Skip to content

Guest Post: Natalie from The Sweets Life

April 23, 2011

 

Hi, I’m Natalie and I blog over at The Sweets Life, a recipe blog full of healthy meals and decadent desserts…with a few life anecdotes thrown in there too! I don’t remember how I first stumbled upon Clare’s blog, but I was excited to find another St. Louis blogger. I love reading about St. Louis through the eyes of someone else and I particularly loved hearing about her marathon training, as I spent all summer training for the Chicago marathon in hot and sticky St. Louis.

Though I’m not a vegetarian, my husband and I eat a lot of meatless meals so I thought today I’d share a few “Clare-friendly” dishes. All of these dishes are great as leftovers, a plus when you like to take leftovers to lunch!

First up: stacked roasted vegetable enchiladas. This is my favorite dinner I’ve made lately—it’s so bright and fresh, perfect for this time of year. You can never go wrong with roasted vegetables!

 

Another one of my favorites is lemon bulgur salad with asparagus, spinach, and goat cheese. This is great because it’s good warm or cold, so you don’t have to worry about reheating the leftovers. I love the tang of the lemon and the goat cheese!

 

Switching gears, these banana blueberry oatmeal muffins are the perfect breakfast or snack. They’re full of whole wheat flour, oats, wheat germ, and yogurt, making them much healthier than a typical bakery muffin.

 

Finally, I can’t resist sharing a chocolatey dessert…after Sunday Clare can partake :). I made this frozen mocha marbled loaf cake for a friend’s birthday and it was a major hit! With temperatures in St. Louis rising, this is an ideal summer treat.

 

You can find plenty of other meals and desserts in my recipe index—I hope you stop by and find something you like! Thanks Clare, for letting me share!

****************

Those all look INCREDIBLE Natalie!! I can’t wait to make those enchiladas for dinner. Thanks for a great post!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 10:33 am

    That bulgur salad looks amazing. I love bulgur in bread and salads!

  2. April 23, 2011 11:00 am

    Yum those desserts look delicious. Thanks for the recipes!

  3. applesnoats permalink
    April 23, 2011 11:47 am

    the bulgur and enchiladas look awesome!!!

  4. April 23, 2011 12:17 pm

    ahh nice to meet you!! that loaf looks AMAZING!

  5. Abby permalink
    April 23, 2011 12:27 pm

    Your recipes look great! Thanks for sharing with us!

  6. April 23, 2011 2:23 pm

    mmm everything looks delish!

    we’re the same in that we’re not vegetarian but we do love eating mostly veg! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  7. April 23, 2011 3:18 pm

    That bulgar salad looks like something I need to eat right now! Thanks for introducing me to another great looking blog!

  8. April 23, 2011 4:09 pm

    great post! the marble layer cake looks fabulous 🙂 thanks for sharing girl!

  9. April 23, 2011 5:01 pm

    Omg that veggie enchilada and blueberry muffins look amazing!! I am literally drooling, love it 😀

  10. April 23, 2011 11:11 pm

    thanks for letting me post clare! hope you’re having a good trip!

  11. April 24, 2011 3:19 am

    Amazing guest post! All these recipes look perfect 🙂

  12. April 24, 2011 8:55 am

    Those muffins and loaf look incredible! I’m a St. Louis blogger too (though I’m currently away at college), and I’m always happy to find others from my home city.

Leave a Reply

