Skip to content

The Real Thing

April 12, 2011

My body is TIRED. I got a good 9 1/2 hours of sleep last night and I am still yawning today. Thankfully my legs are almost 100% back to normal. Well except for the sweet capri tan lines I have.

Sexy. But for real, I have a little bit of soreness in my inner thighs but everything else is back to normal. I did a 10 minute stretching video this morning and think I may attempt some light elliptical tomorrow. It’s recommended, especially for first time marathoners, to do a sort of “reverse taper” where I take at least two full days of rest and then very slowly build up with exercise.

OUTFIT:

Sometimes my boss and I dress strategically at work, and today was one of those days. When we present new shoe concepts that might not go over well we try to wear an outfit that they would go with or that demonstrates their style. Today I was trying to show that mixing prints is okay!

FOOD:

Today’s breakfast was my first time making real overnight oats . Usually I just mix cereal with yogurt and call it overnight oats, but not today. Today I went with the real thing. I even had a near empty almond butter jar so I could make real overnight oats in a jar!

In the mix:

  • 1 near empty jar of Trader Joe’s Almond Butter
  • 1/3 cup 0% plain Oikos
  • 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1/3 cup raw oats
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/2 packet stevia

Toppings:

  • ~ half a banana
  • 4 sliced strawberries
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

All mixed up…

With toppings…

After spending the night in the fridge, my oats were doughy, creamy, and sweet. And I love getting chunks of almond butter by surprise:)

 

Lunch was one leftover enchilada with a side of asparagus and some cherry tomatoes. I also had an apple sauce for dessert.

Mission now is to not go crazy even though my email won’t load. I’m pumped to go to a celebratory dinner tonight with the other girls that ran this weekend! And I’m going to get that marathon training post up as soon as possible, but I want to make sure it’s thorough so give me a few days. I’m loving all the questions you guys are leaving in the comments.

Question:

  • What’s the weirdest tan line you’ve ever had?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 2:16 pm

    I’m excited to read about the entire marathon experience! love the shorts tan, as soon as it gets warmer here I know I’ll have a shirt socks and tank top tan 😛

  2. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 12, 2011 2:24 pm

    Sunglasses tan line! HAHAHA. I wish I were kidding.

  3. April 12, 2011 2:28 pm

    I do the same thing and call them over night oats, but I need to try out “real” over night oats… just waiting for the next nut butter jar, which will probably be real soon knowing me.

  4. April 12, 2011 2:30 pm

    love the skirt! where’s it froM?

  5. April 12, 2011 2:57 pm

    As always your outfit is adorable!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    April 12, 2011 3:04 pm

    I was a swimmer all my life until freshman year in college. Girl, I had tan lines all over. I guess the worst ones were my raccoon eyes from my google tan…haha. Sexy!

  7. April 12, 2011 3:19 pm

    When I was younger the swimsuit I was wearing didn’t block any of the suns rays so I had the design of the bathing suits (think polka dots) all over my torso. Thankfully I was 6…

  8. April 12, 2011 3:29 pm

    Haha, you EARNED those tan lines girl. 🙂

  9. April 12, 2011 4:00 pm

    AHHlove awk tan lines!! i used to get high sock ones from softball- high socks and shorts equals a middle awk leg tan !

  10. April 12, 2011 4:13 pm

    what a precious outfit!

  11. April 12, 2011 4:31 pm

    The weirdest tan line I have received was when a friend and me brilliantly decided to put our hands on the other person’s back while lying at the beach. We then stayed like that for quite awhile and yep you guessed it, had pretty ugly hand tans on our lower backs! I really have no idea why I ever thought this was a good idea 🙂

  12. Abby permalink
    April 12, 2011 4:35 pm

    That skirt is so cute! Love it! And I agree with the above comment–you earned those tan lines! 🙂

  13. oatsandspice permalink
    April 12, 2011 4:58 pm

    When I lived in Florida down at a tennis academy during high school, I had THE ABSOLUTE worst tennis tan lines ever! I eventually just gave up on trying to tan my stomach haha

  14. April 12, 2011 5:02 pm

    For one of the fraternity’s Derby Day, all the sororities have to perform a dance and my sorority’s theme was kind of a doctor/hospital theme (“Keepin’ the Derby Alive” since we had won the previous few years), so out in the hot sun ALL DAY on the Saturday of Derby Day, I had a band-aid on my face as part of my costume. I got sunburned and I had the mark of a band-aid on my face for about a week after that! So embarrassing. Of course I was a freshman too which made it seem so much more dramatic!

  15. April 12, 2011 5:27 pm

    love the tan lines haha I always get the worst ones… your outfit is adorable love the mixing prints I need to be brave and do that!

  16. April 12, 2011 5:57 pm

    i feel like you neeeeed to treat your self to the ULTIMATE spa day!!! get a massage a mani a PEDI! and relaaaaaaaax 🙂

  17. April 12, 2011 6:06 pm

    Lol I hate when I get weird tan lines from being outside or what not. Love the adorable outfit.

    Yummy overnight oats! My favorite part is definitely scraping the nut butter off the bottom and sides 😀

  18. April 12, 2011 6:49 pm

    I don’t tan… 😦 But I love, love, LOVE the shoes you’re wearing! What brand are they?

  19. April 12, 2011 7:50 pm

    You are so adorable! I love your outfit. We had a training & development day at lululemon today and spent some time outside by the pool – TERRIBLE tan lines on my back. Ha – I’m going to have to find time to even it out.

  20. April 12, 2011 8:06 pm

    I have had way too many ridiculous tan lines; that’s what working at a barn can do to you! haha. Farmer’s tans all summer long? Check.
    I love the outfit, too! Super cute shoes :]

  21. April 12, 2011 8:12 pm

    You make that outfit look good!!!!! As you always do… You got quite the tan and you will be sore for a few days… Wait till your first run following the marathon… You may bounce back quicker though 🙂

    Cheers

  22. April 12, 2011 8:18 pm

    I have a friend who was in field hockey, and they have to wear these legging style guards around their legs, and they get the funkiest tan lines! Haha! And I also know one guy who always had a goggles tan line because he went swimming a lot.

  23. April 12, 2011 10:32 pm

    Those are some SWEET tan lines!! hahah You worked hard for them 😉

    Really cute outfit, Im a fan!

    I love overnight oats ESP in a JAR! I have tons of open jars right now because im a crazy flavored peanut butter fanatic, it takes a while to use up a full jar because i bounce back and forth but then its worth it when its OAT READY! yuummmmmm

  24. April 12, 2011 11:22 pm

    hahahhaa…i have every tan line that’s ever been made! i still have some from high school that refuse to go away…every strap or bra made has left it’s mark!

  25. Natalie permalink
    April 13, 2011 6:47 am

    Congrats again on the marathon! You did awesome. I love your skirt!

    The weirdest tanline I’ve ever had was from the arm band of my iPod case when I ran my first half marathon.

Trackbacks

  1. Local Harvest Cafe « Fitting It All In
  2. Fashion Rules…or Not? « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

