Skip to content

Egyptians Do Falafel RIGHT

May 13, 2011

Okay noooow we can get to today! I woke up with a slight headache likely due to dehydration from those two beers last night. But there was yoga to be done, so I threw on very little clothing and chugged some water on the way to class. It was HOT. One of those days where even the best people in class are taking breaks. The only thing that kept me going was knowing that I am hotter when I’m just lying there than when I do the postures. The postures temporarily take my mind of the heat.

But the hardest classes are the best!  I’m reading this book written by Bikram that my mom bought and it cracks me up. It explains each posture and it’s benefits, but also has some dialogue thrown in. Bikram has such a tough love approach – it kind of reminds me of Skinny Bitch for yoga.

OUTFIT:

Easiest outfit ever, but the new gold TOMS spice it up a bit. I just ordered these directly from the factory in China (they are sold out everywhere else) and I love them! A little tight at first, but they stretch out immediately and I want to wear them all the time.

FOOD:

Look! A breakfast picture! I have successfully had a different breakfast each day this week, and today’s was just a regular old banana chia oatmeal bowl. 1/3 cup oats + 1 tsp chia seeds + cinnamon mixed with 1/2 banana and a big blob of TJ’s Valencia Peanut Butter. YUM.

And now we get to the good part. Remember that cute little place called Blackberry Cafe that my brother and I first tried a few weeks ago? I got their veggie wrap that time, but the owner told me they were known for their house-made baked falafel. He’s actually Egyptian, so I didn’t know how it would be compared to the falafel I’ve tried at Greek restaurants. Today was the day to find out! They advertise it as a “create your own falafel wrap”, but really everything at the cafe is completely customizable. Want just a little bit of feta? Just fine.

I got the wrap with everything except black olives and asked for the tzatziki on the side. It was homemade falafel, homemade hummus, feta, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and onion.

Try and tell me that doesn’t look like the best thing you’ve ever eaten.

This was INSANE. It didn’t taste any different from other falafel I’ve had, unless “better” is a taste. I added a little bit of their tzatziki (made with regular yogurt, cumin and other spices) to each bite. Mmmm I forced myself to put it down after each bite so that I could savor it, even though I could have inhaled it in 5 seconds flat. The hummus – thick and loaded on there – was to die for. The little bits of feta added beautiful saltiness and the vegetables were crisp and fresh. I will be going back to get this very very often. I love that the owner could tell me about each and every ingredient! Dangerous, this wrap is. Dangerous.

The Blackberry Café on Urbanspoon

I’m going down to Columbia, Missouri, where Mizzou is located, for my friend Irene’s graduation tonight. She’s getting her MSA and is going to be a CPA soon (crossing fingers!). I’m driving down with a friend after work and we’ll probably just stop and get Subway for dinner. Or maybe I’ll go back and get one of those falafel wraps to go…

  • Have you ever had falafel?
21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 3:43 pm

    Yes! I love falafel and that wrap looks amazing! I just bought some falafel (pre-made from Costco) that are quite good on the ingredient list with no junk – I am excited to add them to wraps and salads next week.

    I love TOMS, I just got my first pair – just plain black canvas though 😉

  2. May 13, 2011 3:45 pm

    oooh! that reminds me i should do a post about falafel! i didn’t think there was such a thing as greek falafel? if you want the best in town it is definitely at The Vine. It is incredible. But not baked, and in a white flour pita. So for special occasions or hangovers only.

  3. May 13, 2011 4:07 pm

    I LOVEEE FALAFEL!! that wrapp loks amazing!! i love your hair!! i know iv said that but it just suits you so well!

  4. May 13, 2011 4:29 pm

    Omg I’ve never had a falafel and now I’m just jealous!! That wrap looks delish and I love those oats. Chia seeds and pb make any bowl of oats so much better 😀

  5. May 13, 2011 5:54 pm

    Never had falafel, but now you’ve given me yet another delish place to try! I talked about OR today in my post and gave you a proper shoutout;-) Thanks again!

  6. littlebrusselssprout permalink
    May 13, 2011 6:23 pm

    I love falafel! If you are ever in D.C. you should check out Amsterdam Falafel, they’re absolutely the best that i have ever had. They also have a huge bar o’ toppings that you can choose from. I actually wrote a post about it a couple of weeks ago (http://littlebrusselssprout.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/falafel-frites-and-fro-yo-friday/).

  7. Food & Other Things permalink
    May 13, 2011 6:27 pm

    I love your gold TOMS! I’ve never tried falafel, but your wrap looks delicious…I’ll have to give it a try sometime!

  8. oatsandspice permalink
    May 13, 2011 6:40 pm

    I LOVE your new toms – they look so cute on you!

  9. May 13, 2011 6:46 pm

    I will surely NOT try to argue against that sandwich, it looks amazing. I had never tasted falafel though, that must change!

  10. May 13, 2011 7:31 pm

    Ah, that wrap does look insane!!! Have fun this weekend. 🙂

  11. May 13, 2011 8:00 pm

    I love those Toms.. super cute!

  12. May 13, 2011 8:40 pm

    Falafels are one of my top foods in life!!!! I’m sure your falafel was amazing, but you haven’t lived until you try NYC falafels! Although I’m sure they’re even better in the Mediterranean/Middle East.

    But I usually like falafels in a pita, and I’ve never tried it in a wrap before.

    Ughhhh I’m salivating right now! Falafel + Hummus is heaven 🙂

  13. May 13, 2011 9:24 pm

    Hmmmmm – that falafel looks LEGIT!
    🙂

  14. indecisiveathlete permalink
    May 13, 2011 10:24 pm

    I’ve never had falafel before but it looks like itd be really good especially in that wrap!
    I love your gold toms soo cute!

  15. May 13, 2011 11:24 pm

    Zunzi’s in Savannah, GA. Best Falafel ever.

  16. Abby permalink
    May 14, 2011 12:17 am

    That wrap looks awesome–I love falafels! I actually tried to make my own at home a few weeks ago but it was an epic fail. lol. Your TOMS are cute! 🙂

  17. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 14, 2011 1:17 am

    I’m a falafel addict, and I must say that your wrap looks AMAZING!! Tell the cafe to franchise and put in Vancouver? I kid, I kid. 🙂

    Blair

  18. May 14, 2011 2:57 am

    I am addicted to falafel, that falafel looks fab!

  19. May 14, 2011 7:33 am

    I looove falafel. They’re probably nowhere near as good as that, but Veggie Patch makes huge batches of them you can buy at Costco. Love.

  20. May 14, 2011 8:15 am

    YUM! Falafel is amazzzzing!! The best I had was in London from some street vendor! Also, I love your sparkly TOMS! I have the same ones but have had them over a year now and just realized it might be time to retire them. 😦 I wore them to death!! Miss you!!

  21. May 14, 2011 9:55 am

    Nice to see you’re looking hot as always!
    heard that Yoga is quite the workout! Do you go to the hot yoga?? or is it just hot in general? Probably cause you’re in the class.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

