Skip to content

Savannah & Hilton Head Recap

April 25, 2011

Hey guys! Sorry I didn’t get a post up last night – I was literally home for 15 minutes before heading to the Cardinals game and then I passed out right afterward. Instead I’ll just swap out a Monday Man-Day post and give you a little  way too long vacation recap right now.

***************************

THURSDAY

After arriving into Savannah around midnight on Wednesday and staying up late for some girl talk, Mary Cecilia and I woke up bright and early to some construction workers. MC is a friend from Notre Dame and is currently in grad school at the Savannah College of Art and Design, and since we fly into Savannah to get to Hilton Head I decided to spend my first day with her. We each had a small bowl of oatmeal (mine with Barney Butter!) before heading to her favorite yoga studio for a Dynamic Flow class. I loved trying a “regular” yoga class as opposed to Bikram. It was challenging but relaxing.

After yoga we stopped by an organic food shop to pick up some ingredients for dinner and I also got a fresh juice (carrot, celery, red beet).

Then while I was showering MC whipped up a delicious quinoa salad for lunch. MC and I really are friend soulmates…we love all the exact same things! This salad had quinoa, apples, spinach, toasted pecans, and a honey balsamic dressing.

The afternoon was spent getting mani/pedis and window shopping in downtown Savannah before meeting MC’s boyfriend Brian for a drink overlooking the Savannah River.

Post drinks we headed back to MC’s place for pizza on her homemade gluten free pizza crust (she has celiac disease). It was sooo good! Way better than any other homemade crust I’ve had. A+ for MC.

After dinner we met my family at a Savannah Sandgnats Single A baseball game. It was truly a perfect day with MC and though I was sad to leave her that night, I was excited to get to Hilton Head!

 

FRIDAY:

Friday morning I woke up in Hilton Head before everyone else (of course) and and so went to the community gym for 45 minutes on the elliptical. When I was finished everyone was having breakfast and I had some Kashi Go Lean Crunch with bananas and milk. (First time I’ve had cows milk in YEARS! One of our friends ended up going and buying me soymilk the next day…not that I needed it or anything, but it was so thoughtful of him.) After breakfast the guys played golf while the ladies (my mom, 2 family friends and I) rented bikes and went to the beach.

 We took a break for lunch while a quick storm passed through and I had an oily but scrumptious veggie sandwich.

After a little more beach time, we went to the outlets where I did major damage at J.Crew. Can’t wait to show you some new outfits!! Thankfully for my credit card I didn’t have time to shop anywhere else because we had to be back for dinner at one of our favorite Hilton Head restaurants, Old Oyster Factory. Family pictures happened.

I could have scrounged up a vegetarian meal, but I decided to just order the delicious seafood they are known for. I’ve missed salmon!

 

SATURDAY:

 I woke up before everyone else again on Saturday and this time I went for a 5 mile run throughout the neighborhoods of the community where we stay. I loved looking at all the new houses! I finished with some abs and arms in the gym before meeting everyone for another Kashi Go Lean breakfast (this time with my soymilk.) The boys played golf again and the girls decided on…you guessed it. The beach! On the way we stopped by our new property so I could see where we *might* have a house one day (for my parents’ retirement). Here would be the view from the backyard. ❤

After some beach time Mary Cecilia and Brian came over to spend the rest of the day with us. We hung out by the pool until it was time to get ready for the night’s activities.

Our group began the evening with a sunset cruise that we pretty much turned into a booze cruise. We had to get rid of all the of the extra alcohol we had! There was tons of laughter, snacking, and picture taking. Here are just a few…it was absolutely beautiful.

And we couldn’t leave Hilton Head without a trip to the best hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant, Mi Tierra. Because we needed more alcohol, we started with a round of margaritas.

I was extremely full from boat-ride snacking and chips and salsa, but managed to devour a taco salad full of beans, cheese, lettuce, and guac.

We always pretend it’s someone’s birthday so that we get to wear the big sombreros. Us kids actually stole them once and then had to go sheepishly return them. There was no stealing this time, but lots of singing and fried ice-cream eating. Too fun!

 

The night ended with a midnight Easter Egg hunt in our living room and the required Easter “baskets” and Peeps. Our parents won’t let us grow up:)

SUNDAY

We made it to an extremely crowded (read: people sitting in beach chairs outside the church) Easter Mass before going to the airport. Thankfully we were able to fly home to St. Louis despite the tornadoes that hit the airport on Friday night. Throughout the day I got in plenty of chocolate in the form of a chocolate chip cookie dough Larabar and some easter candy:)

It was such a fantastic trip. I really needed a little get away and could not be more grateful for the opportunity to spend time with friends and family at the beach. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend as well. I just hit “Mark All As Read” on my google reader, so if anything exciting happened to you please let me know.

Back to the grind!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    April 25, 2011 12:08 pm

    Good for you for having a relaxing trip! Everybody needs time for themselves and it seems like you’ve been really busy lately! 🙂

  2. April 25, 2011 12:12 pm

    Ah! It looks like you had so much fun!! J. Crew outlets are dangerous business 😉 Glad you’re back!

  3. April 25, 2011 1:24 pm

    See if MC will share the gluten free pizza crust recipe!!!!!
    Anddddd, I’m jealous of your tan. 🙂

  4. applesnoats permalink
    April 25, 2011 1:25 pm

    this looks like tons of fun!!!I love the hats and Easter “baskets”:)

  5. Dorry permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:01 pm

    What a fabulous weekend! That quinoa salad looks delicious, and I love the Mexican food and boat rides. I had some delicious salmon yesterday. My body craves it sometimes so I listen. 🙂 Glad you had a happy Easter!

  6. April 25, 2011 2:15 pm

    Haha I hate having to hit “mark all as read” on the reader I feel guilty– when I shouldn’t! Looks like you had an awesome weekend your family and friends and enjoyed hot weather– I am jealous 🙂

  7. Kristin Brænne permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:08 pm

    ★★★★★

  8. April 25, 2011 3:19 pm

    What a fabulous trip! Aww those egg baskets are adorable, I wish my parents made me one! lol
    Awesome pics, definitely jealous of your great vacation 😀

  9. April 25, 2011 3:22 pm

    you are SO GORGEOUS!! looks like SO much fun! LOVE THat taco salad!

  10. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:39 pm

    that sounds like such an awesome trip! 🙂 so jealous of the sailboat ride/booze cruise. looks like heaven! Love that you fit in yoga and exercise, too. my ideal vacation incorporates a little exercise. people think I’m crazy, but I enjoy it and feel my best that way. when you don’t look at exercise as not a chore, it can be fun and energizing!

    p.s. good call – i am so marking all as read in my google reader, too! it’s just too much!

  11. April 25, 2011 3:42 pm

    I am envious of so many parts of this trip! First of all, Hilton Head Island is a great spot, my grandparents live there and it’s always a pleasure visiting. And the weather! I am feeling so pasty after this longgg, snowy winter and I am craving some rays 🙂
    I’m glad you had a relaxing, rejuvenating trip, it was well-deserved 🙂
    Thank you for the recap!

  12. Abby permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:00 pm

    This looks like such a great holiday weekend! 🙂 I have yet to ever see the ocean. I can’t wait until the day I get to hang out on the beach and enjoy it!

  13. oatsandspice permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:47 pm

    It looks like you had a BLAST! Our next door neighbor is a freshman at savannah college of art and design and she loves it! The city looks so cute and eclectic! I want to go there sometime! I guess that is where they also shot the Last Song.

    You look super tan! Hopefully it is starting to warm up for you down in St. Louis! 🙂 Have a good week!

  14. April 25, 2011 6:20 pm

    I love telling restaurants it is someone’s birthday if the dessert is really good. Looks like you had a fantastic trip! Beautiful pictures of the sunset

  15. April 25, 2011 6:38 pm

    Such a fun Easter vacay, I love all your snackage!!

  16. Sarah @ healthygirlrunning permalink
    April 25, 2011 6:47 pm

    Looks like you had an awesome vacation!! Haha! Love the sombrero pics!! 🙂

  17. April 25, 2011 7:35 pm

    It looks like such a great weekend, I ADORE Hilton Head. My aunt and uncle own a timeshare and every year I cross my fingers for an invite! My friends and I are having a beach weekend next month in NC and I can’t wait 🙂

  18. April 25, 2011 7:47 pm

    my old college roomie used to frequent hilton head and RAVED about it 🙂 she always had the most amazing pictures. glad you had such an awesome time girly!!

  19. April 25, 2011 8:55 pm

    Miss you!!! Come back!!!!!!
    P.S. This is the pizza crust recipe: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2011/02/gluten-free-pizza-crust-my-new-recipe.html

  20. April 26, 2011 5:29 am

    American’s are a lot more Church going then the rest of the world… We Eastered in Florida last year and Easter Sunday mass was packed! Looks like you had a blast!

    cheers

  21. April 26, 2011 10:46 am

    I am so jealous of your tan lines and the view from your property! Looks like a great vacantion with family, foods, and good food 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. It Makes Me Feel Better « Fitting It All In
  2. 2011 Goals: April Review « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

