Skip to content

Looks Like Barf

April 27, 2011

Morning! My internet was out last night so I couldn’t post. If you’re dying to know, the highlights of my Tuesday were purchasing the new Carrots n Cake book and making a bomb green monster as part of my dinner. Oh and going to bed at 8:30 right when Glee ended.

This morning I was up for Bikram Yoga. Speaking of, there is a $40 for a month unlimited Groupon for Bikram today, but it’s only for new customers :(. Anyway, I considered not going since class focuses on breathing through your nose – something I’m not great at right now. But as usual, I felt fantastic during the class and my sinuses cleared up. Another win for exercising.

OUTFIT:

Simple, but pretty necklace that my friend Irene gave me:)

 

BREAKFAST:

My breakfast looks like barf. I am aware of this. But really it’s a breakfast cookie that I topped with peanut flour sauce. It tastes a thousand million billion times better than it looks.

Fitnessista style, I made this breakfast cookie using:

  • 1/3 cup raw oats (not quick cooking)
  • 1 TBSP vanilla protein powder
  • 1 spoonful almond butter (Maranatha currently)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 TBSP soy milk

Peanut flour sauce was just 1 TBSP peanut flour mixed with some stevia, water and pinch of salt. And even though this isn’t nearly as big in volume as my oatmeal bowls, it actually takes a while to eat if you savour the spoonfuls. It holds me over just as well too.

******************

I’m gonna try to get the Bootylicious Blog Award that Carrie gave me up this afternoon, so look forward to that! Have a great Wednesday!

QUESTION:

  • Are you a volume eater or can you eat smaller meals that pack a punch with dense ingredients?

I’m a volume eater but I’m getting much better about it. I used to just try to eat as much of a low-cal food as I could, but I’m realizing that smaller portions of healthy fats and whole grains can satisfy me too. But I think I’ll always like having lots of food:) 

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 10:01 am

    Pretty necklace, I love it! And I definitely did a double-take when I saw your post title, haha. Glad your breakfast tasted better than it looked 🙂

  2. April 27, 2011 10:09 am

    Lol my bowls of oatmeal look like barf half of the time too but they taste amazing! I’ve never tried pb flour before, I gotta get on this asap. I thought the same about the breakfast cookie first time I made it. I didn’t think it would hold me over as long as my bowl of oats but I was surprised at how well it did! I try to spread it out my meals into smaller portions so that my stomach can handle it better 🙂

  3. April 27, 2011 10:18 am

    haha Alot of the time my food looks gross its actually the best!

  4. April 27, 2011 10:18 am

    I think oatmeal always looks like barf haha. I’m a volume eater. I like to have lots of little (healthy) things at a meal. The longer the meal lasts, the better. I know that small portions of healthy fats and grains are good, but it’s usually not my eating style 🙂

  5. April 27, 2011 10:40 am

    I’m not a volume eater in general, but in front of a plate of cookies, it’s a different story.

  6. April 27, 2011 10:51 am

    Carrots and cakes, does that mean you combined them and made a delicious carrot cake? Green monster haha
    I’m a volume eater… If I didn’t run, as I do, I would weight about 250 pounds…

    Cheers

  7. April 27, 2011 10:54 am

    Volume eater for sure. I try to do the smaller meals with a good nutritional punch but never feel full or satisfied after.

  8. applesnoats permalink
    April 27, 2011 11:16 am

    definite volume eater…i like lots and lots of food!
    when i first tried the cookie i was so surprised at how filling it was…maybe it was all the chewing

  9. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    April 27, 2011 12:42 pm

    that breakfast cookie actually looks really good! 🙂 I would say I’m a volume eater…especially since it takes a lot of veggies to fill you up!

  10. April 27, 2011 1:30 pm

    Depends….If I’m eating high raw vegan then yes…..High Volume is the way to go!

  11. April 27, 2011 1:44 pm

    Side note: love your shoes.

  12. April 27, 2011 2:29 pm

    it depends on the meal. usually i can’t get enough veggies and then i add in just a little pb or hummus to dip them in so i get nice & full but still get the good fats and other stuff from the dips! 🙂

  13. April 27, 2011 2:34 pm

    I always cringe when I photograph or post curries and certain pasta sauces because they def look regurgitated…I just have to trust that you guys will appreciate the fact that they taste better than they look!!! I do like volume eating for most meals, but a few strategically placed indulgent desserts will always beat out handfuls of low-cal cookies!

  14. April 27, 2011 3:16 pm

    OH LOVE THIS!! it depends for me.. sometimes im feeling volume.. other times i dont care- i just wnt something that tastes good! voluminous or not!

  15. April 27, 2011 8:25 pm

    Really like the necklace….makes your whole outfit!

  16. April 27, 2011 8:59 pm

    Thanks for stopping by the blog today!!

    I would say that I am more of a ‘smaller meals that pack a punch’ kinda girl during the week, but I’m probably more of volume eater on the weekends?!

    LOVE the necklace BTW!

  17. Lauren permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:22 pm

    hey Clare! Your comments are “off” for your newer post. I hope that you didn’t get any mean comments! Also, what do you typically wear to bikram? Charlottesville’s groupon today is for 50% off at the local studio for a month!

Leave a Reply

