Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Dirty Dudes

May 9, 2011

While reading this month’s Shape Magazine, I came across a little excerpt called “The Dirt On Dudes”. It said that according to the University of Arizona…

Guy’s apartments contain 15 times more germs than girl’s. Not only that, but 30 percent of their remote controls and 70% of their coffee tables are contaminated with fecal bacteria.

GROSS!

Admittedly, I am not as germ-conscious as I should be. I am very tidy, but not always super clean. I wipe down counters and mirrors occasionally, but probably don’t remove the germs and bacteria as often as a should.

But those statistics? That’s just nasty. I’m sure not all guys are that dirty, but it does seem to be a pretty common trait among the opposite sex. Walk into a guy’s apartment and you’ll find scum rings in their toilets, day old dishes piled in the living room, and floors that haven’t been swept…ever.

source

Maybe some guys aren’t naturally messy and maybe guys eventually grow out of the dirty stage. My Dad is a pretty big neat freak and loves to have everything organized.Β  But it does seem like women are just naturally cleaner than men, doesn’t it?

  • Are the guys in your life messy or dirty? Any gross stories?
  • Where do you fall on the cleanliness spectrum?

My Dad is pretty cleanly, by my brothers fall into the typical guy category. I wouldn’t call them “dirty”, they just don’t really care if things are cleaned up or put away. Their college dorm rooms and houses were pretty disgusting.

I’m a fairly neat person. I like everything to have a place and for my space to be tidy. But when I get stressed or fixed for time I can let things go a little bit. And the deep cleaning sessions happen only about once a month as opposed to weekly like is recommended.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 3:21 pm

    My fiance’ is borderline OCD neat & organized… and I am scatter-brained and messy! It should be an interesting cohabitation.

  2. May 9, 2011 3:23 pm

    I am messy, but not dirty. Every week or so I look at the week’s worth of clothes on the floor and the counters that haven’t been wiped down and take care of everything. But daily? No. I wish I was neater, but I’m just not and never have been. Really, I would love a maid πŸ™‚

  3. May 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    im WAYY too messy! umm yeah.. my floor and desk= a mess! im just lazzyyy!

  4. May 9, 2011 3:50 pm

    I like to describe my space as “organized chaos.” You might see it as a possible aftermath of a tornado, but I know that one shoe is under my bed, and the other one is in the closet. No big deal! πŸ™‚ Okay, I’m kidding – kind of. But I seem like SUCH a slob compared to Cory. He’s Mr. Clean & Tidy and he affectionately compares me to a tornado. On the other hand, my brother’s apartment is filthy. I don’t do filth and grime. When I visit, I choose NOT to shower because it makes me feel cleaner. Uhhh.

  5. May 9, 2011 4:01 pm

    Lucky my boyfriend is clean but I’m pretty messy myself lol

  6. Abby permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:04 pm

    That is nasty! lol. My boyfriend used to be fairly messy at his apartment but now that we live together he knows that I can’t stand a mess! He cleans the bathroom and does the dishes–I take care of the rest! When it comes to his truck…that is a different story. It is supposed to seat 5 people but there is usually only room for 2 because of golf clubs, baseball gear, and school stuff scattered everywhere. lol.

  7. May 9, 2011 5:57 pm

    I live with male roommates and the one I share a bathroom with shaves — I’m not sure exactly what body parts, and I don’t want to know — and then leaves the hair all over the sink/floor/shower. It’s repulsive! The bathroom would also undoubtedly go months without being cleaned if I didn’t live there. He’s terrible with the kitchen too. Boys…

  8. May 9, 2011 6:26 pm

    I must admit.. I am fairly lucky.. my boyfriend is clean. We both could be a little bit more aware of germs, but fr the most part.. he is good! The only thing that ticks me off.. is when he doesn’t wipe down the stovetop when there is splashes of food ALL over it!

  9. May 9, 2011 6:28 pm

    I am a borderline neat-freak so when I encounter dirty, unclean guys it’s a slight problem! I am not crazy about it as long as my stuff is kept clean though.
    I have gone into some guys dorm room’s, apartments and houses while at school and have been honestly appalled by the filth. I’m not just talking about clothes or food everywhere, I am referring to dirt, mold, urine (on the floor!) grime, blehhh everything gross in these areas! Those are usually the places where huge parties occur so it kind of makes sense haha. I surely could NEVER ever live like that

  10. May 9, 2011 6:33 pm

    I remember my brother telling me how most guys never wash their hands in the bathroom at the movie theatre, and then they go share popcorn with their girlfriends…ek

  11. May 9, 2011 7:00 pm

    I have to be honest, that photo looks a lot like my first apartment (when I moved out at 17). Each successive home’s I’ve had (at least 8) have been successively cleaner, but with MUCH much much effort. I am so not naturally clean. I probably should blame my mom who wasn’t big on forcing us to clean up after ourselves, but honestly, I loathe cleaning. My husband has no sympathy. He loves and requires a neat home. Thus, he helps. A lot. Because I just can’t naturally do it by myself. He’s amazing. (I do have 3 kids though, so I’m cleaning near full time). Anyway, guess my man breaks the stereotype πŸ™‚ Lucky me!

  12. squigglefloey permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:50 pm

    Haha, yeah…
    well, my brother is kinda messy (can’t blame him — college freshman), my dad has his own “organized mess”, but my BF is actually pretty clean for a guy I’d say. He even helps me fold my clothes in my apartment if they’re thrown on my bed, haha.
    Btw, yeah I miss-read that thing from your morning post about training! My error!

  13. May 9, 2011 8:16 pm

    i’m soooo much messier than my man! he’s always complaining cause i go to bed instead of staying up and helping him straighten up the house. he hates clutter!

  14. indecisiveathlete permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:45 pm

    I can be pretty messy like clothes covering my floor but eventually it annoys me enough that I’ll actually clean it. I cannot stand a dirty kitchen tho. I’m always the one that leaves notes telling people that dishes need to be washed if they even sorta start to pile up haha.

    My dad is also a super neat freak and is always the one to complain if he comes home and there is stuff laying around the house.

  15. May 10, 2011 4:34 am

    Ewwww….. I like to believe that men grow out of this. But maybe it’s just their girlfriends/ wifes starting to clean up after them
    That picture is definitely my brothers room right there (when we were still living at my parents 10 years ao…) but now that he lives with his girlfriend their apartment is pretty neat .

  16. May 10, 2011 4:52 am

    I totally agree with being organized. I need to have everything neat and in their place, but I hate dusting and wiping things down. Especially in the bathroom 😦

    My boyfriend is actually really neat! He has his own system, though, and it sometimes seems unorganized to me. The one thing he doesn’t do is keep his clothes organized. When he’s worn something but doesn’t want it to go in the wash, he just throws it over a chair and that drives me CRAZY. But other than that, he’s really clean πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

