Skip to content

YU DID IT!

May 14, 2011

Yesterday my good friend Irene got her MSA (Masters of Science in Accountancy) from the University of Missouri Columbia. She is the first of us girls to get a higher degree so of course we had to go celebrate. Molly and I made the 1.5 hour drive to Mizzou after work, stopping at Subway for dinner, to meet Irene’s parents at the ceremony. (Irene’s last name is Yu by the way…hence the title)

Graduation ceremonies are, by definition, boring. There was lots of this:

And a little of this (not by me though, I swear!)

But finally we got to see here walk! We cheered as loud as we could and were so excited to see her after the ceremony.

Picture time!

And then the real celebrating began. We met up with more friends at one of Mizzou’s most popular bars, Harpo’s for drinks and nonsense.
The graduate and me…and Rob.

I may have only had two beers throughout the night, but I made up for it by never saying no to a “his mom’s famous cookie!” or “but I bought these cupcakes just for graduation!” Plenty of sugar led to pictures like this…

and a pretty bad sugar hangover this morning. I was still super full from all the treats on our early ride home, but the idea of a veggie juice to start the day sounded perfect. I stopped off at OR Juice and Smoothie to get my favorite “CCR” – carrot, celery and redbeet.

But the moment it hit my lips, my hunger came on in full force. I was ravenous and actually dug into two whole wheat tortillas I had just bought on the drive home. The first order of business was getting veggies into my body, so I immediately scoured the kitchen for food. I snacked on some sliced melon while I was putting a meal together and then hit the jackpot: leftover sweet potato fries! I had just run out of sweet potatoes and found a box of them sitting at the bottom of my fridge. I hope the finders keepers rule applies in my house…

I had the sweet potato fries along side a bowl of sauteed onion, mushroom, and bell pepper topped with garlic hummus.

and I haven’t stopped snacking yet! Some more fruit, a banana with almond butter, and some of this was involved.

Can you get what it is?? I’ll tell you about it soon!

Off to babysit tonight. Later!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin permalink
    May 14, 2011 4:31 pm

    Haha, nice photos, I’m glad my sandals made it on the page…along with my drinking problem, haha. It was good catching up with you. I’ll see you soon

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    May 14, 2011 4:53 pm

    Haha sweet sandals! My graduation is in a few weeks and I still haven’t decided if I’m going to walk in the ceremony or not. People keep telling me how freaking boooooooooooring and long it is!
    Love your dress btw!

  3. Lauren permalink
    May 14, 2011 4:54 pm

    mmmmm are you possibly snacking on your signature mayan granola?! šŸ™‚

  4. May 14, 2011 5:16 pm

    Love all the pictures. I love your black dress, you look gorgeous!! The sweet tatter fries look amazing btw šŸ˜€

  5. May 14, 2011 7:25 pm

    How am I just noticing your hair cut now!? It looks amazing! Hot mama!

  6. May 14, 2011 7:44 pm

    Graduations are quite boring…I just went to one yesterday too! But like you, we went out after which definitely made up for earlier šŸ™‚ Your pictures are so fun, sugar hangovers are far better than the other ones if you ask me!

  7. May 14, 2011 8:24 pm

    Mexican hot chocolate granola?! Does that mean I get a sample šŸ˜‰

  8. May 14, 2011 8:25 pm

    Looks like Mexican Hot Chocolate granola to me!!

  9. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 14, 2011 9:47 pm

    I spy with my little eyes… your granola concoction?!

    PS. Your hair looks fab!

  10. May 14, 2011 11:14 pm

    haha youre so cute! CONGRAATS girlfrand!

  11. Abby permalink
    May 15, 2011 1:38 am

    Please tell me that handful of chocolatey goodness is Mexican Hot Chocolate granola! šŸ™‚

  12. May 15, 2011 6:18 am

    Chocolate granola?? I see oats and a choc chip in there! yum!!
    Ana

  13. May 15, 2011 7:29 am

    I have that dress in two colors and I LOVE it!! Isn’t it awesome?! So comfy and easy to EAT in šŸ™‚

  14. May 15, 2011 10:04 am

    Congrats to Irene, what a wonderful accomplishment! šŸ™‚

    I hate sugar hangovers, uuuughhhh… Looks like you handled it well though šŸ™‚

    That looks like chocolate granola or something similarly yummy šŸ™‚

  15. May 15, 2011 12:05 pm

    Graduations are so terribly boring. I’m glad that you got to go to a bar to make up for it!

  16. May 16, 2011 4:54 am

    Mexican hot chocolate? haha I already knew, I read into the future first. Looks like you had fun!

    cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Mexican Hot Chocolate Granola Giveaway! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

