Skip to content

I Cheated

April 18, 2011

I cheated! I said I wasn’t going to go to the grocery store before I left for Hilton Head, but I caved and grabbed a few things during lunch. Just two apples (plane snacks), a tomato (making sandwiches for lunch requires tomato) and fresh fruit (for a healthy dessert option instead of processed stuff).

I’m still using up stuff in the fridge and freezer though. And now that I have those few extras I’m more likely to use up the fridge instead of caving and going out to eat. Well I just turned that situation around for myself didn’t I? Now I feel good about going to the store.

******************

Lunch today was leftovers from last night’s dinner. I made a batch of half barley half red quinoa and had it with roasted brussel sprouts and bell peppers.

Originally I put some Seiten with this dish, but I ate a piece last night and hated it! SO salty! It tasted much much better when actually cooked into a dish like the vegan Colcannon I made for St. Patrick’s Day. But last night it all got thrown away and I decided the quinoa would just have to do as my protein.

After a snack of more bell peppers and hummus, I came home and made an easy dinner. I piece of Trader Joe’s frozen naan topped with a layer of garlic hummus, tomato, edamame, and veggie bacon. This is definitely something I would have never made had I not been trying to use things up. It was great!

Dessert was the fresh fruit I purchased, as planned. I topped the fruit with a sprinkle of Love Grown plain granola flavor. Sweet and crunchy, but a much better choice than a packaged bar or handfuls of starburst. I’ve been starting to crave sweets like crazy so I’m trying to cut back on my processed foods candy.

**************************

I’m debating whether or not to bring my laptop to Hilton Head with me this weekend. The condo we stay at has Wi-Fi, but my mac is so big and heavy to carry on the plane with me. I would like to be able to blog during my trip, but part of me also wants to just lose the technology and enjoy a family vacation uninterrupted. Still up in the air, but if anyone wants to writeΒ  a last minute guest post for me to use while I’m gone please feel free!

6am spin in the morning. Goodnight!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 8:13 pm

    I LOVE brussel sprouts! They always got so much flack when I was a kid, so I used to pretend I didn’t like them, but I always secretly loved them! haha
    The Naan looks delish, good luck with spin!

  2. Abby permalink
    April 18, 2011 8:15 pm

    When I saw the title for this I thought it was going to say you caved and ate chocolate! lol.

  3. April 18, 2011 8:18 pm

    Don’t blog! We’ll see you when you get back! Take plenty of pictures to share. πŸ™‚

    Those brussels sprouts are roasted? Sheesh. When I roast mine, they get super dark brown. (<– i.e., overdone)

  4. April 18, 2011 8:19 pm

    Have fun on your vacation! πŸ™‚

  5. April 18, 2011 8:20 pm

    Hilton Head is one of my very favorite places in the world. We go there every summer. Have fun! πŸ™‚

  6. Betsy permalink
    April 18, 2011 8:25 pm

    Random question but I can’t seem to find it. What was the website where you ordered the nut butter samples and just had to pay the shipping? I’m an almond butter lover, but I’m feeling the need to switch it up lately.

  7. April 18, 2011 8:26 pm

    I thought you were going to say you cheated on lent ha ha !!! So cheating and going to the supermarket is deifnitly a better cheating, so dont feel so bad πŸ™‚

    I always try and use fresh fruit to crave my sweet tooth !!!

  8. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 18, 2011 8:38 pm

    I say enjoy your vacay! πŸ™‚

    I’m in the same grocery store conundrum right now; I’m leaving for NOLA on Thursday so I’m trying not to buy groceries, but I might just need a trip!! I agree–picking up a few things can actually help you clean out your fridge!

  9. April 18, 2011 8:45 pm

    oh man, that garlic naan looks soooo good! ! πŸ™‚

  10. April 18, 2011 9:02 pm

    I could write a guest post for you if you want πŸ™‚ Anything in particular you want it to be about? I could probably write something up tomorrow afternoon

  11. Molly @ Mollyrunsfresh permalink
    April 18, 2011 9:11 pm

    Isn’t it funny the things you put together when you have things to use up? It makes me want to not shop for 2 weeks so I realize how much food I really have lol.

  12. April 18, 2011 9:37 pm

    This post is making me want to run out and get some naan πŸ˜‰ So many yummy eats. Have fun on your vacation!!! I will be very jealous πŸ˜‰

  13. April 18, 2011 9:46 pm

    Spin at 6am! wow, you are my inspiration! lol πŸ™‚
    I agree that it can be uncomfortable to carry a big laptop on the plane. I say relax and loose the technology for a few days! but I know how hard that is for most of us!

  14. April 18, 2011 9:54 pm

    I thought you ate chocolate, too! Ha. I’m not a fan of seitan…I think I’ve had it once and hated the texture and saltiness as well. I want to come with you on vacation, please!

  15. squigglefloey permalink
    April 18, 2011 10:07 pm

    No worries, sometimes I feel like I go to the market every 2 days because I have a mini fridge that barely fits anything so I can’t keep a lot of stuff.
    How awesome, what’re you guys doing at Hilton Head. I’ve never even heard of it =/

  16. April 18, 2011 11:14 pm

    I think you should go tech-free and enjoy time with family! You’ll feel so relaxed! πŸ™‚

  17. April 18, 2011 11:22 pm

    Ah, Hilton Head! My family and I have gone there the past 4 summers!! Have fun! πŸ™‚

  18. April 19, 2011 12:07 am

    Have fun in Hilton Head!

  19. April 19, 2011 3:29 am

    Aw I’ve been going to Hilton Head every summer since I was born! Take a photo of the light house for me and eat at the Salty Dog Cafe and listen to Greg Russell underneath the big tree! πŸ™‚

  20. April 19, 2011 3:52 am

    I am totally in love with brussel sprouts too, for some reason though every time I even mention them everybody around me cringes…
    Have fun with your family! Leave the laptop and just enjoy a little vacation from blogging, you’ll have lots to talk about when you get back.

  21. April 19, 2011 6:05 am

    I say to leave your computer at home! It will be there when you get back, but you won’t be able to remake the memories from your vacation! Enjoy it and travel safe πŸ™‚

  22. April 19, 2011 6:21 am

    Enjoy your vacation! We’ll all be here when you get back! πŸ™‚

  23. Alexa Meany permalink
    April 19, 2011 7:54 am

    ahhh! hey! i’ve never introduced my self before, but i’m alexa and i’m from hilton head, and go to the college of charleston! are you going to be in hhi for heritage golf tournament? I’m going home this weekend for saturday and sunday! makes me so happy when i hear ppl vacationing in my hometown! πŸ™‚ have so much fun.. suppose to be great weather!

  24. April 19, 2011 7:54 am

    Enjoy your vacation! πŸ™‚

  25. April 19, 2011 8:30 am

    Your meals, even being veggie, all look so good! You should open up a veggie resteraunt!Have a great vacation with the family!

    Cheers

  26. April 19, 2011 8:07 pm

    mmm the red quinoa and brussels sprouts dish looks so delicious! Have fun in hilton head!!!

Trackbacks

  1. A New Spin On Things « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

