Skip to content

Humpback Granola Monster

April 14, 2011

Today my massage therapist told me that the left side of my back was visible swollen. I imagine it looked something like this:

source

So call me dramatic. But seriously he said it felt like ropes and asked if I got a new mattress or something. I think I just carry my stress in my upper back, but when every single massage therapist tells me my back is a mess I start to think there’s actually something wrong with me. Guess I just have to keep getting massages.

*********************

Since my massage was conveniently located about 1 minute away from Crazy Bowls and Wraps, dinner practically chose itself. I’m leaving town to go up to Notre Dame tomorrow anyway so my usual Friday night dinner treat can’t happen. The tofu veggie bowl with brown rice and jalapeno cilantro sauce is my ultimate comfort food. It’s perfection.

Crazy Bowls had a sign that said they were hiring. Think I could pick up like one shift a week and get unlimited free tofu veggie bowls?

And then after dinner the granola monster hit. Gabriela, Julie, Allie and I (and a few others!) had been tweeting about the Love Grown flavors all afternoon. Check out our convo on Julie’s blog! Tonight I tried the Sweet Cranberry Almond with some soy milk.

Amazeballs. This is why I don’t buy granola guys…it’s addictive! Thank goodness I only opened a sample package tonight because the minute the full bag gets opened I’m a goner. Do you see that cluster on my spoon? Just think about crunching through those with a puddle of sweet soy milk on your tongue. Love Grown is making some amazing stuff!

****************************

Once this heating pad on my shoulders cools off I need to go upstairs and pack. It’s Notre Dame’s Spring Game this weekend which is basically just a big party for students. Tons of my college friends are going back and I can’t wait to see them! I’ll only be there for about 30 hours and It’s supposed to be cold and rainy, but any time at Notre Dame is happy time:)

Weekend’s almost here!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 8:46 pm

    I just had a massage last Friday and was told the same thing! And I could actually hear popping sounds in my right shoulder when she was trying to work out the knots! Ohhh, I’d get a massage once a week if I could afford it!

    I’ve been hearing so much about the LGF granola…totally sounds like my kryptonite! Maybe I should just admire from a distance…my hips can only take so much! 😉 haha!

  2. April 14, 2011 8:53 pm

    Haha I did some serious damage to those bags! Too too good 🙂

  3. April 14, 2011 8:58 pm

    your granola makes me jealous! it looks so good!

  4. Lauren permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:04 pm

    have fun back at ND! Also Kath (from Kath Eats) blogs about all the amaaaaazing food in Charlottesville way better than I ever could!

    It’s completely possible that person in the picture has a tumor on his back. I saw that this past summer at a medical event where grad students give free (supervised!) services to those without insurance, and there was a guy like that there. CRAZY!!!!

  5. Abby permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:45 pm

    Hope you have an awesome time back at ND! 🙂 Massage…that sounds so nice right now! lol I could use one!

  6. April 15, 2011 5:20 am

    LoveGrown granola is everywhere!! I’ve never seen it before except for blogs :[
    Enjoy your weekend back at ND!!

  7. April 15, 2011 5:56 am

    It’s good to know I’m not the only granola monster out there! 🙂

  8. April 15, 2011 6:54 am

    I could use a massage right now, my neck and upper back are killing me hunching while studying.. oopsies!

    Love granola/cereal… I can’t keep it in my house because I WILL eat it all in one sitting

  9. April 15, 2011 7:05 am

    Eeeew—what a creepy picture! Sorry to hear that your back is stolen.

  10. April 15, 2011 7:17 am

    I hope your stressful back issues are relieved soon!

    YUMMM Granola! I can’t buy granola either; it’s too easy to eat and eat and eat!

  11. Judy permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:43 am

    Hi Clare,
    I’ve been following your blog for some time now, and you’ve truly been an inspiration to me as I recover from my ED. I am a senior in college, and it’s my school’s Spring Weekend as well. I was wondering, how do you deal with the emotions/guilt associated with going crazy one weekend? While I eat very healthily (veg/vegan), I want to let myself go and enjoy this weekend in terms of alcohol calories, but I don’t want to beat myself up about it or enjoy it any less. Any suggestions?

  12. April 15, 2011 10:18 am

    I just got some Love Grown Granola in the mail yesterday so I can’t wait to break into the bags 😉

  13. April 15, 2011 11:08 am

    oh, to bad youll just have to keep getting massage, very terrible news 😉 But not so good that half your back is swollen! 😮

    I have such a problem with granola, WHY IS IT SO DAMN GOOD! The clusters are so amazing

Leave a Reply

