Skip to content

Savor the Oats

May 9, 2011

After work I went on a walk around my neighbor hood while listening to an Institute of Integrative Nutrition Focus Class on chocolate.

It’s really convenient to have each of the classes loaded onto and ipod, but I like to make a point of being active while I listen to them instead of just sitting on the couch. The nicer weather makes that much easier.

I was feeling a little indecisive about dinner, and was thinking about making a rice a veggie dish with some sort of nutritional yeast sauce. Instead of trying to figure out a sauce recipe, I decided just to mix the nutritional yeast into my dish by making noochy oats! This savory bowl of oatmeal makes perfect sense if you look at oats as just another whole grain like brown rice or barley. Angela first inspired me to try it!

First I combined 1/3 cup raw oats, 1/3 cup soy milk, 1/3 cup vegetable broth and 1/3 cup water in a pot. I turned it on medium heat and waited way too long about 10 minutes for it to start to get frothy.

At this point I added 1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast, and hefty sprinkles of pepper, garlic powder, and a salt free seasoning I found. Keep stirring and stirring as the oats thicken up. This took way too long about another 10 minutes. The finished product will be a creamy, cheesy, luscious bowl of carbs.

Now is the fun part! You can add any toppings you want. I microwaved some 1/3 cup frozen peas and 1/3 cup frozen edamame to go with mine. I also heated up two Trader Joe’s Meatless Balls and topped it with salsa.

Uh-mazing.

I’m always hesistent to make this for some reason, but I always end up “oohing” as I eat it. It’s so delicious and has all the protein and vitamins of the nutritional yeast, healthy fats in the edamame, and whole grains of the oats. And balls. It has balls too.

Just finished up a huge bowl of canteloupe, honeydew, and pineapple and am working on some bloggy stuff before bed. Have a fantastic-o night!

**********************

ST LOUIS READERS: My harp teacher Eileen has a blog the talks about the best places to get vegetarian dishes in St. Louis. I’m pretty sure Eileen was the first vegetarian I ever met and is always cooking up mouth-watering meals. Check out this site! I’m going to use it ALL the time.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:44 pm

    Such a cute pic of you!

  2. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:46 pm

    Warmer weather makes working out so wonderful!!

  3. May 9, 2011 7:50 pm

    I do the same thing with Savory Oats. I’m always hesitant to make them (for some reason or another) but then literally lick the bowl clean. Maybe because oats are just so naturally sweet to me that changing them into anything else just seems wrong but it always tastes so right.

  4. May 9, 2011 7:50 pm

    I’ve never tried savory oats before. They look great, but I’m always so hesitant!

  5. May 9, 2011 7:55 pm

    I need to try savory oats. I am such a fan of sweet breakfast oats.. I am sure I would love these!

  6. Abby permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:09 pm

    I need to try this! πŸ™‚ I have never tried oats savory and they sound amazing!

  7. May 9, 2011 8:15 pm

    i made savory oats one time (back in the day a while ago) and i just didn’t love them! i feel like i’ll never be able to think of oats as anything else but breakfast! you’re recipe looks mighty tasty though πŸ™‚

  8. May 9, 2011 8:25 pm

    YUMMMMM i never thought of cheesy oats! i have to try it for sure! I haven’t listened to the focus class on chocolate, actually I didnt realize there was one. but that is going to the top of my to do list πŸ™‚

    • May 11, 2011 11:28 am

      to be honest, i haven’t listened to any of the focus classes! i started a new job so IIN is on the back burner.. starting a career in the ICU isn’t exactly the time to be starting a business, but I am still loving IIN. Just considering it more of personal enrichment now πŸ™‚

  9. May 9, 2011 8:37 pm

    I love listening to my IIN classes on walks! I also listen in my car. πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting that link. I sent it along to my good friend who is a St. Louis vegetarian. πŸ™‚

  10. May 9, 2011 8:50 pm

    I still haven’t made savory oats, but I know I’d love it! I just need to remember to make it instead of quinoa or rice. I love your fruit after dinner obsession – I’m the same way. It’s so refreshing and good!

  11. May 9, 2011 9:00 pm

    So I am a new reader and wondered…how do you like IIN? I am thinking about the program and really need an honest opinion.

    I have to try savory oats! You’ve inspired me.

  12. May 9, 2011 9:08 pm

    Those look so yummy! I’ve never tried savory oats before, but maybe I’ll give them a try.

  13. May 10, 2011 12:49 am

    cute pic! i have some interesting dinner creations but none like yours. i will have to remember this one πŸ™‚

  14. czechvegan permalink
    May 10, 2011 3:41 am

    Savoury oats sounds great, IΒ΄ll try them tommorow, it may be a nice switch for my regular sweet oatmeal:)

  15. May 10, 2011 4:19 am

    Cool idea! It kind of reminds me of risotto, but I guess less chewy??? I always think of oats as a sweet dish, since it does have a natural sweetness, but I’d definitely give this a try πŸ™‚

  16. May 10, 2011 7:42 am

    ABHAHAHA BEST LINE EVER “And balls. It has balls too.”

  17. May 10, 2011 8:17 am

    oh, that’s a great bowl of oats! i like the add in of nutritional yeast!

  18. May 10, 2011 9:21 am

    Your meal does look uh-mazing! Love me some peas!

  19. May 10, 2011 12:20 pm

    I’m sort of in love with that idea of savory oats and plan to have this for lunch tomorrow!!! Also, since I am the world’s least creative eater, I think I will top it with peas, edamame, TJ’s meatless meatballs, and salsa, hahaha!

  20. Allison permalink
    May 11, 2011 3:31 pm

    You are beautiful, and I do not think you know it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

