Skip to content

Love Grown

April 13, 2011

Tonight I wanted nothing to do with vegetables for dinner.

Why? you might ask. You love vegetables Clare!

Well, perhaps it’s because I had about 6 cups of Kale at lunch.

That would be a massaged kale salad that I made by drizzling an unmeasured amount of olive oil and apple cider vinegar over half a box of kale and rubbing it in with my fingers. I topped it with bell peppers, black beans, and a leftover sweet potato rice cake. Right before I ate it I squeezed some lemon juice on top. It was good, but I was ready to be done with the kale. It seemed never ending. I definitely think I met my veggie quota today!

I also had some quinoa crackers with lunch, and then an apple on the way home from work. I wasn’t super hungry for dinner, plus I had a special dessert planned, so I went with a mini frozen pizza. I had a coupon for this Whole Food’s pizza so I gave it a shot.

It was pretty boring on it’s own so I topped it with some vegan mozzerella and some veggie meatballs to add some oomph. Into the oven for 10 minutes and it was ready to go.

The crust was doughy but would have probably gotten crisp if I had a proper pizza baking pan. I really loved this meal though! Having the pizza be plain leave rooms for playing so I could see adding pesto, veggie bacon, more veggies,  or even a fried egg on top.

But as good as dinner was, I was already looking forward to dessert. The awesome people at Love Grown Foods asked if they could send me some of their granola. Um…yes please! I am not a huge granola eater, but I immediately had visions of sprinkling it over yogurt messes at breakfast. I was so excited for the package to arrive today! They sent me a few sample bags as well as one big bag each of their Simply Oats, Sweet Cranberry Pecan, and Raisin Almond Crunch.

All of their products are gluten Free and use no refined sugar, HFCS, artificial flavors, trans fats, hydrogenated oils, preservatives, or genetically modified ingredients. Love it.

For dessert I decided to try their Simply Oats flavor on top of a Superfruit Oikos. A few bites may have gone directly to my mouth too:)

Mmm! This flavor is just lightly sweet with a touch of cinnamon. It was perfect for mixing with a flavored yogurt. The granola is crispy with occassional big clusters that makes me smile. My mom who is a granola fanatic loved this too and I’m sure she’ll be helping me eat through these bags. I can’t wait to try the other flavors. Thanks, Love Grown!

*****************

I feel like I have sooo much to do at night now that I can’t check my email at work. I’m gonna have to figure this out! Off to prep blog posts! Night!

  • Are you a granola lover? What’s your favorite brand?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 8:33 pm

    I love Bare Naked granola if I eat it, but I don’t too often. I also like making my own.

  2. corbster permalink
    April 13, 2011 8:34 pm

    omg! Love Grown founders went to DU! So glad to see they’re making it far! Awesome, awesome stuff!!

  3. April 13, 2011 8:48 pm

    Were you blogging at work before? Or just checking your emails? I have gotten into the habit of prewriting at least one blog post..easy for me because I dont do daily eata or anything

  4. Kristen permalink
    April 13, 2011 9:11 pm

    I love the Super Fruits Oikos yogurt! I also had Greek yogurt with granola for dessert!

  5. April 13, 2011 9:15 pm

    i am obsessed with love grown granola! i’ve only tried their raisin almond crunch though….i can’t wait to try the other flavors!

  6. April 13, 2011 9:30 pm

    I love Love Grown Foods granola! I had the chance to meet Maddy when she came through Dallas and she’s such a precious person. My favorite is the chocolate, but I love them all. Enjoy!

  7. Abby permalink
    April 13, 2011 9:40 pm

    I love the Nature’s Path Organic Flax Plus Pumpkin granola! 🙂 I would love to try the Love Grown granola. I’ve been seeing it all over blog land over the past few weeks!

  8. April 13, 2011 9:57 pm

    I love how you topped the pizza with your own meatballs and cheese 😀 I’ve never had Love Grown granola before but I have tried Bear Naked and I love their chocolate flavored granola. It’s amazing 😀

  9. April 14, 2011 6:23 am

    I LOVE LOVE Love grown! THeir granola is sooo tasty!

  10. April 14, 2011 8:08 am

    I’m not a huge granola eater, mainly because it’s so many calories for not that much granola! If I didn’t have to worry about that stuff, though – I’d eat it all the time! 🙂

  11. April 15, 2011 7:41 am

    I LOVE granola! I try new brands but havent found a favorite. I would rather experiment with my own… although both ways are dangerous because I could eat granola all day long!

    Your salad sounds delicious even if the kale was never ending!

Trackbacks

  1. Nut Butter Me Up « Fitting It All In
  2. Really Strange Dream « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

