Skip to content

UND Night

May 13, 2011

Hi everyone:) Let’s back up to yesterday since I didn’t get a post up last night.

Yesterday was my last day of 8am training, so it meant another early morning at the gym. I was able to complete 5.5 miles on the treadmill with negative splits (increasing my pace by .1 each mile) and then finished up with some abs. I’ve been using those little blue squishy balls during my ab routine lately and they are KILLER. My favorite is when you put the ball under the small of your back, extend one leg nad keep the other one bent up for stability, and then do a twisting crunch up to it as you bend your knee in towards your chest. Does that makes sense?

OUTFIT:

This might be one of my favorite spring outfits so far! Everything is from the J.Crew Outlet in Hilton Head except for the shoes which are Naturalizer.

FOOD:

Breakfast was overnight oats, but without the pumpkin since I finally finished my can. I had some banana and almond butter on top. And then lunch was eaten during my work meetings. I had half of a veggie wrap (mostly cheese and lettuce 😦 ), a side salad, and an apple. It didn’t really fill me up so I snacked on carrots and hummus, a cookie, and some fruit throughout the afternoon.

After work I met my parents at Universal Notre Dame Night. “Universal” makes it sound important, right? Notre Dame loves to do cheesy things like have all of it’s alumni celebrate Mass and dinner at the same time so it’s like we’re together as a community. The cheesy traditions at Notre Dame are my favorite:)

After Mass I grabbed a made my parents buy me a beer, and ended up getting another one to have with dinner. A cold beer just sounded SO great yesterday! It’s just a Bud Light, but the glass makes it look pretty.

I had a big fat “vegetarian” sticker attached to my name tag, and I was really curious to find out what that would mean at a catered dinner like this. After a pretty basic salad and dinner rolls were eaten, I was presented with fried eggplant, broccoli, and orzo.

My mom’s first comment was “another vegetarian dish with no protein”. She knows that’s my pet peeve! Vegetarians want our protein too, just not in chicken form. The eggplant was good but I could have done without it being fried. And the orzo tasted fantastic for some reason! The reasonable portion was appreciated, because I knew I wanted dessert.

A little peice of chocolate chip cookie along side chocolate mouse and whipped cream. Amazing! I finished off my neighbor’s chocolate mousse too. I don’t understand why anyone wouldn’t want the chocolate mousse.

*************************

After some speeches and awards it was time to head home. It was past my bed time at that point so I didn’t sit down to write a post – sorry! I love spending time with other Notre Dame alums because everyone is so enthusiastic and welcoming. I really hope to attend more of the local club events in the future – there are always game watches, happy hours, and volunteer events scheduled.

  • Do you participate in any events with alumni from your University?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 9:36 am

    I wanted to go to alumni night last year so badly, but I missed it! I think I’d like to go back and go to a basketball game or something this year, just to relive those awesome moments 🙂

  2. May 13, 2011 9:39 am

    Love that outfit! I need to hit up the JCrew outlet by my parents house when I go to Chicago in a few weeks!

    Happy Weekend 🙂

  3. May 13, 2011 9:43 am

    I love love LOVE your outfit. It is perfectly.. springy!!!

    Great job on the negative splits!!

  4. May 13, 2011 10:23 am

    That outfit is SO cute. Please come and shop for me!

  5. May 13, 2011 10:28 am

    Your outfit is super cute. Love eggplant, yum yum yum.

  6. May 13, 2011 10:37 am

    Cute outfit *and* cute beer! I’ve never seen such a lovely Bud Light. lol

  7. May 13, 2011 11:42 am

    Very cute outfit! My alma mater doesn’t do anything like that… the school was way too big. My department might, but if they do, I haven’t ever gone!

  8. May 13, 2011 12:19 pm

    I hate it when “veggie wrap” means just cheese and lettuce. Where’s the substance???

    I don’t know whether I’d participate in alumni events after college. I guess it depends on how far I end up living from campus?

  9. indecisiveathlete permalink
    May 13, 2011 1:21 pm

    Love J. crew!

    I’m not sure if my school has alum events?? But that sounds fun.

  10. May 13, 2011 2:25 pm

    Ahh I share your vegetarian frustrations! It’s like ok some vegetarians want more than veg and cheese for dinner. The dessert looks awesome and I lovelovelove your outfit!

  11. May 13, 2011 3:09 pm

    I get so annoyed when no protein is added to veggie dishes too. GEEZ, people. haha. I prefer beer over wine and love putting it in pretty glasses!

  12. squigglefloey permalink
    May 13, 2011 3:33 pm

    That’s one of my favorite outfits from you so far!
    Too bad you didn’t like the fried eggplant 😦 I think I prefer eggplant fried — otherwise I find it kinda tasteless hehe
    Have a wonderful Friday girl!
    I’m not an Alumni yet — give me 3 more weeks!

  13. May 14, 2011 11:28 am

    i just loveee seeing your outfits everyday! it makes me want a job out of the hospital where I don’t need to wear scrubs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

