Skip to content

Ordinary Time Lunch Date

April 30, 2011

So the internet at my house is really cool and likes to just not work about…every night. I had planned on getting tons of blog reading and posting done last night, but no such luck. PLUS my recording of the Royal Wedding stopped right before the ceremony ended. I’m hoping I can find a re-run of it sometime this week to watch.

********************

Anyway, yesterday my older brother and I decided to continue our Lenten tradition of going out to lunch on Fridays. This started because he was a bit lost as to where to get good meat-free options, but we enjoyed it so much that we decided to keep it up. Now we can just call them Ordinary Time Lunch Dates.

I found out about a tiny little place called Blackberry Cafe online and it turns out its just down the street from where we work. The menu looked great so we decided to check it out.

Immediately the Greek owner greeted us and started telling us about their ingredients and specialties. I love it when places are personal and friendly! We sampled their blackberry iced tea and then placed our orders. Next time I’m going with their falafel, but yesterday I got the veggie wrap. It came with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion, mushroom, feta, and their house lemon vinaigrette. I asked for hummus to be added. He told me twice that hummus was added. There was no hummus on this wrap.

But it was still delicious! I’m starting to like feta more and more which is exciting. It wasn’t very filling, so I snacked through the afternoon. I had an apple, and orange, carrots and hummus, and a chocolate chip cookie dough Lara bar. Starvin’ Marvin!!

Blackberry Cafe on Urbanspoon

**********************

After work I decided to to treat myself to a movie. I invited a few people but everyone was busy, so I saw Water For Elephants solo. The movie was just okay to me, but I am biased because I just finished the incredible book. So much detail was left out and I didn’t think there was much connection between Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson. I probably would have enjoyed it MUCH more had I not read the book first.

On the way home I picked up my usual Crazy Bowls and Wraps meal – a tofu veggie bowl with brown rice. I had it for dinner along with some fruit and and chocolate nibbles. I finally tried and Alternative Baking Company cookie and it was DIVINE. Would never guess they were vegan.

And then I went out! My musician friend Pat is back in town on his way to his sister’s wedding so we had to show him a good time. We headed to an area called Clayton and met up with a bunch of friends for drinks. And when I got home I made the BEST late night snack ever – whole wheat wrap with pumpkin butter and granola inside. Nothing like going to sleep full of alcohol and sugar.

Patrick and Me

Maggie, Taylor, Me

****************

This morning I slept until 10!! I mean of course I woke up naturally at 5:50, but I fell back asleep until 10! Craziness. When I woke up I grabbed half a banana with almond butter and some animal crackers before departing on an 8 mile run. Really trying to keep up the longer runs on the weekends even though training is over. The run was a little tough since I had a late night, but it was a beautiful day and I was happy to be out there enjoying it.

Post run lunch was a green monster with some Kashi Go Lean Crunch on top. I also had an English muffin with hummus.

Friends are on their way to get me to spend the day together. Should be a blast. Talk to you guys later!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 2:44 pm

    All of your meals look GREAT! Except that it’s too bad your wrap didn’t come with the hummus…such a bummer. YAY feta! I looooooove feta cheese…especially on salads, as a dressing replacement. It gets soft and coats the other salad ingredients and is so tangy-delicious!
    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Abby permalink
    April 30, 2011 2:44 pm

    That is great that you and your bro are going to continue your weekly lunch dates! Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. April 30, 2011 2:49 pm

    It looks like your late night was really fun though! (;
    Waking up naturally at 5:50 is something I couldn’t ever do in my life! I became an “early riser” when I started waking up at 8:30 on my own…

    I never thought to top my smoothies with Go Lean! I love their cereals and it’s so delicious and healthy. Thanks for the idea ! (:

  4. April 30, 2011 3:32 pm

    what a fun night!! worth it even tho the run wasnt as great- yet that looks like a great run to me!! fantastic time!

  5. Amy permalink
    April 30, 2011 4:42 pm

    Oh my gosh Alternative Baking Company cookies are THE best! I eat one every saturday– it’s basically my version of your Crazy Bowls and Wraps meal. 😀 What one did you try! My favorite is the pumpkin one… nothing beats it. 🙂

  6. April 30, 2011 5:21 pm

    That wrap looks delicious even though he didn’t add hummus 😦 I’ve grown fond of feta cheese too, I love adding it to salads when I decide to go Greek 😀

  7. April 30, 2011 5:56 pm

    LOVED the book, but I think I’ll probably wait till the DVD comes out to watch the movie. One book turned movie I am excited to see is Something Borrowed, it comes out this week! Your late night snack sounds delish, much healthier than mine last night, a McDonalds milkshake.

  8. April 30, 2011 6:01 pm

    I didn’t see the movie but I think you could sort of tell from interviews there wasn’t much of a connection… still want to see it though! Haven’t read the book 🙂

  9. April 30, 2011 6:13 pm

    It seriously makes me feel better to hear that you went to the movie solo. I like doing stuff alone sometimes and people seem to think it’s weird! I think it’s kind of empowering.

    P.S. I’ve never had a green monster, but that looks delicious!

    • May 11, 2011 11:20 pm

      I agree!!!! Going to the movies alone is a huge rush! Totally worth it.

  10. oatsandspice permalink
    April 30, 2011 6:40 pm

    Lunch dates are the best – the place you went looks so cute and eclectic – glad to hear you had a great time with your brother!

    I have been waiting to hear how that movie Water For Elephants is… still debating if I should go see it or not.

    Have a great Saturday night Clare!

  11. April 30, 2011 6:59 pm

    That green monster looks so delish 🙂

  12. April 30, 2011 10:00 pm

    Waking up at 10 am is early for me. LOl. I would be sooo proud if I woke before noon!

    This post is making me miss my brother sooo much. Unfortunately, though we love each other dearly, we are not friends-close enough for lunch dates.

  13. May 1, 2011 10:25 am

    Alternative Baking Company cookies are SO good! The pumpkin spice one is my favorite!

  14. May 2, 2011 7:36 am

    I love reading your blog.. It is so detailed and interesting 🙂
    Great run BTW… 8mi in 1:09 is awesome!
    It’s great that you and your bro do the lunch dates..

    cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Egyptians Do Falafel RIGHT « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

