Skip to content

A New Spin On Things

April 19, 2011

Good morning! Hilarious how many of you thought I cheated on my Lenten promise. GEEZ that would have been way better than just buying some fruit at the store….but nope! Still no chocolate until Sunday. 🙂

This morning I set my alarm WAY early for me (5:20am!) to get to a 6am spin class at my gym. Since I am not in race training anymore I’m trying to switch up my work outs and do other forms of cardio. I love spinning and used to do it in college (with Kate! Hi Kate!) so I was excited to try it again.

The class was fantastic! It was so fun to feel like part of a little club again. There were about 8 people in the class and you could tell they were all regulars and joked around. The teacher was upbeat and smiley which made the class fun but still challenging. My only concern is the music…it was sort of rock and roll instrumentals. The beats were good for the class, but sometimes I like being able to rock out to Rihanna and Britney.

One good thing about 6am spin? Plenty of time afterwards for some strength training. I did about 1/2 hour of arm work between free weights and machines and still got to work early. My boss might like this new Spin class too.

OUTFIT:

This blue top from Banana Republic is one of my all time favorites. I just love that it hangs nicely and has cute puffy sleeves.

Top: Banana Republic, Pants: BDG from Urban Oufitters, Flats: Bakers

But of course I would freeze with no sleeves, so I threw on a pink sweater. It’s a bit much, but maybe all the bright colors will ward of the impending tornadoes and storms we’re supposed to get.

Sweater – old navy from…7th grade?

 I look identical in both of those pictures except for the sweater. Weird.

 

BREAKFAST:

 

I actually haven’t made it yet – I’m about to right after this – but my oatmeal looks pretty much the same each time. Here’s and old one:

Off for a big day of shoe design! Thanks so much for the encouragement to leave my lap top at home and enjoy my quick vacay with the family. I have one guest poster but would still love others if anyone can get them too me super quickly!

Have a great Tuesday!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 9:17 am

    I am loving that blue shirt from Banana – it’s darling!

  2. April 19, 2011 9:21 am

    I really want to try a spin class but I don’t want to have to join a gym. I rally like riding my bike though.. I guess that’ll have to do

  3. April 19, 2011 9:39 am

    I am loving the colours together and the flats are cute 🙂

    PS Sunday is so soon !!!!!

  4. April 19, 2011 9:41 am

    You look hot in blue.. Spinning is g-g-g-great! That’s what Tony the Tiger would say about it

    Cheers

  5. April 19, 2011 10:03 am

    Love the pink cardi! I have one like that. I think I’ll make banana oats this morning too – I just put up a recipe for strawberry cheesecake oats I came up with the other day that are so good! I just never get tired of oat breakfasts haha

  6. April 19, 2011 10:10 am

    I love that top! I have a similar one from Alice+olivia but in hot pink and a clingy cotton. I may have to bust that out now!
    I’d totally love to do a guest post if you still need any! I could do a fun fashion-themed one because you always have the cutest outfits! If I can get it to you by tonight or tomorrow, would that work?

  7. April 19, 2011 10:26 am

    I love that top!
    What a great color, the blue looks amazing on you!

  8. April 19, 2011 10:29 am

    I love the pink with the blue! And I hope the tornadoes stay far far away from you – they were here on Saturday.

  9. April 19, 2011 10:32 am

    The music can make or break a spin class for me. I love when they play tons of pop or 80’s hair metal. The first time I ever heard a Miley Cyrus song was in spinning. It was oddly cool.

  10. April 19, 2011 11:15 am

    I gave up chocolate for Lent too, it’s awful. I posted about it early. Lovin’ the outfit!

  11. April 19, 2011 12:18 pm

    Spin classes are so legit. People think that just because you are a runner then the class should be a piece of cake… so not true! As always, cute outfit!

  12. April 19, 2011 12:29 pm

    By when would you need the guest post? Would love to write one!

  13. April 19, 2011 3:31 pm

    I love those colors together, they are so springy!

    Also, I sent you a guest post if you want to use it 🙂

  14. Kate permalink
    April 19, 2011 4:42 pm

    Love the spinning shout out (& that the top 40/finnies finest music mix is apparently a hit!) Glad to hear you’re starting back up & HUGE congrats on your awesome race!

  15. Abby permalink
    April 19, 2011 4:45 pm

    I need to try a spin class. Everyone has such great things to say about spinning! lol 🙂 Maybe after this half marathon I will finally give it a shot! It seems intimidating!

Leave a Reply

