Skip to content

The Reason for ‘Ritas

May 5, 2011

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I will admit that every year I have to look up exactly why we are drinking margaritas and eating tacos today. From my trusty news source, AOL.COM:

“Cinco de Mayo is a regional holiday in Mexico, primarily celebrated in the state of Puebla, with some limited recognition in other parts of Mexico. The holiday commemorates the Mexican army’s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862, under the leadership of Mexican General Ignacio Zaragoza Seguín.”

I think Americans definitely celebrate this holiday more than Mexicans, but I’m okay with that. How are you celebrating today?

***************************

WORKOUT:

I wasn’t exactly sure how I wanted to spend my time at the gym today. It’s a day I have reserved for running, but I wasn’t really feeling a longer run. I ended up running 4 miles on the treadmill, walking for 5 minutes at an incline, then 15 minutes on the elliptical and some ab exercises. My run looked like this:

  • 1/2 mile warm up at 6.6mph
  • 1/2 mile at 7.0
  • 1/2 mile at 7.1
  • 1/2 mile at 7.2
  • 1/2 mile at 7.3
  • 1/2 mile at 7.4
  • 1/2 mile at 7.5
  • 1/2 mile cool down at 6.6mph

And it was a music day! Sometimes I just can’t handle hearing the news again. It’s much more interesting to watch with Beyonce narrating:)

OUTFIT:

When I organized my closet last weekend I put all my boots up at the very top due to the warmer weather. Dumb idea – I love wearing boots all the time! I had to climb up there to get these so I may have to find a new place for them.

Shirt: J. Crew, Sweater: Target, Skirt: H&M, Boots: ?? Steve Madden?

 

BREAKFAST:

I’ve been switching up my breakfasts lately, which is nice after a winter of banana oatmeal every. single. day. One breakfast I never regret choosing is a breakfast cookie! I just can’t get enough of the doughy, chewy goodness topped with peanut flour sauce. And a strawberry for good measure.

Have a lovely day!!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 10:12 am

    very cute outfit today!

  2. May 5, 2011 10:16 am

    I love boots all year round and margaritas too! Have a great day 🙂

  3. applesnoats permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:30 am

    i am in love with those boots…pretty surei have commented that before!
    also i want your spoon, it reminds me of jellies but in silverware form!

  4. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:34 am

    That spoon is fantastic, does it really have to be a Holiday to have a Margarita, well I guess since the typical one has 700 calories, it better be a holiday

  5. elizabethhoward1 permalink
    May 5, 2011 11:20 am

    Your outfit is super cute! Your breakfast cookie looks yummy. Do you have a recipe for it? Cute spoon too. I am sure it makes eating more fun!

  6. May 5, 2011 11:23 am

    I didn’t think there was another reason to celebrate today other than ritas and tacos! Which is exactly how I will be celebrating tonight. 😉

  7. May 5, 2011 11:29 am

    I love those boots with any outfit you wear. Had to look up what Cinco de Mayo was this morning.

    Cheers

  8. May 5, 2011 11:37 am

    I love changing up the speeds regularly on the treadmill. Keeps things interesting.. otherwise.. time just drags!

  9. elizabethhoward1 permalink
    May 5, 2011 12:23 pm

    Thanks for the recipe!

  10. May 5, 2011 12:31 pm

    That is one adorable outfit. Love your breakfast, looks delish!! 😀

  11. May 5, 2011 12:43 pm

    Love the boots with your skirt- super cute outfit!

  12. May 5, 2011 1:58 pm

    love your boots!!!!!! nice workout too!!

  13. May 5, 2011 2:23 pm

    Your outfit is so cute! I finally broke down and bought some boots, and now I can’t stop wearing them! I want more pairs really badly, but it’s almost summer which means flip-flop season, hooray!

    I am obsessed with my oatmeal, but I like mixing it up with smoothies because there are SO many different smoothies I can make. My favorite is plain-ol’ strawberry, with shredded coconut and chocolate chips on top (;

  14. May 5, 2011 2:26 pm

    I love Spring because you can wear boots with cute skirts!

  15. Abby permalink
    May 5, 2011 3:02 pm

    I always get caught up on one thing for breakfast too! lol I had a winter of pumpkin oatmeal so this week I have had something different for breakfast every day! 🙂 Happy Cinco de Mayo!

  16. May 5, 2011 5:00 pm

    I love your outfit, especially your skirt! and I go through breakfast phases as well 🙂

  17. May 5, 2011 6:07 pm

    I need to switch up my banana oatmeal too. It’s become a little overdone for me at this point.

  18. May 5, 2011 7:09 pm

    I really like the boots paired with the skirt you’re wearing!

  19. May 5, 2011 9:23 pm

    I had to drop back by and let you know that I tried tahini and I loved it! I made falafel burgers and a tahini sauce to go with them and dinner was A-mazing! I will posting the recipe soon at lizashlee.com if you want to check it out! Thanks for inspiring me to try tahini again…I think my taste buds are growing up:)

    Great job on the workout…it looks like you had a great one!

    P.S. Love your style…you always look too cute! I would like to say your pics give me ideas on what to wear but I am required to wear scrubs to work…not too much you can do to modify that look!

    Have a great night!!

    Liz

  20. May 6, 2011 7:12 am

    Love the spoon! I need to find some inexpensive peanut flour.

Leave a Reply

