Skip to content

Tahini For The Win

May 3, 2011

I did something I haven’t done in a while…I cooked! I was itching to get back into the kitchen for some simple, whole food. When I got home from work I scoured our pantry and refrigerator to see what I had to work with and ended up basing my meal on brown rice and chick peas. I also pulled out some veggies that we had on hand to round out the dish.

First I sauteed about 1/3 of an onion and got the brown rice in a pot to cook.

When the onion was soft, I added 1 cup of frozen peas and 2 huge handfuls of torn spinach.

To help the spinach wilt down, I poured the cooked brown rice into the pan along with 1 cup of drained and rinsed chickpeas. After about one minute I poured the mixture into a bowl and popped it into the fridge to cool for a few minutes. I just wasn’t in the mood for a piping hot meal tonight.

I cleaned up my mess and when I was finished I pulled the pot out of the fridge to serve. The mixture got sprayed with a hefty dose of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos before I took it outside to photograph.

But as I sat down to eat, I realized I wanted some healthy fats in the dish. I didn’t think nut butter would go well, but the lonely tahini (sesame seed butter) on the top shelf of my fridge was calling my name. I drizzled just a bit on top and taste tested…

GENIUS! The tahini totally made this dish. It added the most creamy, lucious texture and blended perfectly with the other flavors. I immediately got out a little jar and packed up some tahini to take to work for tomorrow’s leftovers at lunch. Before this meal might have just been a quick throw together supper, but now it’s a recipe I can’t wait to recreate!

Brown Rice & Chickpea Salad with Tahini

  • 1 cup (dry) brown rice
  • 1/3 white onion, diced
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 2 -3 cups raw spinach
  • 1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 TBSP Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)
  • 2 TBSP tahini

Prepare brown rice according to directions. While rice is cooking, sautee onion in a pan on medium heat. When onion is translucent, add peas and spinach. Pour cooked rice overtop the vegetable mixture to wilt spinach and add chickpeas at the end. Pour mixture into a bowl and add Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. Drizzle tahini on top and serve!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:43 pm

    I love it when random thrown together meals end up being killer! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds yummy!

  2. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:49 pm

    this looks amazing! good work. you can’t go wrong with tahini ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. May 3, 2011 8:49 pm

    tahini makes a great quick sauce, but i always find i need some tomatoes to balance out the dryness of it. yummy looking meal. straight up my alley.

  4. May 3, 2011 9:18 pm

    I’ve never had tahini in anything but hummus. But I have a sample jar (thanks to your post on the way to get the small samples!) I’ve been wondering what to do with it, now I know!

  5. May 3, 2011 9:40 pm

    I’ve never cooked anything with tahini but I love your dish. Brown rice and chickpeas are such a perfect combo ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. applesnoats permalink
    May 3, 2011 10:32 pm

    wow what a perfect mixture..would have never thought to add tahini but it sounds amazing!

  7. May 3, 2011 11:43 pm

    I’ve been loving brown rice lately. Usually I eat it with soy sauce, garlic, and runny eggs. I’d love to give this a try though. I have yet to try tahini!

  8. May 4, 2011 12:57 am

    Ooh this looks SO good!!

  9. May 4, 2011 6:02 am

    Oh yum!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. May 4, 2011 6:34 am

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm You make this meatless food look good!

    Cheers

  11. May 4, 2011 6:41 am

    I’ve not had tahini! My parents eat it on toast…which, compared to peanut or almond butter, doesn’t seem very tempting. But it sounds great atop your savory dish!

  12. May 4, 2011 7:47 am

    Hey!

    I have been visiting your blog for several months, just haven’t ever commented–up until now! The recipe sounds delicious & simple, right up my alley. I recently tried the Braggs and I must say I love to use it in recipes! I have only tried tahini once and I didn’t like it but maybe it is time to give it another go~I think my taste buds may have grown up ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have some similar recipes you might like to try over at lizashlee.com. Check it out when you get a chance and let me know what you think. Even though I have been reading food & fitness blogs for awhile, I just started my own, and I am SUPER excited!!

    Have a great day!!

  13. May 4, 2011 4:05 pm

    I’m always looking for more ways to use tahini–this is a great idea!

Trackbacks

  1. Side Dishes to Entertain Vegetarians & Vegans

Leave a Reply

