12. April 9, 2011 5:41 pm

    I’m so excited for you to get out there and run that thing… you’re going to be awesome, I know it!! My family is slowly starting to come around to the idea of me loving to run, which I’m very happy about. Family support is so important- love what your mom said about your dad!

  13. April 9, 2011 5:48 pm

    Hey! Good luck on your marathon tomorrow! I know you are a recent college graduate who works and lives at home at home. That will most likely be me in a few short months, and I would love to hear your thoughts on working and living at home, transitioning from living on your own to living with your parents, and returning to your hometown now that you are an “adult.” I know you are busy, but I would appreciate any insight:)

  14. April 9, 2011 5:49 pm

    ahh im so excited for yoU!! my fam definitely gets my acitvies. we are ALL VERY active and have always been so they all get it!

  15. April 9, 2011 5:49 pm

    Yay!!! I’m sooooo excited for you 🙂 You’re going to kick some major booootay!!! xoxo

  16. McKena permalink
    April 9, 2011 6:39 pm

    Good luck tomorrow! Knock the marathon’s socks off (just not your own haha, terrible joke)!

  17. April 9, 2011 6:50 pm

    GOOD LUCK!! I can’t wait to read all about it! My family and friends don’t really “get” my love for eating healthy (most of the time) and exercise. But, hey, they still like me – so I can’t complain too much 😉

  18. April 9, 2011 10:34 pm

    my parents worry about my running too. always want to know where i am when i’m running!

  19. April 10, 2011 8:48 am

    I feel like you have been training for this marathon FOREVER! I cant believe its here! I am SO excited for you and I think its really sweet that your dads worried but im sure he knows you TRAINED for this monster and YOU GOT IT!
    Love the shirt!

  20. April 10, 2011 12:08 pm

    Love the breakfast cookie cereal 🙂 And congrats on the day finally being here!! Kick butt 😀

Leave a Reply

