Skip to content

Happy Birthday To…

May 2, 2011

MY DAD!!

(and Mama Pea!)

My Dad and me, Father Daughter Dance, 2006

 

Fun facts about my dad:

  1. All of my friends refer to him as “Irish Tim”
  2. He is happiest on a golf course, preferably in Ireland
  3. He has this ridiculous muffled chuckle that you can barely hear and sounds like a grunt. I was lucky to inherit it from him.
  4. Setting foot on Notre Dame’s campus puts him in a good mood
  5. He could live off of bagels and cream cheese and chocolate chip cookies

 

Happy Birthday Daddy! Love you!

*****************************

This morning I woke up determined to get in a great “back-on-track” workout after a weekend of indulgence.  I thought about doing the same “3-2-1” workout that I did last Monday, but then I realized I’d want to stay on the treadmill to watch Osama coverage instead of reading a magazine on the elliptical. I ended up running 6 miles of intervals in 49 minutes looking like this:

  • 10 minute warm up at 6.5mph
  • 1 minute intervals from 8.0 up to 9.5 (!!!) with a 1 minute recovery in between at 6.7 mph
  • ~8 minute cool down at 6.5mph to finish out the 6 miles

 

9.5mph is a 6:17 pace and the fasted I’ve ever run! The whole time I was thinking “how in the world do people do this for 26 miles?? I never found the answer.

After my run I rounded out the hour with 10 minutes on the stairstepper before stretching and abs. Great sweaty way to start my week.

 

OUTFIT:

We’re going out to a nice dinner tonight for my Dad’s birthday so I decided to dress up a bit. This is a new skirt, peach shirt, and peach belt from the J.Crew Outlet in Hilton Head. Shoes are Adolfo Dominguez but I got them free from work:)

 

Sweater: Target, Shirt, belt & Skirt: J. Crew, Shoes: Adolfo Dominguez

 

 Shoe close up:

 

BREAKFAST:

Soupy banana chia oats (too much water) with Sunbutter.

Stay tuned for a really random Monday Man-Day post later this afternoon. Have a great day!

  • Quick! Tell me something about your dad!
20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 10:36 am

    Aww happy birthday to your daddy!! Mine is my best friend- he’s the best! And we share a love for beer 🙂

  2. irene permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:46 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY IRISH TIM!!!

  3. May 2, 2011 10:58 am

    Happy birthday to your dad!! Have a fun dinner with him! You look perfect for a birthday dinner.

    My dad is amazing! He’s short, bald, and the most wonderful teacher I know. Haha! He also makes a MEAN gin and tonic with lime.

    I love your thoughts about running at a 6:17 pace…I was just talking to my husband last night about my running speed, and I was telling him that my 10 min pace felt pretty good, and that I just can’t fathom running any faster! haha 🙂

  4. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    May 2, 2011 11:00 am

    It’s my dad’s birthday too!!! 🙂 Yay for dads!

  5. Abby permalink
    May 2, 2011 11:01 am

    I love that skirt! Something about my dad is that he is a Husker fanatic..our garage is more of a Husker man cave than a place for vehicles! Lol. Sometimes I think he would rather live out there! He is a great guy though! I am definitely a daddy’s girl at heart!

  6. May 2, 2011 11:18 am

    adorable shoes! And Happy Bday to your dad! Fun fact about mine–he PRed at his half marathon yesterday 🙂 Rockstar!

  7. May 2, 2011 11:19 am

    oh happy birthday to your dad, I hope you have a lovely celebratory dinner! 🙂

    That run is awesome, you go girl! Love the outfit as well have a great monday! 🙂

  8. May 2, 2011 11:28 am

    Awesome run… Excellent outfit, and happy bday to your dad

    cheers

  9. May 2, 2011 11:54 am

    Happy Birthday to your dad! My dad is retired and has taken on many hobbies and the one he took up several years ago is bee keeping 🙂 It’s a bonus for me because it means I have access to all the unlimited raw unprocessed honey I can stand 🙂 Yumm 🙂

  10. May 2, 2011 11:57 am

    Happy Birthday to your dad! My dad is actually my step-dad, but he is the most amazing dad anyone could ever ask for! He has been in my life since I was 2 years old and I am so thankful for him! 🙂

  11. May 2, 2011 12:06 pm

    My Dad is the most outgoing person I’ve ever met. He instantly becomes best friends with someone and is the BEST person at the “who do you know?” game. He knows everyone it seems. I always wish I could walk into a party and be as outgoing and friendly as my Dad is…

  12. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    Fun fact: My dad could live off dark chocolate peanut butter cups from Trader Joe’s.

    Have a great day, and I love that skirt!!

  13. May 2, 2011 1:06 pm

    Your dad seems like an awesome guy – happy birthday to him!!! And the thing I love about my dad is that he can put anyone at ease with his mild nature, sense of humor, and caring personality! 🙂 Have a great day!

  14. May 2, 2011 1:07 pm

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! 😀
    I love how your dad could live off of chocolate cookies and bagels, mine could definitely have peanut butter cookies for the rest of his life and be well-satisfied!

  15. pbprincess11 permalink
    May 2, 2011 1:14 pm

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! You have the cutest wardrobe, I am so jealous (and jealous you get free shoes from your work so lucky!)

    Random fact about my dad, he is a die hard Georgia Tech fan (his alma mater, 3 degrees!) and I am pretty sure he is going to cry when he sees me get my degree from Tech on Sunday, which means I will cry too lol

  16. May 2, 2011 1:38 pm

    That skirt is adorable!

  17. May 2, 2011 2:50 pm

    Happy Birthday to your daddy!! I love your outfit, super cute especially the skirt and the adorable shoes.

  18. squigglefloey permalink
    May 2, 2011 3:25 pm

    My dad is the smartest man I know, but also the most stubborn. It’s hard for me to have of close a relationship with him as I do with my mom because our personalities are so alike — haha. I love him though, and like you — I find telling him that tough to do! E-mailing works 🙂
    Happy bday to your adorable daddy!

  19. boo permalink
    May 2, 2011 9:39 pm

    My Dad was a stydent at ND in the late 40’s when they still said said the daily rosary and had prayers at the Grotto! He was a season ticket holder, and he and my Mom started their honeymoon in South Bend! There is something magical about Notre Dame!

  20. May 4, 2011 11:09 am

    Happy belated birthday to your dad! One thing about my dad is that his nickname is Cowboy yet he has probably rode a horse like twice in his life.

Leave a Reply

