Skip to content

Closer Than My Peeps…

April 24, 2011

HAPPY EASTER!!

 

source

I’m currently on my way home from Hilton Head and you can bet your bottom dollar that I have some form of chocolate in my hand. I hope you guys enjoyed the guests posts while I was away. I can’t wait to share some of my trip with you tonight when I get back.

For now I’ll share an Easter story:

One time when I was about 5 years old I snuck downstairs on Easter to “catch” the Easter bunny. Our neighborhood was full of kids so we always had a huge multi-yard Easter Egg hunt together. Well I actually DID see the Easter bunny! One of the adults dressed up in costume while putting out the candy-filled eggs and just happened to be in our yard when I got down there. I was so scared of being caught that I hid down below our window seat. When the coast was clear I ran back up to bed:)

Now that the kids are older we don’t have a big neighborhood gathering, but my own family still goes to Church and then brunch at our Country Club. And of course my mom leaves us baskets full of chocolates and peeps. She is OBSESSED with peeps and gives us them on every single holiday even though none of us like them. Her obsession comes from that Shaggy song ‘Angel’ that says “closer than my peeps you are to meeee….”. My mom is cute.

 

 

Wishing you a wonderful, Blessed, chocolate-filled day!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 10:03 am

    Yumm…my mom gives me peeps, as well. The difference is I love them!!

    Happy Easter!

  2. Kate permalink
    April 24, 2011 10:24 am

    How can you not love peeps?!?! Sugar-coated sugar chicks are the best! (Especially when you blow them up in the microwave or roast them over a fire)

    Hoppy Easter, Clare! Enjoy your chocolate!

  3. April 24, 2011 10:31 am

    I havent had a peep in so long, but I love them! Happy Easter girl!

  4. April 24, 2011 1:42 pm

    Have you tried microwaving a peep? They expand of course (marshmallow in the microwave 🙂 ) and they taste even better in the enormous form 🙂
    Have a Happy Easter Clare!

  5. April 24, 2011 1:49 pm

    The little of your post reminded me of the card my brother gave me this morning!

    On the front it was an egg and said happy easter and on the inside it said “too one of my favourite peeps” and a picture of a baby chick comming out of its egg! haa the cutest!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    April 24, 2011 2:56 pm

    Happy Easter pretty girl!

  7. April 24, 2011 5:00 pm

    That comic always cracks me up. I used to have it hanging in my office at work! Haha. Happy Easter! 🙂

  8. applesnoats permalink
    April 24, 2011 5:55 pm

    haha awww your mom sounds so cute!!
    Happy Easter:)

  9. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 24, 2011 6:19 pm

    Happy Easter! 🙂

  10. April 24, 2011 7:26 pm

    It’s been a long time since I’ve had a peep! Have a great Easter 😀

  11. April 25, 2011 9:05 am

    I just can’t get into the Peep craze. I have enough family members to share them with though.

    Someone made a Peeps s’more and that might make me a convert.

Leave a Reply

