Skip to content

First Day Of School!

May 16, 2011
 

How was your day? Good I hope! The sun was shining here so even though the temps were in the low 60s I couldn’t help but be happy.

I started out my day with a 6 mile run at the gym. I attempted to do intervals, but after 5 of them I realized my legs were a bit sore from yesterday. Instead I kept negative splits for the rest of the run and took it a little easier. After the run I incline walked to finish out the hour and then did some ab work.

OUTFIT:

Every time I wear these shoes I regret it. They are Jessica Simpson and are just too high for me to be comfortable in. I think the fact that there is no platform on them makes it worse. But they are my only pair of light-colored pumps! Need to do something about that…

Shirt: J. Crew, Sweater: Old Navy, Skirt: Banana Republic, Shoes: Jessica Simpson from DSW

 

FOOD:

Breakfast was overnight oats made with rolled oats, Oikos 0% plain, chia seeds, cinnamon and stevia, 1/2 banana and almond butter. The main reason I choose to have overnight oats (aside from tasting deeeelicious) is the protein content. Greek yogurt is a main source for me and it’s easy to get it in with breakfast.

Lunch was a big old mish mosh salad that I threw together last night. In this baby was:

  • mixed greens + spinach
  • roasted sweet potato
  • lentils (pre-steamed from TJ’s)
  • edamame
  • TJ’s broccoli slaw
  • balsamic syrup
  • Whole wheat tortilla for dipping/making into little roll ups / eating plain on the side

After I ate I took a walk outside to listen to my first Institute of Integrative Nutrition module. That’s right, it’s my first day of school!! IIN is very high-tech and each time a new class (aka module) is released it automatically loads onto my ipod. I can listen during any of my free time and then hop on the website to complete any other course work or participate in discussions. Today’s was mostly just introductory messages, but I’m so excited to learn more!

One of our assignments throughout the year is to complete “Health Histories” with other people. All it requires is for the other person to fill out a two-page questionnaire about their eating, sleeping, exercise, relationship, and other habits. Then over the phone or in person, we will discuss the survey for about 30 minutes. It’s not anything formal and most certainly is not judgmental or coaching at this point since I don’t have my certification yet. For me it provides crucial experience and for the participant it could provide insight into certain parts of their life that they might want to work on.

Would you be interested in participating in a health history? If so, you can email me 100% confidentially (cbrady3@alumni.nd.edu) and we can set one up! I’d love to talk to you guys, practice these calls, and potentially help you along your journey to health. Please don’t be shy!!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 5:52 pm

    That sounds like an awesome way to learn and take a class! Today was my first day of school for the summer too 🙂

  2. May 16, 2011 6:11 pm

    What a sharp outfit and stunning lower pic… Good run! Are you going back to school???

    cheers

  3. May 16, 2011 6:30 pm

    I have the same skirt in brown. You look so cute! Health Histories are fun. In the beginning, they are kind of awkward, but I am sure you’ll get the hang of it in no time at all! 🙂

  4. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:33 pm

    Stunning skirt!!

  5. May 16, 2011 6:36 pm

    I loved your outfit today, Clare! So spring like and fabulous!

  6. May 16, 2011 6:43 pm

    Love that you got a whole 6 miles in before work. Would love it if I had that much time in the AM. Awesome job on continuous negative splits.

  7. May 16, 2011 6:47 pm

    Those shoes are adorable!! Too bad they are uncomfortable. Why are the cutest shoes always the most painful?? 🙂

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:55 pm

    How interesting about your class. Is it an online class that you’re taking?

  9. May 16, 2011 7:53 pm

    Loving your outift….you look so spring-y! 🙂

  10. May 16, 2011 8:07 pm

    such an awesome activity! i’ve emailed you about it!

  11. applesnoats permalink
    May 16, 2011 8:12 pm

    i want that skirt!!!!!
    congrats on your first day of school…anything that you can do while taking a stroll sounds awesome!

  12. May 16, 2011 8:15 pm

    Cute outfit!

    So neat that the classes are uploaded to your ipod! What an interesting way to learn!!!

  13. May 16, 2011 9:15 pm

    Of course Jessica Simpson heels are tall! I love that her shoes are so representative of her style and character. But I agree that they’re pretty uncomfortable 😦

    I love your outfit! It’s so spring-time and the details like the bow and ruffles are too cute.

  14. May 16, 2011 9:29 pm

    Love the sexy pumps. And those overnight oats look so yummy. Definitely great way to up the protein 🙂

  15. sara @ the foodie diaries permalink
    May 17, 2011 12:03 am

    Ohhh back to school, YAY YOU! I’ll definitely help out with a health survey, especially you’re so great and helping me out with a guest post 😀 Looks like you’re doing amazing and life is bringing good things your way 🙂 xoxoxo love!

  16. May 17, 2011 12:18 am

    yes, clare, i also have some super cute jessica simpson pumps that are a bit too tall for comfort at work. pain is beauty, though, right?? 🙂 you can totally use me for your survey if you like. I will email you.

  17. May 17, 2011 4:34 am

    platforms in a pump make all the difference in comfort, in wedges too!! Yay for IIN! I’m on the week of raw food right now.. i’m totally convinced that I need to be eating raw! It just makes perfect sense, especially how amazing I feel after drinking a green smoothie. we should do a HH together!!!

  18. May 17, 2011 8:06 am

    I love the bright, springy colors in your outfit!

  19. Natalie permalink
    May 17, 2011 10:32 am

    Congrats on starting classes! That is so cool you can actually listen to the classes on your iPod. I love your outfit as well!

  20. Abby permalink
    May 17, 2011 8:39 pm

    Great outfit!

Trackbacks

  1. Flooded « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

