Skip to content

Bring Your Kid To The Hospital?

April 28, 2011

Helloooo again! I just got a last-minute babysitting job tonight so I figured I’d post now since I can’t later. That’s like 4 nights in a row with no dinner post. I don’t know if I should be upset or happy that I actually have things to do with myself these days.

Lunch today was a Clare classic – Dr. Praeger’s on sprouted grain bread with mustard, spinach, tomato, and avocado. On the side I had some snow peas and an apple.

 

It never ceases to amaze me that I can eat a full lunch and be hungry 2 hours later. But I get verrryy grumpy when I’m hungry so I always have plenty of snacks nearby. Today I crunched on some carrot sticks and roasted red pepper hummus.

Dinner will probably be something easy like an egg sandwich. And then I’ll devour an entire container of melon and pineapple like I’ve done every night this week. It’s too good!!

**

BRING YOUR KID TO WORK DAY

Those of you working folk may have noticed that today is “bring your kid to work” day. There has been no shortage of squealing and racing around the halls in my office, that’s for sure. But I’m extremely jealous that my company actually puts together activities for the kids. The middle -schoolers are currently in a competition to design a pair of animal print shoes! And they got pizza and wings for lunch. No fair.

I never really did the whole “bring your kid to work” thing when I was younger. I probably would have refused, actually, considering the times that I had to go to work with my parents involved me sitting in a hospital waiting room for hours trying not to be sick from that ever-present “hospital smell”.

source

Going to work with a doctor isn’t exactly a fun-filled experience. Plus hospitals make me sad.

source

Get it?? I’m BORED! bahahah.

Anyway, I was pretty impressed with the quality of “bring your kid to work day” at my office. Did you ever go to work with your parents? Did your company do anything special for the kids today?

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    April 28, 2011 3:59 pm

    we had bean bag tosses, runway shows, one on one interviews with the head of HR, ice cream social, create your own credit card design, bubble blowing, yoga ball rides, photo shoots, wind up toy races, wii games…it was histerical! 40 kids from 5-10 running around…I took a half day…

  2. April 28, 2011 4:10 pm

    I work from home, and my kids went to school! They would have been ecstatic if I had let them stay home with me, haha. I don’t recall ever going to work with my dad.

  3. Abby permalink
    April 28, 2011 4:18 pm

    I never went to any official “bring your kid to work day” activities. My dad works for the railroad so I don’t think they would allow a kid to come along on one of their trips. lol. My mom works in a nursing home. They had a thing at Halloween where employees could bring their kids up in the evening in their Halloween costumes and Trick or Treat so that the residents could see all of the costumes. We also went and did Christmas Caroling there.

  4. April 28, 2011 4:23 pm

    That’s so neat that your work had fun activities for the kids! Only my dad worked when I was growing up, but I enjoyed going to work with him–he’s a college professor, so I would sit at his desk and pretend to take notes. In middle school, I went with a friend to her mom’s work. She owned a bagel shop; we actually learned how to make bagels! It was so cool! (And tasty!) 🙂

  5. April 28, 2011 4:50 pm

    haa Yes i totally went to work with my dad every year on bring your kid to work day, and christmas eve! There was always fun activities and games set up for the kids, and of course lots of great foood 🙂

  6. April 28, 2011 4:56 pm

    My mom was the kind of parent that never let me miss school so even for something like take your child to work day my butt was in school! 😦 Funny how you’re writing about this because my mom went out today with my godmother and she brought her grand kids with her since it was “take your child to work”. They were going shopping haha

    • April 28, 2011 5:03 pm

      That’s exactly how my parents were too…my dad managed a retail store so I’d been at his work. Both my parents felt that I shouldn’t miss school even though all my friends were absent! I remember trying to convince my parents, but it never worked!! haha

  7. April 28, 2011 5:03 pm

    GR they dont have that bring ur kid thing in the UK! i MISSED OUT big time!

  8. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:25 pm

    I was looking at that cartoon for like a minute but getting it. “I’m wood?” But then I scrolled down hahaha!

  9. April 28, 2011 5:38 pm

    How cool. I think I may have done this with my dad when I was a kid but I definitely did not with my mom. She taught elementary school. I guess it wouldn’t have been as bad as having to go to the hospital but it would not have been much fun.

    I’m in love with Dr. Praeger’s burgers lately. So good!

  10. April 28, 2011 7:05 pm

    My dad always brought me to work on that day. He was a food salesman for a bunch of restaurants and they always gave me all kinds of free food at each one. It was awesome, they all loved me and I ended the day STUFFED from eating at like 5 restaurants.

  11. April 28, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’ve been eating pineapple every single night this week too! It’s like candy this time of year.

  12. April 28, 2011 7:30 pm

    That’s so cool that you guys had activities for the kids! When I was little, my mom was self-employed and cleaned houses…she’s since moved onto another job, but I remember going with her and just watching the TV or vacuuming 😛

  13. April 28, 2011 7:43 pm

    I know exactly what you mean about having a full lunch but then being hungry 2 hours later! I always have a snack in my purse when I go out!

    When I was a kid and did the go to work with your parent day, there were no planned activities at my mom’s office. I think planned activities would make the day so much more fun, because I remember I had been bored out of my mind!

  14. April 28, 2011 8:03 pm

    hahaha i’m gonna bring my kid to work…and then make them do all my work hahaha

    i always find it so odd that i have a HUGE breakfast at 9am and then no fail by 12:30 i’m BEASTLY hungry! don’t get in my way when this happens hahaha

  15. April 28, 2011 10:06 pm

    OMG…that “I’m bored” picture made me crack up! I seriously laughed out loud! 😀

  16. April 28, 2011 10:13 pm

    I remember going to work with my dad a couple of times! I loved those days. I sat at his desk and played Solitaire on the computer. 🙂

  17. April 28, 2011 10:23 pm

    Wish I would of know I would of taken my kids with me to work. One of the minuses of being self employed. Maybe next year.

    Great guest post over at MizFit’s page today!

  18. squigglefloey permalink
    April 29, 2011 12:56 am

    Haha I totally went with my dad to his bring your daughter to work day! He’s an engineer and works for a satellite company — so I basically had no idea what was going on — as I was surrounded by a bunch of men with PHDs in Physics. I think the highlight of those trips was probably getting to play games on their computers…hah.
    ps. Yea, I get hungry every 2hrs / 1.5hrs no matter how much I eat. Nom nom.

  19. April 29, 2011 6:53 am

    I went to work with my dad a couple times when I was younger. It was always so boring, but I was excited every single time. My fave part was that he had a white board in his office…always with brand new markers for me to doodle with lol. Aw the simple pleasures in life 🙂

  20. April 29, 2011 7:25 am

    Haha I used to go to the hospital with my dad too!! I got to go into the OR a few times and I think seeing the surgeries traumatized me.

  21. April 29, 2011 8:39 am

    My mom worked at home so I thought I was the luckiest kid ever – until she had me file paperwork most of the day.

  22. April 29, 2011 9:55 am

    had to let you know people are commenting on your post on my FB page
    thanks again!

  23. April 29, 2011 10:15 am

    You’re hungary cause of all your activity… I find I am hungary all the time, could easily eat all the time, but I stop myself or I would..
    All the food on your blog always looks good
    I never went to work with my parents either as a kid
    Cheers

  24. April 29, 2011 11:20 am

    Although I never did the ‘bring your kid to work thing’, here at Dial Doctors we have an unofficial ‘bring tyour kid to work whenever school is out, your babysitter bails, etc.’ The best part is I’m the one taking care of them. My job is social media (I’m a clinical psychologist so I don’t actually talk to patients) so they figure since I’m not on the phone I can do it. I enjoy when the kids are here and I will usually walk them around the floor and have them throw kisses at the doctors! That makes the doctors extra happy and the kids feel important.

Leave a Reply

