Skip to content

Speed Demons

May 16, 2011

This post was supposed to go up last night, but my internet went out. So just pretend like it’s still Sunday. That’d be nice, right?

***********************************

I had a running buddy this morning! Margaret, a friend from high school, is an insanely talented athlete (I think she played varsity in every single sport our high school offered) and asked if I wanted to run with her. Ummm YES! I haven’t had a friend to run with in months!
Despite the rainy weather, we met in Forest Park and set out to complete the 5.5 mile loop. I ate a banana with almond butter and a mug of hot lemon water before I left.


 We’d never run together before so I didn’t now how our pacing would work, but somewhere around mile 3 we looked at our Garmins and noticed we had run a 7:45 minute mile. WHOOAAA! I knew it felt hard but I thought it was because we were talking and the course is hilly. Neither of us usually run that quickly. That’s the benefit of running with someone else — you push each other!

We kept up our pace until we hit five miles and then slowed down a bit to finish the last .5. We finished the 5.5 miles in 44:58:21 with an average pace of 8:09. Here are our splits:

  • Mile 1: 8:28
  • Mile 2: 8:28
  • Mile 3: 7:45
  • Mile 4: 7:52
  • Mile 5: 7:58
  • .5: 8:40

I hope we run together more often because it will be great speed work. Plus Margaret is awesome and I love hanging out with her.

After the run I hit the gym for some strength training. I warmed myself back up with an easy 20 minutes on the elliptical and then completed two circuits of arm and leg exercises. I would have done more but I got hungry –time to head home for a post-work out Green Monster.

I made my favorite Chocolate Vanilla Green Monster and roasted a package of pre-cut veggies from Trader Joe’s to have on the side. Those pre-packaged vegetable mixes are my favorite. I know they are more expensive, but the variety and convenience is worth it to me!

After lunch I spent some time at Barnes n Noble getting blog work done. I snacked on some TJ’s Seaweed Snacks (not completely in love) and an apple while there. I wasn’t super hungry when it came time for dinner, so I just popped a Whole Food’s 360 Brand Vegan Pizza in the oven, topped it with a blob of hummus, and had it with some salad that my parents ordered from Dewey’s.

 

Dessert was a grapefruit and some wheat thins.

*******************************

Keep the entries coming for the Nuts About Granola giveaway! (Also, I’ve been told that STARTING a tweet with @fittingitallin limits those that can read it, so try to keep that to the middle or end of the tweet if you can!)

Monday Man-Day is next!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 9:25 am

    That sounds like an intense run!

    I’ve never bought those veggies but they would be so much more conveinent than chopping them all seperately – and maybe they are worth it because you aren’t throwing any away!

  2. May 16, 2011 9:58 am

    Those splits are crazy! I don’t think I’ve ever run a mile that fast lol. I’ve actually never run with a friend, since most of my friends aren’t into it. And I also hate talking during runs. I think I’m missing out!

  3. May 16, 2011 10:51 am

    Awesome just on that run! You sure were speed demons. It is an amazing feeling to do a run with such a great splits 🙂

  4. May 16, 2011 12:07 pm

    wow!! awesome run!!! that pace is killer for that distance!

  5. May 16, 2011 9:44 pm

    Great run!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

