Skip to content

Guest Post: Morgan from Endorphaholic

April 21, 2011

 

Hi, I’m Morgan from Endorphaholic. I’ve enjoyed reading Clare’s marathon experience as I go through my training as well. But, most significantly, I’ve admired her balanced outlook on healthy eating and exercise.

As a freshman in college last year, I exercised and tried to eat healthy, but it ebbed and flowed. One day I would be drinking and indulging in unhealthy food, and the next day, I would be eating a salad and working out for two hours. I looked normal, but I wasn’t happy.
By the end of the year, I hated how I felt, and I knew that something needed to change. I had started running earlier in the year, but I was really struggling.  And as a perfectionist, I didn’t love spending so much effort on something that I wasn’t good at. But once summer began, I acknowledged that it would be hard and I committed myself to making a change.
But, I didn’t know where to start. I started reading Caitlin’s blog, and then Clare’s, and other healthy living bloggers. I was in awe of these women who could eat without anxiety, and exercise because they loved it. And so I tried it.


I began to eat when I was hungry; I stopped counting calories and started eating real food. And I ran. At first it was only a mile, then it was two, and I can still remember feeling completely powerful the first time that I ran three miles without stopping.  It wasn’t easy. There were days where I didn’t like my body, but the feeling of pride for how far it could take me overcame that.
I learned to trust my body. When I am fueling it with healthy foods, while still giving myself the freedom to indulge occasionally, I feel amazing. For me, there is nothing like the feeling of accomplishment after completing a long run. I have discovered a lot about myself out there on the pavement. Finding the right balance for me has given me the freedom to explore my physical strength, and love my body without constraint.

***********************

Thanks so much Morgan!  You look great and I’m so glad you found peace with your body.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 10:03 am

    It’s a great feeling once you get to that place isnt it? Congrats!

  2. April 21, 2011 10:28 am

    Hi Morgan!
    What a great post, thank you for opening up about this. As I am trying to find peace with my body, it helps to read stories like this and know it’s possible to achieve this! Finding a balance is a vital part of life and looking at exercise as a way to make you feel better rather than keep your weight down, is so important 😀
    I’m off to check out your blog now!

  3. April 21, 2011 11:39 am

    Morgan! I am so excited for your progress and would love to learn more from you about both running and eating.

    My question for you right now is about how you said you allow indulgences “occassionally”. How do you keep those indulgences under control? I find when I have that policy I always end up indulging too much or too often…

    • April 21, 2011 12:03 pm

      Hi Lauren! For me, it was all about re-defining what “indulgences” mean to me. I used to think that a “treat” meant candy or low-fat ice cream. When I was eating vegan, I learned that, for me, I got the most satisfaction out of a few bites of a rich desert. Also, I try and choose “indulgences” that are healthy, like a baked apple with greek yogurt, or a chocolate Larabar, or dates.

      I also find it helpful to make sure that I savor my deserts. And if I’m not really enjoying it, savoring helps me recognize that and put it away so i’m not mindlessly eating something that isn’t particularly enjoyable.

  4. applesnoats permalink
    April 21, 2011 11:57 am

    aww congrats on finding happiness with yourself you look awesome girl!

  5. April 21, 2011 12:11 pm

    Hi Morgan! Wow, I totally related to this post! I am at that point right now: I have healthy days and then I also have really horrible, not healthy days. And I have just started running and yesterday I ran 2 miles and felt AMAZING afterwards. I couldn’t believe I did it and I felt so great after! I know 2 miles isn’t really that much, but it was for me!

  6. April 21, 2011 12:13 pm

    Hi Morgan thanks for sharing your story its so amazing to see women who have made an incredible transition 🙂

  7. Abby permalink
    April 21, 2011 1:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing your story Morgan! 🙂

  8. April 21, 2011 1:55 pm

    I completely understand where you’re coming from! I’m still working on getting rid of those unhealthy days. My problem usually comes around dinner time or on the weekends. How do you maintain healthy eating on weekends or when you’re not in your normal routine?

    • April 22, 2011 10:52 pm

      An important part of balance for me was not stressing about less healthy days. I try and keep myself really consistent, and not have one specific “splurge” day or anything like that.

      It also helps that I’ve become really confident in knowing that a lunch with real foods makes me feel better, and keeps me full longer than something like lean cuisine ( or mac n cheese, or whatever your fallback is). That definitely became more natural overtime, and I’ve found myself naturally reaching for healthy foods. (I’ve been known to eat a pound or brocolli or carrots in a single sitting).

  9. April 21, 2011 3:04 pm

    Just clicked to read your blog- off I go!!
    Thanks for sharing your story- I agree that it is such an inspiration to read blogs- I’m recovering from anorexia and reading blogs is definitely moving me forward in my recovery!

  10. April 21, 2011 3:21 pm

    oh yay!! im so excited to meet you!! another fun blogger! ill go check you out now!

  11. April 21, 2011 5:19 pm

    Aw I loved this! 🙂 I’m definitely working on finding a balance like that too… I need to get back to the gym!

    great guest post ❤
    n

  12. April 21, 2011 6:40 pm

    Great to hear your story! I really enjoyed your post 🙂

  13. April 21, 2011 7:48 pm

    great guest post! thanks for sharing girl and glad you found your balance 🙂

  14. April 22, 2011 9:54 am

    Wonderful post! I have always worked out, but just recently started running as well. I have never done anything that gives me such a sense of accomplishment! I know exactly how you felt when you ran your first 3 miles without stopping! It’s such a high! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. » Blog Archive » Oh-My-Oats
  2. » Blog Archive » Readers Request: Indulgence

Leave a Reply

