Skip to content

A New Woman

May 7, 2011

I have switched a few things up lately and it’s making me feel like a new woman.

First, I didn’t have my usual Crazy Bowls & Wraps for dinner last night. I have had the tofu veggie bowl for dinner every Friday for months, but last night as I got ready to drive there I realized I wasn’t craving it. I wanted a pita pizza, and even though my routine-loving self would have usually just ignored my craving and gotten what I’m used to, I decided to honor what my body wanted last night. Crazy Bowls will be there another day:)

{After dinner I went and saw Something Borrowed with friends. It was incredible. I loved the book and I loved the movie. And I love Dex in the movie and am dreaming about our future wedding. Go see this movie! It’s hilarious!}

**************************

This morning is the first Saturday in months that I didn’t run! During marathon training I completed my long runs on Saturdays, but I switched things up today for a few reasons. First, it was supposed to thunderstorm and I thought a sunny run on Sunday sounded better. Second, I’ve realized that taking a rest day after a night of drinking does not help my hangovers. Exercising always makes me feel better after a night out, plus knowing I’m going to run the next day might help me turn down those fourth and fifth beers:) So the plan is to go to St. Louis’ Microbrew festival tonight and run tomorrow instead.

Of course it didn’t actually end up storming this morning, and I had to get myself outside when I saw the blue skies. I set out on a leisurely three mile walk around my neighborhood just listening to music and enjoying the weather before I came home for a smoothie in a bowl in the grass.

In the mix was:

  • blender full of raw spinach
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 scoop berry amazing meal
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • frozen berries
  • Kashi Go Lean on top


Then it was HAIRCUT time!! Perhaps the biggest change of all, I decided to chop it off. It’s been pretty long (for me) for a few years now and I just wanted something different. With the other changes in my life right now it only seemed appropriate. 4 1/2 inches later…

Short, THIN hair! (She thinned it outย  it a lot). I actually think it makes me look older which is nice since I still get asked if I can drive. When I discussed the cut with my stylist I told her I wanted it shorter but that she could do what she thought was best. She knew I didn’t want anything high maintenance and went into it with the goal of making it look like I just had “less hair”. Success!

The Kirkwood Farmer’s Market is down the street from the salon so I walked through and bought a cantaloupe, honeydew, and pineapple to slice myself instead of buying the expensive pre-cut kind all the time. I really hope to start buying most of my fresh produce here now, but I’ll have to get my act together so know what I want for the week on Saturdays.

Once home I threw together a super quick and fresh lunch. I used the leftover black beans from my Mexican Black Bean Burgers and tossed them in a bowl with orange pepper, yellow pepper, tomato, and raspberry vinaigrette. A last-minute addition of black bean salsa kicked the flavor up a notch before I wrapped half in a whole wheat tortilla with mixed greens and left half out to eat on its own.

I ended up having another whole wheat tortilla with the meal (that package lasted me a whole three days) and then some freshly sliced fruit and two TJ’s dark chocolate wedges for dessert.

Time to listen to some IIN Fundamentals before Church and the Microbrew Festival tonight. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

QUESTION:

  • When was the last time you made a big change to your hair?
40 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 3:21 pm

    Love it!! You pull that look off so well. When was the last time I changed my hair? Uh, never. Seriously- it’s always been long and blonde. I can’t imagine myself any way else!!

  2. May 7, 2011 3:26 pm

    HAIR is amazing!! i rarely change my hair! but i went though a dying stage in middle school… highlights all the way- woo!.. now I just keep it natural! yay for changing things up! keeps life exciting!

  3. May 7, 2011 3:28 pm

    You look great! I want to see that movie so bad – I’ve read all Emily Giffin’s books, just have to convince someone to go with me. Last time I changed my hair was last weekend when I finally rehighlighted it, but I’m the type that would get a different hair cut everyday if I could

  4. indecisiveathlete permalink
    May 7, 2011 3:33 pm

    Your hair is so cute! I need to get brave enough to do something different with mine its always the same. I will def be going to see that movie now ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Abby permalink
    May 7, 2011 3:33 pm

    I can’t wait for the Farmer’s Market here to open! ๐Ÿ™‚ I chopped my hair about the length that yours is now three summers ago. Now I’m loving the length that has grown out! I think it might be the longest I’ve ever had my hair!

  6. May 7, 2011 3:35 pm

    that haircut is so adorable on you!! i always forget that i could ask my hair to be thinned out to make it lay better, anyways, so cute.

  7. May 7, 2011 3:38 pm

    your new do is FIERCE!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love it โค glad you're changing things up girly! i love it and you should FOREVER do only things you wanna doooooo. like rock that pita pizza!

  8. May 7, 2011 3:45 pm

    Your hair looks so prettyyy! Getting it ‘thinned out’ is one of my favorite parts of a cut! It gets so much more manageable after that.

  9. May 7, 2011 3:48 pm

    Cute hair! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. May 7, 2011 3:57 pm

    LOVE the new hair!! I wish I could go short, but I think I would look like I was 7 ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. May 7, 2011 4:04 pm

    Love the haircut Claire! The last time I changed my hair big time was when I chopped it all off! I had 11 in. cut off and it was about the same length as yours is now. I didn’t look as cute as you do with it!
    Oh best part, I didn’t tell my mom or my hair dresser I was doing this. I went to super cuts and payed with my own money bc I couldn’t afford my normal hair dresser. Never again.

  12. May 7, 2011 4:06 pm

    You look AMAZINg!!! I love the “new” you! Even though I always loved the old you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. May 7, 2011 5:13 pm

    I am so jealous you have farmer’s markers opening already. I checked online today about the ones in my areas.and I’ve still got a couple more weeks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I think your hair looks amazing! The most drastic change I have every made.. was going from bright blonde.. to dark brown.. via boxed dye overnight. My mother visited me at college the next day and walked right past me!

  14. Natalie permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:14 pm

    Your hair looks soo cute! The last time I chopped my hair off was two years ago. I cut it a little bit shorter than yours and loved it. Now I am growing it out again until I get sick of it! Summer is approaching and I think I’m due for a few highlights to spice it up again.

  15. May 7, 2011 5:16 pm

    Love your hair! I usually chop mine every 2-3 years. I’ll let it grow and then cut it off and donate it. The last time I did it was the spring of 2008…I cut off and donated 13 inches. Right now, it’s down to the middle of my back again, but I plan on keeping it long for a little bit longer.

  16. Laura permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:22 pm

    Hair looks awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Ashley permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:44 pm

    That wrap looks delicious!!! And your hair is awesome as well! I cut about 7 inches off my hair in January. There are times that I miss it but most of the time I’m glad I don’t have the pain of combing through and drying it every morning. Shorter hair is much less maintenance!

  18. May 7, 2011 7:18 pm

    Love the hair!

  19. May 7, 2011 8:28 pm

    I love your hair! You are gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so fun to mke little changes to kidn of “revitalize” things a bit ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been toying with chopping lots of my hair off too… I used to have short hair and it’s so easy, but it might be annoying to put up when running which I nee to start doing more of…

    Also, I def bought tortillas on Wednesday, there were 8 in the packet, ad they are gone now. Oops. (I also went through 2 pounds of strawberries in 12 hours, it happens…)
    โค
    n

  20. May 7, 2011 8:40 pm

    Your haircut is gorgeous, yayyy!!!

  21. lauren permalink
    May 7, 2011 8:47 pm

    you go girl! hair looks great!!

  22. May 7, 2011 9:57 pm

    omg i love the hair cut!!!! too bad it wasn’t a bit longer and you could have donated it!!! still beautiful though! that’s how i always get my hair cut in the beginning!

  23. May 7, 2011 10:44 pm

    I LOVE your new haircut!! It’s been a long time since I’ve made a big change. I went several shades darker than I used to be, but I’ve been craving a change, and I think a drastic haircut might be in my future. It makes me nervous, though – ha! And don’t tell Billy, he likes the long hair. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. czechvegan permalink
    May 8, 2011 12:08 am

    You look gorgeous! I cut my hair in January (it was the first time in probably 5 years!) and Iยดve gotten some nice compliments on it, but I do prefer longer hair on me (it was a really big change!)

  25. May 8, 2011 12:33 am

    I love your hair!! Last year I chopped off 12 inches off of mine and cried. But now I love my bob!

  26. May 8, 2011 3:32 am

    Last week. and I feel much better now.

  27. May 8, 2011 7:32 am

    just as i thought! the haircut looks wonderfantabulous! i got a trim yesterday (not as dramatic) but freshly cut hair always feel sooooo goooood!!

    thanks for the IIN link! loving it!

  28. May 8, 2011 12:12 pm

    Loving the haircut! Beautiful! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. May 8, 2011 1:09 pm

    Clare, I love your hair! You look gorgeous! Perfect style for summer too!! Have a great day!

    Liz

  30. May 8, 2011 1:25 pm

    LOVE IT! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Short hair looks redonk on me. I constantly grow it and cut it…and whenever I cut it, I tell myself NEVER AGAIN! You..different story. GORGEOUS!

  31. corbster permalink
    May 8, 2011 1:40 pm

    how did you not stop at TROMO while you were there!

  32. May 9, 2011 7:33 am

    WOW! Your hair looks awesome.. You look 10X’s hotter then before if that is possible

    Smoothie in the grass haha

    cheers

  33. May 9, 2011 9:12 am

    your look gorgeous with that cut! Suits you wonderfully! about 4 years ago I cut my hair from MID BACK TO CHIN! yess….. and im still growing it out ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Giveaway Winner! « Fitting It All In
  2. Boogaloo « Fitting It All In
  3. I Got One! « Fitting It All In
  4. Running and a Yoga Garden « Fitting It All In
  5. Sentimental Already « Fitting It All In
  6. SATURDAY « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

