Skip to content

Perfection Is A Day

April 17, 2011

Perfection was Saturday, in fact. My friend Dani and I managed to toe the line between sober and tipsy. This meant we could have a ton of fun day drinking while still being coherent enough to make the rounds and see everyone we wanted to. This is quite the accomplishment considering day parties often end around 5pm when everyone passes out in a drunken stupor.

**********************

The drive up to Notre Dame on Friday night was a bit scary!

There were MAJOR storms and we could barely see the cars in front of us. Luckily my neighbor Alex was the big brave driver and after about 3 hours the weather calmed a bit. We got in around 12:30am and I promptly passed out.

I managed to sleep in until around 8:30 am on Saturday and then got up to go to the gym. I printed out a guest pass to Anytime Fitness since it was too cold and rainy for an outdoor run. For my first run since the marathon I completed a 5K on the treadmill. Afterward I did a leg work out and finished with 15 minutes on the elliptical. By the time I was home and showered, everyone else was ready to get started on the day. But not before breakfast:

First we went to the stadium parking lot where a bunch of people from my class had tailgates. We made the rounds there and it was SO fun to see everyone! {Big shout out to all of the people that got drunk and decided to confess that they read my blog:) Thanks for the support guys! Please don’t be shy about commenting and saying hi!!}

My ex-neighbor Alex that I drove up with

Dani, Alex, K, Me

Domer

After a few hours Dani and I grabbed a cab and went to “Pig Tostal”. Pig Tostal is Notre Dame’s single redemptive quality when it comes to parties. It’s held at the same row of houses every year and includes mass quantities of kegs and a pig roast.

Not many alumni were there, but Dani and I wanted to see our younger siblings. And remember my friend Pat Mckillen, the musician that just moved to Austin? Well I ran into his younger brother JJ. JJ gifted me with a Bud Light Lime.

blurry JJ

Lil Bro

Next up was lunch! Dani and I headed over to a Notre Dame favorite, Between the Buns. I’d heard awesome things about their veggie soup, and there was no better time to try it than a cold rainy day. I also got two pieces of bread to dip in it. Delish!

The remainder of the afternoon was spent at a bar called Kildares where the majority of our class ended up after the tailgates. We finally found our roommate Jackie as well as tons of other people. And Bud Lights were $2.

Amazing shirt:

Around 6 we went home to shower, then Dani and I grabbed dinner with her younger brother and his roommate. We went to another Notre Dame restaurant, Mainstreet Pub. They had sweet potato fries to go along with my portabello wrap:)

Billy wants you to know that his wrap had chicken and raspberry vinaigrette.

We were all pretty exhausted at this point so decided a movie night sounded perfect. We picked How Do You Know and crashed on the couch. Paul Rudd completely made the movie…he’s so awkward!

I of course turned into a pumpkin around midnight, and that early bed time meant I was up in plenty of time to go to Palm Sunday Mass at Notre Dame’s beautiful Basilica.

After loading the car, stopping by the famous Studebagels to grab lunch, and saying bye to Dani, I hit the road.

nice slicing job

I made sure to take a picture of ND’s new fro-yo place, though:”Let’s Spoon”. Amazing.

It was quite the whirlwind 36 hours but I’m so glad I got to go see everyone. ❤ Notre Dame.

  • Did your college have a big party day or spring festival? Tell me about it!


24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 7:16 pm

    What a fun weekend. I bet it was so great to revisit your college town. And I love the College Food!!! I remember eating so many wraps and fries in college. 🙂

  2. April 17, 2011 7:29 pm

    Looks like you had a great weekend! It’s always great to catch up with friends 😀
    The spring festival for my school is the April 28th-30th. It’s usually a great time and ends with a concert with a surprise singer. Last year Ludacris came!

  3. Abby permalink
    April 17, 2011 7:41 pm

    Looks like such a fun weekend! 🙂

    Things that I noticed about this post:
    1-That veggie soup looks yummy!
    2-Crinkle cut sweet potato fries-I need them in my life! lol. I’m sure they taste the same as regular sweet potato fries but I love cool shapes like crinkles and waffle fries! 😛
    3-Lets Spoon-that’s just a classy name! lol
    4-Basilca is BEAUTIFUL!

  4. April 17, 2011 7:44 pm

    AHAHAHA! what in the world? HOOWWWWW can you cut a sandwich that “un even” thats like a 3 to 1 ratio!!!

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    April 17, 2011 7:54 pm

    Haha I love that slicing job. And your bro has the happiest smile! haha. Glad you had such a wonderful wknd 🙂 Missed your posts yesterday though 😛

  6. April 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    Looks like you had an AWESOME weekend!

    hahah oh my god that slice is ridiculous. wow.
    The basilica is so beautiful !

    Your gorg xx!

  7. applesnoats permalink
    April 17, 2011 8:20 pm

    looks like tons of fun!!!I especially love the part about drunk blog readers 🙂

  8. Danielle permalink
    April 17, 2011 8:25 pm

    SUCH A FUN WEEKEND! love yaaaa.
    -not a secret blog reader

  9. April 17, 2011 8:31 pm

    I LOL’d twice during this post… first when I saw the awful sandwich slicing job, and second when I saw the FroYo sign… why can’t I come up with classy names like that?

  10. April 17, 2011 9:06 pm

    What an amazing day! I love seeing a glimpse into your fun life. 🙂 Those sweet potato fries look so good. I was never a good day drinker – always really cranky by about 5:00PM. Ha. Glad you had a great weekend!

  11. Paulie D. permalink
    April 17, 2011 9:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing the photos. I loved the view of the basilica on Palm Sunday. In addition, you, Dani, Alex, and K form one of the most photogenic foursomes that I have seen on or off of a golf course, especially on a rainy day. And your lil’ bro’s toothy smile shows that he has genuine affection for his sister, the road-trippin’ blog queen.

  12. Natalie permalink
    April 17, 2011 9:45 pm

    Looks like you had a great weekend! The college I went to had a festival called springfest – basically an excuse for everyone to drink from Thursday-Sunday. I don’t know how we did it.

    Ps-can you email me info on the DC editorial job you posted on twitter?? Thanks!!

  13. April 17, 2011 9:54 pm

    What a fabulous weekend, I love all the fun pictures. That slicing pic made me lol 😛

  14. April 17, 2011 10:06 pm

    What a fun weekend! The portabello wrap and sweet potato fries look amazing, and the Basilica is gorgeous!

  15. April 17, 2011 10:13 pm

    Yep, yep! I went to the University of Wisconsin-Madison for undergrad so we had the Mifflin Street Block Party: 100,000 at house parties/on the street = craziness

    I have some friends that went to ND, and I always wanted to swing by South Bend. Sounds like you had fun! 🙂

  16. April 17, 2011 10:41 pm

    This looks like such a great weekend! The slicing job on that bagel made me laugh. And crinkly sweet potato fries are my faaavorite! I love when you have that perfect amount of buzz going on. Haha so fun 🙂

  17. April 17, 2011 11:38 pm

    Looks like you had a blast..I want to plan a trip back to my college town but it is so far away! Congrats on your marathon by the way, your awesome time makes me want to start planning one as soon as my body lets me!

  18. April 17, 2011 11:51 pm

    Sounds like so much fun! The Portobello Wrap and fries looks yummo!!

  19. April 18, 2011 6:08 am

    AHH Taht looks like a BLAST!! AHAHA LET SPOON- so clever!

  20. April 18, 2011 9:17 am

    My buddy just sent me a link to this site and I like it very much. Keep up the good work. Of course, what a magnificent website and informative posts, I will bookmark your website. All the Best!

  21. April 18, 2011 9:28 am

    I didn’t go as an alum, but Pitt always had spring festival with music and activities and stuff. Unfortunately it was always when I was studying for finals and you’d hear the music thumping in the quad while trying to study!

    I get so nostalgic being back on campus!

  22. April 18, 2011 11:48 am

    Kudos for pacing yourself so well…I went to an all-day concert on saturday (and a bar afterwards!!!) So suffice it to say I definitely could have used your approach…vodka sweet teas and hot sun made for one loopy faith before I even left the concert! Haha…glad you had a blast though!

  23. April 20, 2011 10:16 pm

    Looks like you had fun! I would love to tell you about my college’s spring festival, but perhaps you have already heard about it in the news the past couple of days. Rutgersfest was canceled forever due to 4 shootings including one guy in the butt. Oh, the memories.

Leave a Reply

