Skip to content

The Aftermath

April 11, 2011
tags:

I checked my race results officially:

15th place in the women’s 20-24 division? Nice! It says that 1909 runners finished but I know the marathon was open to 3000 runners so I wonder how many didn’t make it to the end.

**************************

I’ll pick up where I left off yesterday. After meeting my family at the finish line we took lots of pictures, popped champagne with my friends, and talked a little bit about the run. There was a band and a bunch of vendors, but my main interested was getting stretched out and the wait was 30 minutes for that. I didn’t feel like waiting so we walked to the car to head home

My stomach was off all day. Absolutely nothing sounded good to eat and lots of foods sounded really bad. I wanted to get something in my system so I decided on my usual post-run Berry Green Monster.

I drank most of this while taking an ice bath. I just dumped a huge bag of ice into the bath tub and filled it a few inches with water before getting in with my clothes still on. The water wasn’t actually “freezing” and my mom ended up adding a bit more ice for me, but hopefully it was still cool enough to reduce swelling and help out my muscles.

After a real shower I was heading to get a much-needed pedicure, but made myself something to eat first. Again absolutely nothing sounded good, but an egg sandwich didn’t sound awful so I went with that. One over easy egg with “cheeze”, avocado, and salsa on toast.

Then I got my feet prettied! It actually kind of hurt when she was scrubbing my toes, but they feel so much better now. And I still have all my toenails!

Immediately when I got home I grabbed some leftover roasted sweet potato to snack on. I dumped a bunch of cinnamon on top too. People were just starting to arrive to a family party we were having for out-of-town guests, but dinner wasn’t going to happen for another hour or so.

Dinner happened to be pretty meat heavy. It was a sort of “taste of St. Louis” theme with toasted ravioli, mostaccioli from the Italian part of town called The Hill, and Ted Drewes ice cream. The only thing I could eat was the salad, but it tasted pretty good to me. I made a huge plate of salad and had it with a tortilla before going back for seconds. It was smothered in dressing, crutons, and cheese so I think I got some fairly good calories out of it.

x2

 

And as my treat for the night I got an ice-cold Bud Light and a 26.2 cupcake we picked up from one of the vendors after the race! So cute, right? I almost didn’t want to eat it.

Sadly the ice cream was gone by the time I went to get some, but I snacked on about 1/2 a bag of Stacy’s Pita Chips which was probably better for me anyway. And it made me think of Allie🙂

A few people were still over at 10pm but I needed to head up to bed. I was actually almost uncomfortably full from eating so much which is so strange because I usually can’t get enough after long runs. I’m thinking maybe I’ll just be extra hungry for the next few days. I just hope my appetite for yummy foods comes back!

And thus concludes the day of my marathon.

**********************

I’m planning on doing a post on the Go! St. Louis Marathon experience as well as a post on my experience with Marathon training and running in general. If you have any questions please ask! I’ll try to focus on the emotional, physical, and mental aspects and include how it affected my social life and relationships.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 7:57 am

    I’d love to hear about how you incorporated strength training (mainly legs) into your routine. I’d love to train for a marathon, but my calves get pretty tight and sore after 10 miles and I know I need to build up that strength first or risk injury.

  2. April 11, 2011 7:58 am

    I love getting my feet prettied 🙂 and what a cute cupcake.

  3. April 11, 2011 8:11 am

    I love that you ice-bathed with your medal on!!! Congrats again, girl! 🙂

    • Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
      April 11, 2011 8:15 am

      That’s what I was going to say! haha

  4. April 11, 2011 8:17 am

    Great job! And that cupcake is super cute.

  5. April 11, 2011 8:23 am

    So awesome girl. Congrats. That must be such a awesome feeling!! 🙂

  6. April 11, 2011 8:46 am

    15th overall! That is amazing! I remember following my first, I headed directly to a resteraunt serving breakfast, and chowed down… You deserve to live the moment for atleast a few more days… You will always remember that race!

    cheers

  7. April 11, 2011 9:15 am

    Congrats on such an impressive finish!

  8. April 11, 2011 9:25 am

    Congratulations! You did awesome! 🙂

  9. April 11, 2011 9:43 am

    WOW 15th is so good!!! congrats Clare- sounds like a very happy day!

  10. April 11, 2011 9:54 am

    That cupcake is too cute! That’s so weird that all food sounded gross – that’s no good ! I hope it’s better today! 🙂

  11. April 11, 2011 11:09 am

    I love love love that cupcake- such fun way to celebrate! I’m impressed you stayed up till 10, the only thing I usually wanted to go after a long run was sleep!!

  12. Paulie D. permalink
    April 11, 2011 12:03 pm

    You had a really nice post-race plan, with lots of great support from family and friends. Based on the feedback from your bloggers, you also had far more supporters than you may have realized.

  13. Abby permalink
    April 11, 2011 12:51 pm

    Congrats again girly! I always get a pedicure every two weeks after my long run! It is the best feeling! 🙂

  14. April 11, 2011 1:11 pm

    Wow, your time was awesome!! Congrats 🙂

    Did you have fun showing off your medal at the party?

  15. April 11, 2011 2:28 pm

    My stomach felt the same way all day! After the ice bath, real shower, and packing up, we headed out to eat, everybody thinking I was going to be ravenous…but truth be told, I thought I was going to throw up while we were waiting for a table. My tummy was definitely wonky! It settled down a bit after some bread that had been set at the table, but my appetite was wayyy off and hasn’t done much today either. We will probably be hit with major cravings tonight or tomorrow and blow everybody away! Haha!

    There is no way I could have had a pedi yesterday…my feet felt like they were on fi-yah! Especially my toes. But they look so pretty! I didn’t lose any toenails either, but one on each foot are black.

    Oh, and the Ted Drewes thing made me think… Yesterday just past a water station, there were tons of water and gatorade cups everywhere all over the side of the street, and amidst all these crumpled cups was a TD ice cream cup! It just looked so out of place that I had to laugh at the idea of someone getting a big ole cold cup of TD’s to chow down on while we were all doing our best just to drink water! I’m sure it was there by accident, but it made me smile, anyway. And did you see the guys handing out Stag?? Oh my word, I would have lost it right there if I had taken some, I saw some people drinking it! Haha, that cracked me up!

  16. April 11, 2011 4:21 pm

    I wasn’t very hungry the day of the marathon, but for the next 3-4 days, I was famished all the time!

    I couldn’t have imagined getting a pedicure after my marathon. I had several blisters and 7 of my toenails eventually fell off. It was bad!

  17. April 11, 2011 9:01 pm

    15th! AWESOME, you seriously owned that race! I LOVE your ice bath face! I imagine mine would be VERY similar 🙂
    That cupcake is way to cute! If i ever run a marathon im making myself the same cupcake 😉

  18. April 11, 2011 11:33 pm

    I can’t believe I’m just getting to read this!!! CONGRATS ON FINISHING LADY!!!!! I’m so happy for you!! Such a great accomplishment!!

  19. April 13, 2011 10:06 am

    In case you haven’t finished writing the post yet, I’d also love to know what your running plans are now? Are you gonna keep up the mileage or work on something else next?

Leave a Reply

