Skip to content

Boogaloo

May 20, 2011

I had a lunch date with BFF LB today, and when I asked her what she was in the mood for she said “a big fat veggie burger”.

Now she assumed I knew the best place to go for a veggie burger — and I do know of some great places –but none of them are near my work. So I did some online research and learned that a funky little place called Boogaloo had a house made veggie burger. Decision made.

I strangely was craving salmon today. I’ve recently been thinking about adding more fish into my diet but still don’t ever make it for myself. I decided to go with their spinach salad which came with grilled veggies and smoked salmon. I asked for their sherry vinaigrette instead of the ranch it came with.

SO MUCH SPINACH. Just how I like it:) The salad was absolutely delicious and the salmon was fresh and buttery. My only issue was that a few of the grilled eggplant pieces had a weird taste. Other than that this salad was pretty fantastic and I’d definitely get it again.

LB satisfied her craving for a veggie burger with a half-and-half: half spinach salad and half veggie burger.

Yes that is half of a burger. Huge! The burger came with avocado, tomato, sprouts, and a side of “volcano sauce”. According to LB the burger was a mixture of rice and veggies and didn’t have a ton of flavor. She also wished the volcano sauce was spicier. But it looks great to me — any restaurant that makes their own veggie burger is A-Okay in my book. Now I have to go back and try it myself!

And at the last minute I threw in an order of their “curried chickpea hummus with Jamaican flatbread”. I think because I was worried the salad would be small and not very filling without some carbs.

I only had a few pieces of this at lunch but ended up finishing it later in the afternoon. I knew it was a huge snack, but I couldn’t stop dipping the doughy pita into the lightly spiced dip…sooo good! It left me very full and I didn’t get hungry for dinner until 7:30pm which rarely happens. Another smoothie craving hit (a daily occurance lately) so I whipped up one of my “Very Berry Green Monsters” and topped it with a handful of Kashi Go Lean. Two whole wheat wraps rounded out the meal…because I have some weird addiction to eating wraps plain.

I am currently blogging from Barnes & Noble because our internet is out yet again. I can’t really rely on getting any computer work done at home anymore, but hopefully Charter will fix the problem quickly! I brought a little baggie of dark chocolate chips with me to snack on, but they are gone already:)

I’m gonna head home in a bit and hang out with my parents (they are having game night with friends) and probably rent a movie! I need a low key weekend because next weekend is gonna be a big one. Goodnight!

Boogaloo on Urbanspoon

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 8:50 pm

    WOW. That burger is gigantic! I can’t even imagine doubling that and being able to eat it! I am not usually a fork and knife kinda girl for a burger.. but I think if I had one that big, I just might have to use them!

  2. May 20, 2011 9:09 pm

    do you parents have u-verse?

  3. May 20, 2011 9:22 pm

    I’ve totally been craving salmon lately, too. That SIAB looks incredible.

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:37 pm

    My mom and her sisters have game/movie nights every Saturday, haha. Usually I never go because I’m either doing homework or at my apartment. I’ll probably have to crash one this summer.
    Weee :), what’s going on nxt wknd?

  5. May 20, 2011 10:15 pm

    Mmmm I’m always craving veggie burgers! Haha and that hummus + pita sounds amazing… so addictive!

  6. Abby permalink
    May 20, 2011 10:28 pm

    Holy giant veggie burger! lol. That’s like the size of a child’s head! The internet issue would be so frustrating! Hope you enjoy your low key weekend! I hope to do the same! 🙂

  7. czechvegan permalink
    May 21, 2011 12:04 am

    Such a huge burger! It looks very tasty in the picture 🙂 And I love spinach salads, spinach is such a great veggie, so underrated, but so tasty and healthy 🙂

  8. May 21, 2011 7:21 am

    HOLY CRAP I WNT THATBURGER!! ur smoothie is overflowing too! love!

  9. May 21, 2011 8:50 am

    That burger is ginormous!! It looks so delish too. And I love eating tortillas and wraps plain 🙂

  10. May 21, 2011 9:19 am

    dudeeee that is a BEASTLY veggie burger!!! i love it though hahah

    your bff went to the right person for veg burger guidance 🙂 enjoy your weekend girly!

  11. May 21, 2011 10:42 am

    Yumm, that beast sized veggie burger sure looks tasty 🙂

  12. May 21, 2011 11:59 am

    smoothies seem to be my life base lately. my body is having lots of foods and smoothies are the only thing not hurting my belly.

  13. May 21, 2011 7:50 pm

    hahha Mmmmmm Salmon is the best!
    the burger was huge!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

