Skip to content

Nut Butter Me Up

April 14, 2011

So last night I told you about how I received a package from Love Grown Foods, but I neglected to tell you about the second package I received! A little while ago I learned on Heather’s blog that Artisana lets you order samples of their nut butters and other products for FREE! You can get one per flavor and only have to pay shipping. Since I have been wanting to try different flavors of nut butter as well as coconut oil and coconut butter, this was perfect for me. Just a little sample to test the waters before paying the big bucks for the full jar.

I ordered walnut butter, coconut butter, cacao bliss (for after Easter), coconut oil, pecan butter, almond butter, and macadamia butter. How freaking cute are those little jars. I don’t know why they came that way instead of in little packs but I love it.

[Edited to add: To get the free samples, click on the Artisana link above, then click “Buy It Now Online” on the left. Next click to the Love Street Living Foods page. Once there you can choose your nutbutter and a free sample should be an option at purchase! Looks like it’s actually Love Street Living that offers the free sample, not Artisana itself. Sorry that’s confusing!]

BREAKFAST:

The star of today’s breakfast was that little jar of raw almond butter. I prepared my usual banana chia oats (welcome back!!) and scooped out a big spoonful of almond butter on top. It’s THICK!

It kinda blends in with the oats. I loved how gritty and thick this nut butter was, but it didn’t melt into my oatmeal very well. That’s okay though, it just means random big chunks got to be savored on my tongue:) I’m pumped to try the rest of the samples and finally make a recipe with coconut oil!

**************************

Moving backwards, I got dressed today.

OUTFIT:

Pants: Urban Outfitters (BDG brand), Shirt: No clue, Shoes: Naturalizer, Necklace: Forever 21

 

And before that I went to the gym. 45 minute of elliptical intervals (I just speed up for one minute at the beginning of each song on my ipod) and then an arm workout. I wish I could tell you what I did with the free weights, but that would require knowing what each move is called. What I do know is that I tried to step it up by doing 3 sets each and adding some new exercises. I hope I feel it tomorrow:)

***********************************

So many of you are saying you love chocolate flavored granola! I was thinking about how good that sounds, and then I thought DUH I recommended Mexican Hot Chocolate granola to Nuts About Granola. The contest ends in TWO DAYS so it’s your last chance to vote for me! Thanks again!!

  • Have you tried many unique flavors of nut butter? I’m so curious about the macadamia, walnut, and pecan!
28 Comments leave one →
  1. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 14, 2011 10:20 am

    Apart from chocolate-y variations of almond and peanut butter, I’ve only tried CASHEW BUTTER. And it’s pretty much amazing.

    Let us know how the macadamia butter is! Macadamia butter + White Chocolate Wonderful PB together on toast sounds like it has the potential to be ridiculously amazing. Hmm… 😉

  2. April 14, 2011 10:25 am

    Love that outfit!

    There are so many nut butters out there but I have to say I’ll always be partial to plain, creamy peanut butter! 🙂

  3. April 14, 2011 10:31 am

    Thanks for letting us know about Artisana. I love trying new stuff and will def go on their site. I voted for you on the granola contest (not sure If I told you yet 🙂 Good luck!

  4. April 14, 2011 10:36 am

    I have tried chocolate pecan nut butter at a random Whole Foods I found on way to visit a friend. It. Was. Glorious. 😀

  5. April 14, 2011 10:39 am

    Wow, I need to order those samples. Only paying shipping is the best thing I’ve ever heard of. I LOVE your top!

  6. April 14, 2011 10:42 am

    That top is gorgeous. I want it!

  7. April 14, 2011 10:56 am

    I made my own macadamia nut butter last Christmas for a cookie recipe from Cooking Light. Definitely the most expensive fat I’ve ever cooked with, but they were phenomenal cookies.

    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/macadamia-butter-cookies-with-dried-cranberries-10000000394648/

  8. April 14, 2011 10:57 am

    Are you serious?? I had no idea Artisana let you do that! Their coconut butter is pretty amazing 🙂

  9. April 14, 2011 10:58 am

    My favorite nut butter is almond…and I’ve tried sunflower, but didn’t care for it. Peanut butter is good sometimes…like if it’s mixed with white chocolate and is Peanut Butter and Co brand. 🙂
    I’d be interested to try some other types of nut butters, thanks for the info about the free samples!

  10. Michelle permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:00 am

    Where on the website did you find the free samples? Also, I’m in the STL area and love reading your blog because I always know exactly what restaurants and places you are talking about!

    • Michelle permalink
      April 14, 2011 11:16 am

      I live right downtown!

  11. April 14, 2011 11:14 am

    Love the outfit! I wish they shipped to Canada– I would love to try the cashew butter and coconut butter

  12. April 14, 2011 11:22 am

    Love the shirt – it looks great on you! And all the nut butters I’ve had (aside from PB of course) I’ve made myself so I’m really curious what the commercial ones (that unfortunately aren’t available in my part of the world) taste like.

  13. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:35 am

    that’s amazing about artisana! I’m so doing that. Love your outfit 🙂

  14. April 14, 2011 11:46 am

    The walnut butter sounds fantastic!!! That’s a new one to me.

  15. April 14, 2011 11:51 am

    I didn’t like macadamia as much as I was hoping, but I love pecan!

  16. April 14, 2011 11:52 am

    Awesome tip! Thanks so much for sharing the link… I’m most definitely ordering some samples today.

  17. April 14, 2011 11:59 am

    Artisana sent me some samples a week or so ago and I’m IN LOVE. I just had some cashew butter on a piece of toast at lunch. It was different – but really good! So far, the pecan butter is my favorite.

  18. Heather @ kissmybroccoli permalink
    April 14, 2011 12:09 pm

    You look gorgeous girlie!

    Ahhhh! I’m so excited about this! I’ve been wanting to try Artisana’s products for FOREVAH! Thanks so much for the tip!

  19. April 14, 2011 12:33 pm

    I haven’t tried any cool nut butters yet other than almond but my artisana is on the way so hopefully soon!:)

  20. April 14, 2011 12:47 pm

    FREE SAMPLES?!?!? YAYYAYAAYY!! all of those look SO GOOD! the weirdest ive tried is pumpkinseed… meh!

  21. April 14, 2011 2:04 pm

    AHH! So jealous! I want to win nut butters! The only out of the ordianary ones I have tried are WCW! I am so trying many many many more! I have a whole list of kinds I want to make! 🙂

  22. Abby permalink
    April 14, 2011 2:26 pm

    Thanks for writing about Artisana! I am in the process of ordering some samples–minus the walnut butter! lol Boo walnut allergies!

  23. April 14, 2011 6:17 pm

    Your outfit is so hot! And yummy breakfast 🙂 I have some samples from Artisana too, still haven’t tried them!

  24. April 14, 2011 7:44 pm

    Just a word to those who are going to do the freebie – I was so excited about it (but felt like I had to order SOMETHING), so I bought one item for $4.49 and I had to pay $10 shipping.

  25. April 14, 2011 8:15 pm

    Hot as always…

    Cheers

  26. April 15, 2011 9:21 am

    I will absolutely have to check out the free samples! I have tired a bunch of them but not all and free is ALWAYS GOOD!

    Love your outfit!

Trackbacks

  1. Speedy Delivery « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

