Skip to content

Rookie Mistake

May 4, 2011

Hello hello hellooooo!

How are you guys today? I’m a bit cheerier than usual because the sun is shining brightly. I tried to snap a picture of the beautiful orange sunrise this morning but by the time I got my camera out the trees were in the way. Sorry.

Yoga was fantastico as usual. I was thinking today about how much easier it is for me now than when I started out. I remember I used to feel like I was literally going to die during those first classes, but now I can get through the whole class without a problem. Yay for progress – but it just means I need to push myself extra hard in each posture so my body doesn’t get too stagnant.

OUTFIT:

Pulled out the black capri’s from Loft that I used to wear all the time in the fall.

 

BREAKFAST:

Does this bowl of oats look more white than usual? It’s because I added a TBSP of vanilla protein powder to the mix!

For the past week or so I’ve noticed that I am extremely snacky throughout the day. No matter how big my meals were, I always got hungry multiple times in the afternoon. After thinking about it I realized I was getting virtually no protein in my diet! Sure my meals had ingredients that contained protein (chia seeds, nut butter, hummus) but they weren’t packing much of a punch in the small amounts I eat. Not enough protein – such a rookie vegetarian mistake!

Now I’m not about to hop onto the “lean chicken and mega protein shake” craze. Protein is important, but in general I think Americans go a little overboard with the amounts they eat. But especially with the extra strength training I’m doing now I need to make sure I’m getting enough. It keeps me satisfied and helps me sculpt those killer biceps 😉

Yesterday’s Greek yogurt with breakfast, tempeh sandwich at lunch, and chickpeas at dinner kept me going all day with only my one normal snack. Today I decided to try adding protein powder to my oats to see if that helps. I’ll be making a more conscious effort to get quality protein into each of my meals now.

  • Is protein important to you? How do you make sure you’re getting enough throughout the day?
29 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 10:19 am

    I have the hardest time getting enough protein. Even though I eat meat, I eat it really rarely, and I simply don’t crave protein! I try to get some in through greens, hemp seeds, miso ect. but could definitely use more!

  2. May 4, 2011 10:30 am

    I’m in the exact same boat right now! I added up my protein for the last two days (little bits like you throughout the day with chia seeds, beans, etc.) and my total was normal and in a good range for my body. Yet, I still feel snacky/hungry and am feeling tired most days.

    I’m frusturated because I’d like to continue not eating meat, but don’t want to continue feeling this way. Any suggestions?

    • May 4, 2011 10:48 am

      For me, if I don’t get enough healthy fats, I won’t be satisfied – even if I get a good dose of protein. I think some oil, cheese (or cheese substitutes), nut butters and dressings or sauces really helps with the satiety factor of a vegetarian diet!

  3. 2blu2btru permalink
    May 4, 2011 10:35 am

    My primary source of protein is lean meat, usually chicken or turkey. I love turkey, so it’s not a trial for me to get plenty of protein in my diet. The struggle for me is fruit. It sounds weird, but I like more vegetables than I like fruits. I don’t understand it, but there you go.

  4. May 4, 2011 10:46 am

    I was surprised when I found out how low in protein hummus was. In my mind, mashed chickpeas should have more than like 3-4 grams! At any rate, I definitely dont worry about protein, but I make sure to get a lot of different forms in my meals – PB, tofu, hemp seeds, beans, etc…and occasionally a scoop of protein powder if I need a boost!

  5. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 4, 2011 10:49 am

    I’ve been having the same thoughts lately, regarding protein intake.

    I try not to consume too much soy, because I’m still not sure where I stand concerning some of the negative press it’s received over the last ten or so years. Despite a lot of studies disparaging soy being funded by the dairy industry (for obvious reasons), I’m still not so sure that I trust it. I do love beans (chickpeas, black beans, kidney beans, pinto beans… the list goes on and on), but I find I’ve been getting bored with that as a main source of protein. There is always fish, but I try to limit my intake of fish because it’s a) expensive and b) should be eaten only about 2-3x a week.

    And furthermore, as a pescetarian, I’m having second thoughts about what my beliefs are. Clearly I do not entirely oppose eating animals since I eat fish. What I THINK I oppose is FACTORY FARMING, and not using a humane slaughter practice.

    Honestly, this giant debate has been circling in my head and consuming my every thought over the last little while.

    Blair

  6. May 4, 2011 10:50 am

    I am an absolute snack monster if I’m protein deficient. I cure it by adding protein powder to my green smoothies, Egg whites to my quinoa bowls, and snacking on Greek yogurt messes. I could never go Vegan because eggs and yogurt really fill me up!

  7. May 4, 2011 11:04 am

    I try so hard to get enough protein but I know I fall way behind. I’m a vegetarian too and its a struggle sometimes…..What kind of protein powder do you use? I have not found one I’m crazy about yet.

  8. May 4, 2011 11:14 am

    Lately I’ve been trying to eat more protein for strength training too!! Especially at breakfast. I love Sun Warrior protein powder, if you’re looking for a good one!

    • Abby permalink
      May 4, 2011 11:24 am

      I tried the Vega Vanilla Sport powder and it tasted and smelled like actual rabbit food. Can you describe the Sun Warrior? lol…I’m trying to find something I like!

      • Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
        May 4, 2011 11:43 am

        Really? That’s so interesting! I LOVE Vega products… I have yet to find one that I dislike!

        Sun Warrior is a nice protein powder… much less chalky than other vegan proteins that I’ve tried.

  9. Abby permalink
    May 4, 2011 11:26 am

    I usually get my protein from greek yogurt–it has a lot! Although I am not a vegetarian, I have been trying to make a more concious effort to follow a more plant based diet. I also love black beans and eggs. I will be interested to see what other people have to say! I always love learning about new things to try! 🙂

  10. May 4, 2011 11:49 am

    Every time I eat I make sure I’m getting a carb and protein! I always notice that I’m a lot hungrier if I don’t eat a lot of protein! It’s important to not go overboard with protein, because the protein your body doesn’t use is stored as fat!

  11. May 4, 2011 12:13 pm

    I think the best thing is to make sure you snacks have protein too. For me, it’s easy to incorporate a string cheese, yogurt, or cottage cheese between meals. Eggs are another great go-to. I consider nuts and seeds to be bonus protein.

  12. Food & Other Things permalink
    May 4, 2011 12:33 pm

    I try to make sure that I got some protein in every meal/snack. For me, protein plays a major role in me feeling full. I normally don’t use protein powder but I’ve been researching different brands and I think I’m going to introduce it into my diet!

  13. May 4, 2011 12:40 pm

    For a vegetarian it can definitely be tough to get adequate amounts of protein. I lift weights so I need to keep my protein moderately high for my weight. I track my macros so for me i try to get a lb of protein per body weight. Plus protein gives you a lot of satiety that carbs just don’t give you.

  14. May 4, 2011 1:24 pm

    Love that bright scarf!

    And I am always looking for ways to add protein to my diet. Being a vegetarian, it’s hard for me because I’m never sure if I’m definitely getting the right amount. I’m thinking about incorporating protein powder but would really like to go the natural route…powder may win!

  15. oatsandspice permalink
    May 4, 2011 2:37 pm

    I am in love with your outfit (as usual) – so cute!

    The sun is also shining here in Michigan and it makes everythingggg better, I swear! I feel like I have more energy 🙂

  16. May 4, 2011 2:39 pm

    Lovin’ your outfit today! 🙂

    While I’m not a vegetarian – I could probably pass as one on most days. I really suck at making sure I get enough protein – which is probably why I’m so snacky all the time! Duh. Thanks for pointing that out!

  17. May 4, 2011 3:03 pm

    I don’t really worry a whole lot about protein because I think the amount we need is less than the amount that’s been so hyped up over the past few years. I just try to balance it all out with Greek yogurt, organic eggs and milk, beans, etc. I call myself a vegetarian but I do eat seafood and fish once in a while.. I guess I’m a pescatarian but I don’t want to explain to every single person who doesn’t know what that is 🙂

  18. May 4, 2011 3:05 pm

    I tend to have a problem eating enough protein because I don’t eat red meat and I don’t snack on things like tuna regularly. I try to get it through eggs and adding protein powder to things like shakes and my oatmeal, but I definitely don’t get as much as I should. It’s something I definitely need to work on!

  19. May 4, 2011 4:12 pm

    you look cute! love your outfits.
    i just passed on an award to you 🙂
    http://www.whatkatiesbaking.com/2011/05/cake-ball-trifle-and-linky-party.html

  20. squigglefloey permalink
    May 4, 2011 4:16 pm

    It’s weird, sometimes my body craves protein — especially chicken, fish, or turkey. But other times it craves carbs. Right now it’s really wanting protein though, so I have to be sure to give it some kinda meat every day.

  21. May 4, 2011 4:24 pm

    Too funny, I was just editing a post that talked about this! I need my protein to keep me full for sure! I am not a vegetarian so typically eat chicken or fish for protein but beans, eggs and protein powder help me out in the protein dept too 🙂

  22. May 4, 2011 5:19 pm

    First of all, love your scarf! I am quite obsessed with scarves, they can perfect an outfit 🙂
    And I always make sure to get in a lot of protein. I definitely notice my energy levels go down without it and I feel hungrier, like you noticed with yourself!

  23. May 4, 2011 6:59 pm

    I am ALWAYS looking for more ways to incorporate protein into my diet. I feel like I am lacking lately. What kind of protein powder do you use?

  24. May 4, 2011 7:43 pm

    I consume a lot of protein not because of a “recommended” intake but because I feel best that way! Whatever works for your body, ya know? 🙂

  25. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 5, 2011 6:54 am

    I love when I go to yoga and I can see progress..for example, camel pose no longer poses the HUGE challenge it once did. Protein intake is tricky for a vegetarian, but I have embraced soy, quinoa and eggs, so all is good…I hope

  26. May 5, 2011 2:55 pm

    i am a protein whore! i eat around 25 grams at each meal. i am sure you will figure out delicious ways to get more protein.. greek yog, cottage cheese, eggs.. mmmm.

Leave a Reply

