Skip to content

Fashion Rules…or Not?

April 13, 2011

I’m gonna let you in on a little secret: I was dreading going to the gym this morning. I’ve started to really enjoy sleeping until I wake up, laying in bed and listening to my IIN Fundamentals, and getting ready in my own bathroom. It’s kind of nice to not be able to work out.

But my body felt fine and I knew it was time to get back on the bandwagon. I set my alarm for 6:30 and hit the gym for 45 minutes of light elliptical (level 6) and some ab work. And of course once I was there I loved it! I’m really craving some hard strength workouts. I want DOMS!  Unfortunately my gym doesn’t offer any weight training classes that fit my schedule. If anyone  has any great workouts for me to do on my own, please pass them on to me.

OUTFIT:

I don’t really believe in fashion rules. No white after Labor Day? No mixing black and brown? Not my thing. I wanted to wear my white jeans today so I did.

Jeans: J Brand from TJ Maxx, Shirt: J Crew, Scarf: Old Navy, Shoes: Bakers

BREAKFAST:

I made a similar overnight oats mix to yesterdays, except used a little bit of water instead of the soymilk to thin it out and topped it with mandarin oranges instead of strawberries. Since I didn’t have an almond butter jar I sprinkled a few toasted walnuts on top. It just never tastes as good when it’s not oats in a jar!

Work time! I realized that my company my have actually blocked my personal email which makes me not happy. I’ll deal though!

Question:

  • Do you follow the traditional fashion rules?
30 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:08 am

    I love your jeans! How long ago did you get them? I’ve been dying to find new non-denim bottoms!

    • April 13, 2011 10:10 am

      Well they ARE denim, but they are white so it’s hard to tell! I got them about a year ago…just a random TJ Maxx Find!

  2. April 13, 2011 10:09 am

    oh I do have some great workouts!

    Go to my website: http://fitnesshealthandfood.com/

    and check out the strength training workouts: http://fitnesshealthandfood.com/category/workouts/strength/

    I also have cardio and yoga. I’ll be adding more each week! 🙂

  3. April 13, 2011 10:20 am

    Super cute. Love the pop of color with the scarf.

  4. April 13, 2011 10:20 am

    Love your outfit! I am on the lookout for a pair of white pants like those… I have a pair of skinny jeans that are white but I would rather a pair of flare or boot cut… White skinny jeans dont always flatter your figure as much 😦 haha

  5. April 13, 2011 10:29 am

    I have a strength training workout on my blog that my boyfriend made me; he’s a physical therapist and I saw results and increase in strength in no time! He’s coming up with a new one for me now, which I’ll post soon. I agree, I don’t follow rules. Black and brown are neutrals, they can always be worn together in my head.

  6. April 13, 2011 10:32 am

    I love your outfit! And that breakfast looks delicious. I use to follow fashion rules with the whole “not mixing silver and gold jewelry” but I do that all the time now. I love gold watches but I wear everything else silver 😀

  7. April 13, 2011 10:43 am

    Looking way cute as always! I love the white jeans with your shoes and the bright pop of the scarf. Super fun for spring 🙂

  8. April 13, 2011 10:46 am

    You look awesome Clare and I love how you said you were “dreading” going to the gym. Sometimes the things that make us feel the best, like working out, eating properly, educating ourselves, and personal developement…all seem so overwhelming if we attack them all at once or look at the whole picture but when we break it down and tackle one task at a time we truly feel amazing! You exercised, ate nutritiously, educated an inspired us….you are the best. Thank you for sharing!

  9. Abby permalink
    April 13, 2011 10:48 am

    The only traditional rule I really follow with fashion is not mixing brown and black. I don’t like mixing navy with black either.

  10. April 13, 2011 10:52 am

    Love the outfit! I don’t follow fashion rules and think the no white rule is ridiculous. I guess the only rule I follow is no wearing underwear outside your clothes!

  11. April 13, 2011 11:19 am

    Nice jeans! I am a HUGE fan of scarfs so Im loving yours. Very nice combination! Great job on getting to the gym this morning. Im still trying to change my gym schedule from afternoons to mornings but it is so hard! Any tips on how to make waking up easier will be greatly appreciated :D. Have a nice day!

  12. April 13, 2011 11:34 am

    I like your jeans, and only listen to a few of the fashion “rules!” I don’t think I could ever wear jean on top and bottom!
    For great, kick your booty workouts, I would look at the ones on Bodyrock.tv. There are a bunch there and they specialze in making home workout videos that are quick but get you exhausted! Janetha from Meals and Moves and the Fitnessista use this site, which is where I got the idea.
    If you do try it out, be prepared for some ripped ladies teaching you the moves that practically have their boobs poppin out of their shirts! lol its kinda funny… 😀

  13. April 13, 2011 12:00 pm

    I recommend reading the book “The New Rules of Lifting for Women”….I just finished reading it and thought it was SO informative and really inspired me to lift more (I’ve already seen major improvements in my fitness and shape since I started balancing cardio with lifting but now I’m even more jazzed!). It lays out a 6 month program that I plan to start following once I join my new gym (I just moved). Lately I’ve been lifting at home, I really like the Biggest Loser Boot Camp video and Power Sculpt video as well as Jillian’s No More Trouble Zones.

  14. April 13, 2011 12:01 pm

    Love the white jeans, I wore mine last week. I don’t believe in fashion “rules”, I say wear whatever. And I mix certain browns with black all the time. So many shades are great together!

  15. April 13, 2011 12:05 pm

    I vote yes on breaking fashion rules (and not just because I wore white chinos yesterday, haha)

  16. April 13, 2011 1:19 pm

    Cute outfit! White on white is such a hard look to pull off, and you do it flawlessly…and the scarf is a perfect touch. NICE JOB. 😀

    Girl, you should be so happy you get to set your alarm at 6:30 to workout…my alarm goes off at 4:45! By 6:30, I have to be done working out, done showering and dressed/ready, and out the door to drive to school! But really, I’m just jealous. 🙂

  17. April 13, 2011 1:22 pm

    yay for IIN Fundamentals!!! Some [most] of them are soo interesting! I love that outfit, very “think spring-ey” I love to mix brown with black, add some pearls and it looks very classy! As for white, I wear it all year round. It adds some light to the dark days of winter 🙂

  18. April 13, 2011 3:20 pm

    oh heck no! i just wear what i want!!! your outfit looks great!! SO DOES your breakki!!!!!

  19. April 13, 2011 3:51 pm

    I make my own rules 🙂 You look gorgeous in white, love those jeans! I’m always terrified of spilling something on white pants!

  20. April 13, 2011 4:12 pm

    You should wear white all the time, it suits you! It is easy to get out of the routine… and get lazy… The strong willed jump back into the grind and take on the next challenge, as you have!

    Cheeers

  21. April 13, 2011 5:04 pm

    I don’t pay any attention to fashion whatsoever. But I guess it’s because I really have no sense of fashion. My clothes never match and I rarely wear makeup these days. But I’m perfectly okay with that 🙂

  22. April 13, 2011 6:03 pm

    You are seriously so gorgeous! And I LOVE your white outfit. I’ve never been one for fashion rules, especially when it comes to white jeans and shoes. I say rock it year round!

  23. April 13, 2011 7:18 pm

    I don’t play the fashion rules game too much – the rules are always changing! I have one personal rule: The outfit has to be flattering. Easy enough!

  24. April 13, 2011 8:05 pm

    i wish the rain would stop here so i could make a smoother transition into spring! boo.

  25. applesnoats permalink
    April 13, 2011 8:24 pm

    iv been looking for a pair of white pants but i cant find any that are flattering:(
    also, try nike training club….you can download it onto your itouch or iphone and it has some good ones on there

  26. April 13, 2011 8:24 pm

    such a cute outfit! i am just too messy to ever attempt anything with a white bottom, but i’m all about ignoring fashion rules.

  27. April 14, 2011 8:20 pm

    I dont follow any type of fashion rules, i like what i like and i rock it! You look adorable and im so jealous of how good look you look in white jeans

  28. Paulie D. permalink
    April 15, 2011 6:06 pm

    Cute outfit, Clare. You look great in white jeans.

  29. Eli permalink
    June 19, 2011 7:48 pm

    My wife is struggling with the whole black/brown thing right now, especially after having gone out last week and bought two different black blazers. She has never mixed the two; neither do I, but that’s cause I’m a guy, and therefore I’m not good with fashion…so for me adhering to rules keeps me from leaving the house dressed like an idiot. I try to explain to her that in any area, rules are generally there for novices to follow so they don’t make major blunders; but for people with experience or who just know what they re doing, the rules don’t really apply. They should know how ti break the rules in the right way.

    I wouldnt have the slightest clue which brown items would be to mix with which black items, but she does, and there I think she should go or it!

Leave a Reply

