Skip to content

Panera’s Thai Salad

April 25, 2011

St. Louis weather is so gloomy lately! First we had terrible tornadoes and now we have days and days of rain causing flooding. One day I will run outside again…that I promise you. Instead I brought my workout indoors this morning and completed a made up “3-2-1” workout. I ran 3 miles on the treadmill (threw in some speed intervals), then 20 minutes on the elliptical and 10 minutes on the stair stepper. I didn’t wear a sweat-wicking shirt and boy could you tell! I finished with some abs.

OUTFIT:

Brightened my day a bit with a springy outfit.

Shirt: Polo, Skirt: Old Navy, Belt: Mom's, Shoes: Bakers

FOOD:

After having plain oatmeal with Barney Butter at Mary Cecilia’s this weekend I remembered how much I love the taste of plain oats (and even the sticky texture of microwave oats!) So today instead of whipping banana into my oats I just sliced half on top along with my TJ’s Valencia Peanut Butter. The chia seeds still changed the texture of the oats though…I might do a purist bowl sometime soon.

The rainy weather meant I was craving soup for lunch. I walked up to the market next door and out of the 10 soup options not a single one was vegetarian. I decided to try the cafe down the street and they had run out of their vegetarian soup. So I gave up and drove to Whole Foods. I wanted to try two of their soups so I got a small bowl of each: veggie bean chili and a whole grain rice and veggie soup.

I loved the heartiness of the rice soup, but the flavor of the chili won me over. I had an apple in the car on the way back to work.

*work work work*

I had to go grocery shoppingΒ  so I actually went back to Whole Foods on the way home. Twice in one day! I picked up my staples but avoided the hot bar because I had another dinner option in mind: Panera’s new Thai Salad. I had wanted to get it last week but the Panera I tried was closed! Tonight’s post-vacation laziness made grabbing a take-out dinner too good to pass up.

I ordered the salad without chicken or wonton strips, and despite the picture I took it was actually full of carrots, peppers, and edamame. The dressing was a combination of a peanut sauce and a Thai chili sauce and I loved it! I would definitely get this salad again and love that I can get vegetarian protein from the edamame.

After dinner I ate the rest of my mom’s steamed sugar snap peas, and I’m contemplating trying the carob chips I picked up today. I lost my voice in Hilton Head likely due to some mild allergies and I’m still hoarse and sniffly. Early bed time tonight hoping to be ready for 6am spin tomorrow!

  • What’s your go-to order from Panera? (or St. Louis Bread Company as it’s called here).

I’ve gone through phases. When I was younger I loved the chicken wild rice soup, then the broccoli cheddar, then the French onion. I also used to live for the Bacon Turkey Bravo! Now I switch it up depending on my mood – I love the black bean soup and the vegetable soup, but also a bunch of the salads and the mediterannean veggie sandwich. All so good!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 7:59 pm

    I have never had Panera, I don’t have one where I live– but all the food from what I see on people’s blogs looks amazing!

  2. April 25, 2011 7:59 pm

    I’ve tried that salad and really enjoyed it. I can’t decide if I really love the sauce or if there is just something off about it. LoL. My usual order from Panera is 1/2 a veggie sandwich and black bean soup.

  3. April 25, 2011 7:59 pm

    I LOVE PANERA! They have THE BEST SALADS! Right now, my go-to would actually have to be the Thai Chicken Salad! I love the spicy kick and the edamame! I am also a huge fan of their black bean soup. Overall, I heart Panera.

  4. Abby permalink
    April 25, 2011 8:02 pm

    I love their Orchard Harvest salad that they have in the Fall/Winter. It has chicken, spring mix, pecans, blue cheese, dried cherries, pears, and a cherry balsamic dressing. The Cinnamon Crunch bagels are also deadly! lol.

    • April 25, 2011 9:20 pm

      Oh my….I love the Cinnamon Crunch bagels too, and now, I’m craving one! Haha

  5. April 25, 2011 8:16 pm

    Greek salad! With chicken! And no pesky red onions! Haha πŸ™‚
    I hope the rain ends soon…flooding is scary!
    Carob is delightful! Thats what I grew up on; we had carob brownies and carob zuchinni bread and this xmas I got carob-covered almonds in my stocking! Mmm

  6. April 25, 2011 8:26 pm

    I love the broccoli cheddar soup! I love to dip my bread in it!

  7. April 25, 2011 8:29 pm

    I LOVE your outfit!

  8. April 25, 2011 8:39 pm

    I usually do the “You Pick Two” and do a 1/2 cafe salad and 1/2 black bean soup. I love their black bean soup! The whole grain bagels there are also my very favorite.

  9. April 25, 2011 8:45 pm

    BAKERS!!! Since NC does not have a Steve Madden store, (blasphemy if you ask me,) Bakers has become my new favorite. Love love love that store!

    I have never been to Panera but I keep seeing it on the blogs and think I have to try it soon..

  10. pbprincess11 permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:05 pm

    Panera is my favorite place to eat ever!! I have tried that salad and its really good but my favorite is the strawberry poppy seed salad they have in the summer. Every time I had it, it had the freshest fruit ever! I also love Panera’s whole wheat baguette!

  11. April 25, 2011 9:28 pm

    Love Panera! The strawberry salad is my FAVE!!

  12. Paige permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:29 pm

    I don’t think a day goes by where I seriously consider getting Panera for dinner. I also go in phases; my current obsessions are the black bean soup, thai salad (no chicken), or the pesto vegetable soup. When I ate meat I would love the Turkey Bacon Bravo and the Chicken and Wild Rice Soup. I also love love love love their pumpkin muffies and cinnamon crunch bagels w/ hazelnut cream cheese. YUM!

  13. April 25, 2011 9:31 pm

    Believe it or not – I have never had Panera, no such thing in Canada! Next trip to the US it is on my list though!

  14. April 25, 2011 9:34 pm

    I love plain-jane oats! Like seriously, sometimes I will cook 1/2 cup of oats and just eat them like that (of course with a little milk to cool them down!). But I also love adding berries to them. I don’t have a Panera near me so I don’t really know what my favorites would be. I do know that I love their vegetable soup from the times I have been there and I love the bread it comes with!

  15. April 25, 2011 9:42 pm

    first, that skirt is toooo cute! is it from this season??

    i’ve been eating the thai salad a lot lately. i always get the pick 2 with a half salad and cup of soup. tomorrow’s order for our work meal is the thai salad and french onion soup. πŸ™‚

  16. April 25, 2011 10:01 pm

    Cute outfit girl! πŸ™‚ I love the skirt. I’ve never been to Panera before but I would have loved that Thai Salad. Anything that includes peanut sauce is a win to me πŸ˜‰

  17. April 25, 2011 10:52 pm

    Carob chips are AMAZING. I love em so much.
    And I’ve never actually been to panera… I really want to though.

  18. April 26, 2011 5:20 am

    Saw on the news the tornado action down that way… Excellent outfit! Skirts hot

    cheers

  19. April 26, 2011 7:44 am

    I reallllly like your 3 2 1 workout. I definitely wouldn’t get bored! πŸ™‚

  20. April 26, 2011 7:57 am

    ahh I am so sick of the rain here—I ran 14 miles in the pouring rain on Saturday, looked like a drowned rat by the end of it πŸ™‚

    Love your skirt!!

  21. April 26, 2011 8:28 am

    I like the Thai salad at Panera. The kick is suprising!

  22. April 26, 2011 9:06 am

    LOVE your skirt girl! And that salad looks delish!

  23. April 26, 2011 10:19 am

    Love, love, love that you bought three different kinds of soups!!!

  24. April 26, 2011 2:44 pm

    I probably shouldn’t comment, but I’m going to anyway;-) Bread Co. used to be one of my favorites…that is, until chemo. If you are familiar with the Downtown Siteman location, at WashU and Barnes-Jewish, there is a Bread Co. just across the street. During every chemo, which was about 5 hrs. long, the hubby would go load up on a huge assortment of foods from there and would have them waiting for me when I woke up from my Benadryl-imposed sleep. It was great! But while I never got sick on the food, just the thought of it now makes me want to gag! I guess it’s just the association between the two: chemo and Bread Co. Blech. Can’t do it. And it makes me sad because I used to really like it!

    Maybe someday I will be able to handle it again:-)

  25. lauren permalink
    April 26, 2011 11:10 pm

    I just had that same salad the other night w/o wantons but with chicken πŸ™‚ I was waiting all day to go there to have the strawberry poppyseed salad but the panera i went to doesn’t have it yet so i went with the thai salad. I looooove cilantro and that salad has a copious amount of it πŸ™‚ made my belly happy

  26. April 27, 2011 1:00 pm

    any place selling ten meaty soups and zero veggie soups does not deserve to stay in business. you should boycott them and tell everyone else to do the same!

Trackbacks

  1. It Makes Me Feel Better « Fitting It All In
  2. Happy Birthday To… « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

