Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Real Men Drink Coffee?

May 2, 2011

This might be the most ridiculous Man-Day topic ever. Please just indulge me.

So my friend Maggie’s cousin was talking about what he gets at Starbucks the other day. I asked if he was one of those people thatย claims the like coffee, but really just like’s mocha frappacinos. He said “NO! I get coffee. Usually a latte….is that gay?”

**Please don’t start yelling at me for an inappropriate use of the word gay**

Back to the point. He said he actually sometime’s gets a Vanilla Latte, but he wasn’t sure if it was a Skinny Vanilla Latte or not. The whole conversation kind of just cracked me up.

source

Not all guys are into coffee. My dad, brothers, and boyfriend never touch the stuff, so I always kind of associated coffee with females. It’s still a little weird to me to see men with a mug of coffee or ordering in Starbucks, but I know that’s just because I wasn’t exposed to it. In fact my family recommended that my brother John apply for a job at Starbucks one summer and he said that if someone came in and ordered a “ventiย skinny double shot no whip anything” he would slap them in the face. I don’t think the job would have been a good fit…

source

So anyway, here’s the conversation I want to have: Do the males in your life drink coffee? Do they get all fancy about it with sugars, milks, and specialty orders? Do you think it’s weird if guys do that?

I guess I kind of do, just because I’ve never been around males that enjoy coffee. But now I feel all bad about being sexist.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 6:55 pm

    I’ve never really known a guy to be really particular about their coffee orders—it’s usually pretty basic- black coffee (with maybe some added cream and sugar). I have to admit I would probably be a bit taken back if a guy I was with was all about ordering a fancy cup of coffee. Dare I say– it would make me feel like they’re high maintenance or something? Haha

  2. Diane permalink
    May 2, 2011 6:58 pm

    I don’t think regular coffee is girly at all! I think “skinny” anything/teas/fraps and the like are, but not just a coffee or espresso with basic mix ins like milk and sugar.

  3. May 2, 2011 7:04 pm

    I only drink black coffee, no milk, no sugar, no flavors. That’s what my dad drinks as well. I should add my dad is 100% italian and espresso is one of his favorite things, he has it every day after dinner. But mostly, I think of coffee as a taste thing. My guys friends that are coffee drinkers are particular about the beans that they get (but so am I cause if you’re drinking it black you want good beans!), but I’d probably look at them funny if they started talking about syrups and sugars and flavoring.

  4. Abby permalink
    May 2, 2011 7:04 pm

    The guys in my life just drink black coffee or Americanos–nothing froo froo. lol. My boyfriend likes his with half and half on occasion.

  5. May 2, 2011 7:06 pm

    A lot of my guy friends drink coffee, but it’s usually black and they make it themselves. One of my really good friends, is gay and I laugh every time I see him with huge sunglasses clutching onto his coffee, just because it reminds me of Rachel Zoe haha.

  6. May 2, 2011 7:38 pm

    My boyfriend drinks coffee but black he refuses to drink anything fancy..i can only drink coffee w milk and some sort of cream/sugar/syrup

  7. May 2, 2011 8:18 pm

    My Dad is a complete latte junkie. He has a couple a day (one is half-caf or decaf though). My husband has coffee with milk in the morning….well, it’s more like has milk with some coffee in it….

    I don’t think it’s weird for a guy to drink a latte! Maybe it’s just because my Dad always drinks them and he’s a man’s man…but yeah.

  8. May 2, 2011 8:33 pm

    My dad drinks coffee every morning, but just with a little milk and sugar. He doesn’t like Starbucks because he thinks it’s “frilly.” So yeah, if a guy got a skinny-mocha-chocha blah blah latte, I’d probably question what team he’s playing for if you knowwhatImean ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. May 2, 2011 8:46 pm

    I do think it’s a little odd when a guy orders a frappuccino or starts getting creative with his drink haha My boyfriend loves coffee but straight up black with splenda to sweeten ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. May 2, 2011 8:53 pm

    I introduced my ex-boyfriend to starbucks and he quickly became a frappacino MONSTER. Any time of the day or night he would ask me to go to starbucks. At 9pm before work the next day, Umm no I wanted to go to sleep! Definitely turned me off, seemed awfully feminine to me. I am sure there are guys who order frapps and are a little less crazy!!

  11. May 2, 2011 8:57 pm

    Hey! I just discovered you blog today and I LOVE it!

    My man HATES coffee! I brew my own up every morning and always try to make him take a swig because it is so darn good but he refuses!!
    I think it seems sophisticated when a man drinks coffee! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I can also so how a man holding a tall Starbucks coffee with skinny vanilla latte writen on the side would be a bit humorous! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the post!
    Cara

  12. May 2, 2011 8:59 pm

    THe males in my life love coffee and aren’t scared to get fancy about it!

  13. Kelly Adams permalink
    May 2, 2011 9:08 pm

    My man gets a venti dark roast coffee. every. single. time.

  14. May 2, 2011 9:12 pm

    My dad and grandpap drink coffee in the morning as they read the paper, but that’s it. My bf hates coffee and anything that has to do with it, however…he loves hot chocolate! Haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. May 2, 2011 9:15 pm

    My husband is addicted to coffee! He’s actually starting to roast his own beans. The good thing about his addiction is that he makes French Press coffee every morning for us – I never have to worry about it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. May 2, 2011 9:17 pm

    My dad drinks coffee all the time but he drinks it black. I don’t think that has anything to do with him wanting to be macho or anything like that but he just enjoys his coffee black

  17. May 2, 2011 10:13 pm

    I don’t judge either way but I know a lot of guys who drink coffee, and most of them drink it black. I guess I’ve always been under the impression that real men drink black coffee and “sissies” drink tea or something sugary, but I think that’s just my dad making fun of people ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Now that i”m thinking about it, I guess less guys drink coffee than I thought… but within my household it’s always been my dad drinking espresso shots and my mom drinking super milky coffee… Interesting to think about! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Shells permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:14 pm

    In college I would regularly refer to non-fat sugar free vanilla lattes as the “sorority girl drink” (and I was a sorority girl, mind you). I found it hysterical when my man-friends would get these pricey many-meal-point drinks and I would get my cheap drip occasionally with a splash of soy.

    I don’t actually care… I’m sure my stepfather would be horribly offended if I called his heavily creamed and sugared coffee anything close to “latte,” but he is from the down-home-all-my-family-lives-on-the-same-block rural rural Kentucky where heaven forbid a man have a sophisticated coffee palate…. Tee hee. No offense to anyone. I love the fancy-coffee-drinking men in my life!!

  19. May 2, 2011 10:39 pm

    I’ve turned every guy in my life into coffee lovers…haha. My dad now orders Iced Coffee (“with Nonfat and two Sweet N’ Lows, please”) and my boyfriend, who used to only drink the most fattening, sugary drinks (Frappucinos) from Starbucks, now has a longer drink order than me (Iced Coffee, Nonfat, 3 pumps of SF caramel, 2 Sweet N’ Lows, light ice—I kid you not!). So I guess it depends on the guy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 3, 2011 12:06 am

    The men in my family get vanilla lattes with soy milk or mocha frappuccinos. I don’t really find it weird- I think they should drink what they like, especially if it’s a $5 purchase.

  21. May 3, 2011 2:06 am

    HAHA I love this topic!! I recently revealed to my boyfriend (of 2 yrs) that when we very first started dating I was nervous to ask him to go to coffee with me because I thought he would find it too “girly.” Now we go all the time! He usually gets an iced coffee with skim milk… I think it’s so cute. =P

  22. PAM permalink
    May 3, 2011 7:25 am

    I drink coffee with stevia in it and my husband drinks it(very seldom, if he does) with LOTS of sugar and creamer..

  23. May 3, 2011 8:15 am

    My dad drinks instant coffee, haha. One of my best guy friends loves skinny no-whip cinnamon dolce lattes, but then again, he’s gay, so….

  24. May 3, 2011 8:48 am

    First of all, Monday Man-Day confuses me. I thought there was a dude guest posting on Mondays. But then sometimes it seems like it’s you. Confused I am, yes.

    Inyhoo, coffee. Every guy I know drinks it. They usually do not opt for the girly drinks. Some guys drink it black, I think just so they can say they do.

  25. May 3, 2011 8:52 am

    Everyone I know drinks coffee… I don’t like Starbucks Coffee… I find it taste the same as the stuff you make @ home and cost too much!

    cheers

  26. May 3, 2011 9:14 am

    I never liked coffee until I met my husband, whose family owned a coffee making company. When I met him he had at least 3 different coffee makers (french press, espresso machine, cold brew). He drinks it black every day. I was the one who progressed–albeit slowly–from frappucinos to lattes to plain old coffee ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Anna permalink
    May 3, 2011 10:08 am

    I lovvvve coffee and I drink it every morning with 2% milk and equal. My bf drinks 2 cups black in the morning– not because he likes it but because it keeps him awake and focused. I’ve always said that black coffee gives me a stomachache but he claims that my coffee with all the sweetness gives him the stomachache! Hmm… He isn’t opposed to ordering a latte, but no flavor shots for him. I love me my skinny vanilla lattes ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. May 6, 2011 10:59 pm

    I personally cannot stand coffee and personally would rather eat a raw onion (yuck!), but I know that my mom loves coffee and all the rest of the people in my family love tea. My parents are originally from England, so we always have a pot of fresh tea in the house. I will on occasion have a cup of tea, but I am not a huge fan of that either. My dad drinks tea, but needs to have it with a bit of skim milk and my brother will drink coffee but it is usually an extra strong coffee with no cream or anything “girly”! ๐Ÿ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. Calling Ahead « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

