Skip to content

Carb Crazy

May 19, 2011

Sooo I most definitely did not stop at that orange last night. I had a handful of Wheat Thins and a whole wheat wrap also. I was honestly hungry! I tend to crave carbs at night and I think that means that I am not getting enough throughout the day. Is that right? It’s just that I am supposed to eat so many veggies, and fruits, and healthy fats and it’s hard to fit everything in!

Someone please solve all my problems.

***************************

I slept in this morning (6am!!) and it felt amazing to get almost 9 hours of sleep. I decided not to run at the gym because my right ankle has been a teeny bit sore, so instead I did a stair stepper and elliptical combo. I started with 18 minutes on the stairstepper (I climbed the Empire State Building!) and then did 35 minutes of intervals on the elliptical. I just sped up for 1 minute at the beginning of each new song on my ipod.

After my cardio I stretched and then did some abs and push ups. Workout complete.

OUTFIT:

I’m attending an event tonight so it’s another day of skirts and heels. Alive Magazine is hosting “Launch: Digital Marketing Advice for Small to Mid-Sized Businesses”. I got an email about it earlier in the week and though it would offer some good information for both my blog and my future health coaching business. I’ll be going to a cocktail hour and then a panel discussion featuring some local St. Louis business executives. I hope it’s good!

Sweater: Target, Shirt: Banana Republic, Skirt & belt: J. Crew Outlet, Shoes: Naturalizer

 

BREAKFAST:

I’m loving the combo of cinnamon and vanilla protein powder in my hot oats lately. I also added a big puddle of Sunbutter and the flavor shocked me at first bite! I forgot about the saltiness of it, but mixed with sweet oats it’s delicious.

Off to design some super cute shoes for next Spring:)

  • What do you crave most at night? Sweets? Carbs? Salty snacks?
14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 10:22 am

    Definitely a carb-er at night too… especially if I have an intense workout in the evening!

  2. May 19, 2011 10:42 am

    Carbs 100%. Cereal is what I normally want to eat a few hours after dinner!

  3. May 19, 2011 11:00 am

    I just laughed out loud at the “Someone please solve all my problems.” I’m not sure why but I found that hilarious 🙂

    I crave sweets at night. Well, to be fair I crave sweets after every meal so I guess it’s not a shock that I want them after dinner as well.

  4. May 19, 2011 11:28 am

    I don’t think I can pinpoint my cravings, but you know me…I’m just like you and I can satisfy myself with a whole wheat wrap/tortilla! 🙂

  5. May 19, 2011 11:31 am

    Sweets for sure!

  6. Shells permalink
    May 19, 2011 11:53 am

    Carbs, especially whole wheat ones, have more protein than fruits and veggies, too! Maybe you’re getting plenty full on your fruits and veggies but it’s not caloric enough in protein and fat to keep you satiated with all the exercise! I am definitely not a dietitian nor do I play one on TV, but I understand exactly where you’re coming from and that’s what my dietitian told me! I was told to try a carb and protein pre-workout AND keep having the same “big” breakfast I usually did later in the morning!

  7. May 19, 2011 12:20 pm

    Cute outfit, girl! I love that combo of the black and white skirt with the pink belt!!
    At night I definitely crave salty carbs…my weaknesses are tortillas with melted cheese, and pretzels and mustard.

  8. May 19, 2011 12:44 pm

    hmmm i dnt rly crave anything in particular at night! i guess that means im quite balanced throughout the day!! i love ur outfit and awesome workout!!

  9. May 19, 2011 12:57 pm

    how did you get the sun butter to melt like that? I wish I had a gym near me, I get so bored here…I think it means you need more carbs during the day, but I wouldn’t take my advice, I’m no nutritionist 🙂

  10. May 19, 2011 2:18 pm

    Definitely carbs. Bonus points for sweet carbs!

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    May 19, 2011 3:11 pm

    Toast and butterrrrrrrrrrr 🙂 So, yea, carbs. And also lately I’ve been craving chocolate milk, so I’ve been having that as well.

  12. May 19, 2011 3:28 pm

    I’m a sweets girl for sure. I eat like 400 calories at 10pm before bed lol

  13. Abby permalink
    May 19, 2011 4:07 pm

    I haven’t had hot oats forever it seems like! lol. Those look good! I always crave sweets after supper. It is like my night is not complete with something for dessert. I need to learn that fruit can be dessert! 🙂 A while back Janetha had a post about eating no added sugars/artificial sweetners for a week so I decided I wanted to try that. Yesterday was a success and today has been great so far too! I can’t believe I have gone 1.5 days without a piece of gum! lol!

  14. czechvegan permalink
    May 20, 2011 11:42 am

    I crave apples at night (or actually the whole day through:). So I think it is kind of a healthy craving. But there WERE times when Iw as craving things like sweet chocolate bars and such.

Leave a Reply

